CHUBBLE on the horizon for Ja in 100m women

• CHUBBLE on the horizon for Ja in 100m women

Allyson Felix has added a twist to the double talk. After months of indicating she might add the 400 metres to her signature 200-metre race at the London Olympics, Felix raised the possibility of a different double Sunday, saying she's also considering running the 100 metres.

Coming two days after running a personal-best 10.92 to win the 100 at the season-opening Diamond League meet in Doha, Qatar, this was no small bit of news from one of the world's best sprinters.

"It's definitely one of my possibilities," Felix said at the United States Olympic Committee media summit. "Since my last race, people actually believe me. I'll run the 200 for sure and then I'll see ... whether I'll run the 100 or the 400."

Coach's decision

The decision will be made closer to the Olympic trials, set to start June 22 in Eugene, Oregon. As always, Felix said her coach, Bobby Kersee, will have final say.

"I'm just going to start saying, 'Ask Bobby'," Felix said.

Felix has been intrigued by the challenge of doing both the 200 and 400, a rare combination for sprinters, and she ran both events at last year's World Championships as a test ahead of London.

She won the silver medal in the 400, but the longer distance left her fatigued and likely cost her a fourth straight title in the 200. She didn't have her customary surge at the end of the race and wound up third, a stunning finish in the distance she's dominated for much of the last decade.

Felix is desperate to win an Olympic gold in the 200 after coming up short twice and she doesn't want anything to jeopardise what could be her last chance in London.

"It motivates me every day," she said. "I'd totally be lying if I said I could walk away and be happy (without a gold medal). No, I think I could walk away and be OK with it because I'm able to put things in perspective and know that that's not the end of the world. From a competitive nature, that's what I want.

"Sometimes you can spread yourself too thin," Felix added. "For me this year, I just said, 'OK, the 200 is my main focus.' If I do another event, it's going to come second to that."

If Felix does run a second event, the 100 makes more sense on a number of levels. Not only is the race less taxing, but the schedule in London is better suited for a double attempt. The 100-metre final is August 4, giving Felix a day off before qualifying heats begin for the 200 on August 6. The 400-metre final is August 5, leaving her no time off before the 200.

Real threat in 100m

"If the events were reversed, it really wouldn't be a question for me," Felix said. "My favourite event would be first, and anything else would just be icing on the cake."

And while Felix is often overlooked in the 100 metres - it seems more like a warm-up for her 'real' event - she reminded everyone Friday that she can be a real threat at the distance.

She beat Jamaican rival Veronica Campbell-Brown for the first time in the 100, finishing .02 seconds ahead of the two-time Olympic champion in the 200 metres.

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, who won gold in the 100 metres at the Beijing Olympics, was third.

Fellow American Carmelita Jeter has the season's best time in the 100 at 10.81 seconds.

While it's always nice to start the season with a victory, Felix said she was most pleased to see the results of the work she's been doing on her starts, long her weakness in the 100.

"I've always put myself at a deficit from the beginning, so I think I was just more shocked that finally, I'm solving all this," she said. "I've worked a lot on that portion of the race and to finally see it paying off is a cool thing."

I don't see her as a problem for any of our 100m "specialist". Our girls, are gearing their preperations towards our national trials June 28.....over a month away. We fans need not press the panic button yet. It is early into OUR track season.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

ok ... but mek sure tell us WHEN to panic ... wi counting on yuh!!!

After the semi-finals? LOL.

Me nuh know bout panic but the Yank ladies are looking good and will be a bigger threat this time around

Lets be honest. When our athletes open the season with impressive times we say "Dem never open so fast yet! Worries later inna de season!"

Felix really surprise me in the 100m, if she decides to run it she will be right up there.

Here's what is worrying....Justin Gatlin running 9.8-odd and running off his mouth and LaShawn Merritt putting down 44.29. What do they have in common? I wonder what times Tyson Gay and Mike Rodgers will run after their little break? The Americans are determined to reclaim their sprinting throne.........but to what ends? They went "undiscovered" for years and would be still dominating if it hadn't been that rat. The US governing bodies knew about certain "inconsistencies" long before anything came to the public's eyes and were swept under the rug. I would be extremely "surprised" if TG came back and ran anywhere close to the times that he was running before his "hip surgery". Unfortunately, I have to keep my eyes on Sanya Richards too. Any "unknown" disease has to be viewed with extreme caution. Did I hear someone say Gail Devers?
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well, thats true but every athlete is suspect in my book.

I am positive that if Yohan Blake was a Yankee we would be asking a lot of questions after the 19.2x. It was that incredible.

unnu calm down. How fast can they go??? Season just start. wait at least till next month then we can talk. Only Jetta mi scared of right now, the rest are beatable.

44.29 this early is very special. Me nuh know how much faster him can go but me nuh think him a go slower.

Olympic year dis name.

yeah but the body is a strange thing, you can peak too early too.

Watch and see some a them early time deh nah go hold up after a strong season, some a go tired. You notice how Mills a run his charges, start Bolt extra late and keeping Blake at home?

“The Americans, the Americans….”

Unfortunately, I have to keep my eyes on Sanya Richards too. Any "unknown" disease has to be viewed with extreme caution. Did I hear someone say Gail Devers?
                    “The Americans, the Americans….”

Jangle, my brethren , I know you already know this, but I’m nevertheless going to say it: the United States of America is not the world, and just in case we missed it, over the past two decades athletes from other countries have been turning in impressive performances in races 400 meters and below. I do not expect this year to be any better.

To cite just one example, in 2004, did we expect Yuliya Nesterenko to dominate every round of the women’s 100-meter dash before winning the gold medal in the final?

By the way, I am NOT one of those people who view every outstanding/impressive non-Jamaican athlete as being someone who uses performance-enhancing drugs! Whether we like it or not, there are clean, talented athletes in other countries as well. Also, when all is said and done, several of OUR athletes have been less than squeaky clean, regardless of the excuses we choose to offer!

Our wake-up call might come from somewhere -- some country -- that we are not even thinking of right now! So, let’s keep on our enjoyable pathway of worrying about US athletes and ignoring the rest of the world….

I don't see her as a problem for any of our 100m "specialist". Our girls, are gearing their preperations towards our national trials June 28.....over a month away. We fans need not press the panic button yet. It is early into OUR track season.
                      well if you doan see her as a problem, she is a 200m specialist and she did all dat over the 100m,this early then when she get serious what will happen ? she already has the 200 and 400m strength..which helped her in the end of the race.

Bolt was a 200m specialist and ran the 100m for the first time and did what ? then after that what did he do ?

Is it a case of the country that she represents?

Here's what is worrying....Justin Gatlin running 9.8-odd and running off his mouth and LaShawn Merritt putting down 44.29. What do they have in common? I wonder what times Tyson Gay and Mike Rodgers will run after their little break? The Americans are determined to reclaim their sprinting throne.........but to what ends? They went "undiscovered" for years and would be still dominating if it hadn't been that rat. The US governing bodies knew about certain "inconsistencies" long before anything came to the public's eyes and were swept under the rug. I would be extremely "surprised" if TG came back and ran anywhere close to the times that he was running before his "hip surgery". Unfortunately, I have to keep my eyes on Sanya Richards too. Any "unknown" disease has to be viewed with extreme caution. Did I hear someone say Gail Devers?
                        where did Gatlin run off him mouth ?

Asafa said that he had "jet log" in his legs, coz he came in 2 days before the race, and that it will never happen again ( getting beat by Gatlin), bearing in mind that Gatlin beat him 7 times already !!

Safa is my "runner" but he was the one that was mouthing off after being beaten. Better him shut up and go train his mind, its very fragile. Everytime him lose, he has an excuse. Instead of just accepting that he lost, and move on...

Hmm.. I think when it comes to the sprints at this Olympics.. the USA are the clear and present danger..

Haffi watch dem like hawk !

Where a man dat coming off of a 4 year ban fi drugs get di nerve fi ah talk bout beat man 7 times ???

Talk bout brazen !

when she run sub 10.9 den wi will start fi worry.. right now is Jetah deh pon wi mind.. and di Trini !