Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
While the more than 25,000 people who gathered at the National Stadium on Saturday night were marveling at the performances of [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]World [COLOR=blue !important]Champion[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] Carmelita Jeter's world-leading 10.81-second run and Usain [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Bolt's[/COLOR][/COLOR] 9.82-second canter in the 100 metres at the Jamaica Invitational, there was a special moment for a young sprinter that went virtually unnoticed.
Kemar Bailey-Cole, just two years removed from his days at Old Harbour High School where he excelled as a junior athlete, posted a lifetime best of 10.09 seconds in the men's 100-metre 'A' race. He beat a [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]talented[/COLOR][/COLOR] field of emerging sprinters that included Kimmari Roach and Jacques Harvey. The lanky sprinter, who only turned 20 this past January, was pleasantly surprised.
"I never really expected that time, I was going after 10.1 but I came out with 10.09 and I feel really good about it."
elite sprinters
Later Saturday night, Bailey-Cole's [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]coach[/COLOR][/COLOR], the iconic Glen Mills who has guided some of Jamaica's greatest sprinters including three-time Olympic finalist Raymond Stewart, World and Olympic [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]champion[/COLOR][/COLOR] and world record holder Usain Bolt and World Champion Yohan Blake, welcomed him to the world of elite sprinters. "Congrats, the journey has begun," Mills said to him while urging him to be mindful that God has given him a talent and that he should not forget that.
It has taken Bailey-Cole two years to start his journey towards becoming a sub-10 second sprinter. When he joined the Racers' [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]track [COLOR=blue !important]club[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] just about two years ago, the first two things he had to improve upon, he said, were his strength and his body mass. Standing at six-foot, four inches, Bailey-Cole said he was too skinny. He claims not to remember how much he weighed back then but says he is now just north of 170lbs as his muscle mass is closer to where he needs it to be.
Whilst a student at Old Harbour High, his personal best was a quick 10.41, but after a year at [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Racer's[/COLOR][/COLOR] he got that time down to 10.28 at the 2010 CARIFTA Games, finishing second in the Under 20 Boys' 100 metre to Jazeel Murphy. It was then, he said, that he knew he could go faster.
He acknowledges that his start is still weak. He is confident that with the 'block work' he has been putting in, he doesn't have that far to go before he improves. "Maybe by the time the next meet comes around," he joked. He competes next in the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Cayman[/COLOR][/COLOR] Islands this coming weekend but will be running the 200 metres. His next 100-metre run could be in New York in early June.
"I never really expected that time, I was going after 10.1 but I came out with 10.09 and I feel really good about it."
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
So, now every Jamaican athlete wants to be the “next big sprinter”! If this continues, does it mean that we can forget about having outstanding quarter milers?
It seems to me that what we desperately need right now, more than anything else, are some genuinely outstanding 400-meter (and above) specialists among our emerging male sprinters!
Imagine, we boast daily that we are the “Sprint Factory of the Caribbean,” yet we struggle to put together a decent men’s 4x400-meter relay team!
Him start with "outstanding" and end with "decent". LOL
This attempt at interpretation is embarrassing, to say the least.
The adjective “outstanding” was used in reference to the type of 400-meter individual athletes I hope we can have, while the other adjective “decent” was a reference to our failed efforts so far at putting together a respectable mile relay team! In case you forgot, our performance in the finals in Beijing wasn’t exactly awe-inspiring. Neither have been our men’s 4x400-meter relay teams since.
Why the f_uck didn’t you simply leave my comment alone if you had nothing useful to add?