What d hell Sammy mean

• What d hell Sammy mean

And even as the world trumpeted the news that both Sammy and coach Ottis Gibson embraced Gayle's expected return to the fold, I am not for a moment deceived by their tongue-in-cheek civilities.

Clearly under pressure consequent to the pervasive attention the saga has attracted over time, not least from the English press, the duo had little choice but to be diplomatic in their comments.

However, while Gibson's maturity ensured a successful veiling of utterances, the less skilled and experienced Sammy let slip his emotions by alluding to the new "work ethic" existing in the Windies camp, and the need for Gayle to conform hence.

"It's great to hear that Chris is available again. I'm sure the selectors will pick him because he's world-class. He's the best one-day batsman in the world," Gibson fended.

On the other hand, implicit in Sammy's words was the possibility of a Gayle-induced interruption of the current flow of the squad, consistent with the contentious talk of "donmanship" in the team of the not-too-distant past.

Said Sammy: "The Chris Gayle issue has been going on for a while... but we as a team have moved on. When Chris joins the set-up, he will be coming into a very hard-working environment which he has to fit into."

Sammy saved himself, however, by stating that Gayle's entry into the squad should be quite smooth as "he is the best one-day batsman in the world, so I don't think it will be a problem at all".

On the surface, one would have thought that Gayle was a rookie player with little idea of what it means to play international cricket. This is ironic as Gayle is Sammy's predecessor as captain — when the latter was a mere fringe player — and would, presumably, be au fait with the necessary protocol.

As to the atmosphere in the dressing room when, I assume, Gayle returns to the fold for the one-day series starting in June, I would dearly love to be a fly on the wall.

For, as I see, it, Gayle's return is by mere default consequent to public pressure. I daresay, the powers that be are less than overjoyed.
    Last edited by Karl; May 11, 2012, 09:51 AM.

The inexperienced Sammy let slip his emotions by alluding to the new "work ethic" existing in the Windies camp, and the need for Gayle to conform hence.
    What hence sammy, The Chris Gayle issue has been going on for a while... but we as a team have moved on. When Chris joins the set-up, he will be coming into a very hard-working environment which he has to fit into.do u work as hard as Chris . Gayle is so laid back that he make hard work look easy sammy and his friend Otis bring that same hence to Chandrapaul and sarwan and try to drive them out of the team and he cant even carry sarwan bat jamaica has won 5 straight worrel & weeks cup but only have 2 players in that team Sammy is keeping Andrew russell out who is a all rounder,nekita Miller, Odean Brown, and david bernard should all be in that team plus Nash who they say bat too slow yes u want a batsman who can drop anchor and defend so others can bat around him if we had a nash 3 times against Australia we could have won on second innings but Chandra had no help

Sammy is the worst/least successful captain in any team-sport that I have ever known.

hyperbole.. get your emotions in check..

Well before that, can we understand the methodology behind his invocation of when to use the DRS

excellent points... still dont understand the exclusion of sarwan and nash... david bernard would be excellent with swing bowling in england... russell should be in the team for england... these are the reasons why i remain an advocate for jamaica leaving wicb and be independent...

lambert is the best captain in the west indies and he cant even get a call up to west indies and he would be more valuable than sammy... bat, bowl, knowledge, experience, decision making, command and respect...

jamaica leff wicb NOW...

Does Lambert warrant his place as a batsman in the team?

Sammy hab Godfather inna dis cricket business yah, kah him seamahs dem alone could ah nevah gi him a spot inna di side, much less captain di ting. Is like joke business.

lambert warrants a place as an all rounder... he bats responsibly and is a good bowler... more knowledgeable and makes better decisions than sammy... he is a leader...

does sammy warrants his place as a batsman... does he warrant his place as a bowler...

that is why i will not stop saying jamaica needs to leave wicb... our players are being stifled... they need the exposure to draw interest from the other pro teams...

how did he do this last season? if they can give sammy a bly to be captain (albeit a poor one tactically) then give a better captain a try ...

only thing is that you will always need to have a thirdman ....

Does Sammy warrant his place as a bowler? Yes, based on his performance compared to the other bowlers in the region.

Does Lambert warrant his place as a batsman? No, based on his performance compared to the other batsmen in the region.

sammy did not get there on his strength as a bowler in fact since he has been there he has improved his stats. how did he do in this domestic season compared to the other bowlers (except for the game in which he chickened out out bowling to gayle)?

so the point is sammy made the team as CAPTAIN (he probably keeps his place as a bowler, but would he, if he was not the captain?)and in that he has made some woefully poor decisions which cost us (dropped catches aside because he took a few quality catches)

So are you saying play Sammy as a bowler and bring in Lambert as the captain?

This statement is not very clear:

he probably keeps his place as a bowler, but would he, if he was not the captain
                          Does he warrant his place as a BOWLER or not?

Sammy has been a strong BOWLER at the regional level for his entire career. He has bowled better than other seamers while in the team (which is a reflection of the standard of the others and not how "great" he is). He can justify his place.
                            Tamar Lambert can't justify his place over other batsmen in the region.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                              Sammy has been a strong BOWLER at the regional level for his entire career. He has bowled better than other seamers while in the team (which is a reflection of the standard of the others and not how "great" he is). He can justify his place.
                              Tamar Lambert can't justify his place over other batsmen in the region.
                              Sammy made let us be clear Sammy made the team as captain. On that criteria alone lambert was a better pick. Lambert's first class average is mid thirties but more importantly his batting always adjusts to the conditions and circumstances I mean DAMN how bad could be, he lead JA To an unprecedented 5 titles in a row as captain and during that time in addition to astute captaincy played many a "captain's knock"