this is very sad .. .

Originally posted by Me View Post
    Fidel is a stike bowler which part? He is a poor bowler who is wild, doesn't take many wickets is expensive and can't bat. Sammy warrants his place as a first change bowler ahead of the other available alternatives based on his performance in first class and test cricket. Andrew Richardson deserves a shot based on his first class performance this season. I would like to see some other young bowler step up and replace Sammy and Edwards. Ravi is a better batsman than Sammy.

Sammy is a twenty twenty batsman and has always been. People throw this all rounder tag on him from day one, but his batting has always been short of that standard.
    Me,

I am not arguing for Fidel's place in the side (you brought him up I don't think I "promoted" him in my post; I am arguing against Sammy in the TEST side (to be specific). Fidel was correctly dropped from the 3rd test as he has not produced, BUT he is PICKED as a strike bowler, not as an all-rounder so I wouldn't compare the two.

Rampaul has stepped in and my point is that he is picked as a strike bowler but at the same time he demonstrates a more sensible approach to batting than Sammy. So... If Sammy were dropped another all-rounder (Dwayne Bravo or Samuels say) could be brought in or another specialist bowler or batsman as the needs are to replace him.

I don't think we differ too much on this.

Now watch Rampaul mek mi look like eediat... gi weh him wicket! needlessly!

your thoughts on sheldon cotterel?

I know you didn't ask me, but i'd say definitely one to watch..

your thoughts on sheldon cotterel?
            As a Jamaican, I would like to see him in the WI side NOW. However, despite his pace, being a left hander and how cheap he has been this first class season, he hasn't taken a lot of wickets. He drives fear into batsmen. Hopefully after the next first class season, the wickets will start to drop and he will be in the team. One of the few in the region who there is any hope for.

To be fair to Sarwan, it could be said that he hasn't really played test cricket since 2009... none in 2010 and last year only four tests coming back from injury and he did have a poor run... and then the accusation of not being fit... so he really hasn't had a chance to really get back into the game... the youths up top now have been given more of a chance (which I'm okay with) but long time servants of the game have not been treated well...at least it looks like that.

If he finds his form in England he should be given consideration as he is a quality batsman when in good form.

I agree with Edwards replacing Braithwaite, hope he gets over his injury or whatever it is that is hampering him by May.

What is sad is you all expecting a different outcome other than a WI loss.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Lol. Ah nuh lie. Nothing has changed.

Any other result is an is an outlier.

So when Manu start losing or not perform as well as they have been doing you will discard them? It's not so much as not expecting a loss but minimising the damage... a 2-1 or 3-1 defeat is not as humiliating as losing 6-1 !

Funeee.....you do realize that after 20 years of losing it's no longer a slide. I think I gave upon them the year when they broke the record for the lowest test scores in history. I think they were all out for 30-odd runs. A frigging waste of time.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

... i hear you... many have abandoned the WI sinking ship like you... some say there is light at the end of the tunnel, only it's a speeding freight train headed directly at us... still some say we've turned the corner, a blind one, only to see a huge BUS in the way... and then there are some old heads like me who still fantasising ...

yay wi have 2 runs on di board!!!

........yup....I used to be like you, but since you and George Headley used to play cricket with coconut bat, you are too old to change your stubborn ways. I don't think we will ever see the WI returning to their former glory days in our lifetimes. Hey, test cricket may not even be around in another 10 years.