two wicket just fall... two new batsman at the crease and yuh batting like is the last ball of a t20..?? steuups... Sammy's batting is not test material and he should be dropped if he doesn't understand what t takes to bat in tests...
Is whe de?
Sammy is there as an all-rounder, albeit a bowling all-rounder. The way he got out had nothing to do with batting but playing the wrong stroke at the wrong time. Don't tell me the Captain doesn't understand that there is time and place... Sammy does not learn and I find this frustrating as he can bat but cannot change his batting style.
If he is there as a bowler, then I think we could think about dropping him and including say Dwayne Bravo, Samuels, or bring in one of the fast bowlers like Russell who can bat and bowl and more important might be easier to train how to bat for the situation.Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View PostSammy is there as an all-rounder, albeit a bowling all-rounder. The way he got out had nothing to do with batting but playing the wrong stroke at the wrong time. Don't tell me the Captain doesn't understand that there is time and place... Sammy does not learn and I find this frustrating as he can bat but cannot change his batting style.
If he is there as a bowler, then I think we could think about dropping him and including say Dwayne Bravo, Samuels, or bring in one of the fast bowlers like Russell who can bat and bowl and more important might be easier to train how to bat for the situation.
Ok... forget the Samuels comment... but i'd prefer to have Bravo or Rampaul in the TEST side than Sammy as he has not demonstrated the kind of BATTING that is required of the Captain.... he needs to be dropped until he can demonstrate the kind of decision-making required of a Captain with the bat... yam-lik in that situation is just plain STUPID.
What this demonstrates though is how poor a TEST side the West Indies is... we have to depend on our most aged cricketer to make runs... and we have an all-rounder captain who is begging to be dropped.Last edited by Peter R; April 17, 2012, 10:29 PM.Peter R
Right, as a captain him surely nuh tek batting into consideration and as a leader dat should be paramount. Di man gi weh him wicket yessisah, a try loft bowlah when steady di ship was ordah of di day. Also, di first test before di man set an attacking field, di man set ah defensive field all di way to di end.
The thing with Baugh is inconsistency; he has looked brilliant at times and then misses some stumpings that should be routine for a top class keeper.
He could help his cause if he could manage to get past 25 runs but he seems to hit a big bump once he passes 20. I couldn't argue if Ramdin is played in the next test.Peter R