Racers vs MVP 4x100 Utech classic

I remember the 1991 World Champs as well when Germany had Katherine Krabbe on the second leg. It took a superb anchor from Merlene
    to overcome that lead.

Yuh ave credentials inna dis?? Yuh run, teach ar administa track?? Ar yuh jus read book an watch TV?

Dis relay ting ah jus as much art as science.... people personality, quirks, preferences come into play inna relay....yuh know dem ting dere fi dem??

All ah dem relay sitten deh whe yuh ah refer to unique....yuh tink yuh cyan jus watch TV an read book an den yuh come tes Guru wid yuh remote theory dem?

Yuh nuh know seh Guru talk to di key playa dem all di wile an get di full hundred? Who you fah??

Doan test di Guru...yuh aggo flop aan look lika ediat

Memba mi tole yuh
      Last edited by Don1; April 18, 2012, 08:08 AM.

We have had this debate about the second leg before.

There was certainly a time when conventional wisdom was to put someone with highest top-end speed on the second leg because it was the "longest" leg. I even heard people like Howard Aris saying that in the 90s.

Whether what was meant was that the 2nd leg runs at top end speed for the longest I was never sure, but it was certainly the thinking for a long time.

I do not hear it as often these days. Comes down to how you structure the team and the handoffs I guess.
        A key difference with those times of conventional wisdom is that then we were losing....now we are winning

I can't argue with the recent success... the coaches seem to know what they're doing

jamaica's last 2 world record runs ... was our fastest runner on the second leg? in one bolt anchored and in the other he ran the third leg .... so ...

Talking in general, not Jamaica specifically.

No rule is absolute. Some athletes like Merlene Ottey never ran anything but anchor all her life so to move her to another leg for any reason would be asking for trouble. In fact that was the point Howard Aris was making when I heard him discuss this topic.

In the case of Jamaica Mens 4x100m speed is not in short supply, we win dat hands down so the emphasis I am sure will be on getting the baton around safely. Any order which best achieves that will win comfortably and probably break the world record again.

Why you a try bait de man? LOL. I hope he does not fall for the trap.

There are multiple issues in a successful relay... where the so called fastest runner is placed is merely one of many variables... sometimes it may be important or even decisive ... sometimes not

Ceteris Paribus... it's the quality of the exchanges and avoidance of mistakes that are paramount factors...because that's where most time is gained or lost
                Last edited by Don1; April 18, 2012, 11:25 AM. Reason: Relays De-Mystified

I agree

well i was just wondering how come historian missed that, maybe it is because he went too far back in history.

to me, the primary thing is to get the baton around safely .....

Why you a try bait de man? LOL. I hope he does not fall for the trap.
                      Welcome to my Playground

Yuh know the cult classic film "Warriors"?

Historian(s) De-Constructed

Historians are often quite foolish... too mired in the consumption and prideful regurgitation of arcane factoids to make much sense or to have much practical analytic ability... I see the syndrome all the time However the naive can easily fall prey to their folly

Reminds me of a fellow in high school who used to swot the dictionary in preparation for English tests... needless to say ..
                        Last edited by Don1; April 18, 2012, 11:29 AM.

Relay rules are absolute though.

You have a zone in which to pass. See below:
                          The 4×100 relay or sprint relay is an athleticstrack event run in lanes over one lap of the track with four runners completing about 100 meters each. The lead-off runners begin in the same stagger as for the individual 400m race. A relay baton is carried by each runner and must be passed within a 20 m exchange (or “passing” zone), which is usually marked by colored lines or triangles. The center of the first exchange zone is 100m from the starting line, the second exchange zone is centered 200m from the starting line, and so on. The acceleration zone allows for the outgoing runner to gain speed and it extends 10m from the exchange zone.

Thus the first leg goes from 90m to max 110m, with normal practice being to set the takeoff marker at 90 to 95m and the actual exhange being at 105m or so. Remember the aim is to keep the baton moving at the max speed possible and the takeoff runner needs time to hit top gear before taking the baton.

This common scenario means that the 2nd leg now only has 90-95m to run and will likely hit the next take off marker after 85m and pass at 95m....in no case longer than 100m or risk a outside zone pass. The 2nd leg is effectively limited to 100m, but as its all straightaway, people like to give it to great linear accelerators.

Interesting read:
                          http://www.elitlandslag.se/Portals/0...Strategies.pdf

LoL

=Willi;351991]but as its all straightaway, people like to give it to great linear accelerators.
                              Whe yuh ah bring CERN inna dis fah...nuh track wi ah talk? Ah wha di...

Nah man, CERN is a circular accelerator, so we Hadron free pon dis hawgument.