Yes, It was Awarded!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
    I see your points, however the 200M gold was not awarded to Pauline Davis
    of the Bahamas.

GOLD (vacant due to Marion Jones DQ)
    SILVER Pauline Davis, BAH 22.27
    BRONZE Susanthika Jayasinghe SRI 22.28
    Hortical, my friend, I can tell you as a fact that Pauline Davis-Thompson was given the 200-meter gold medal for her performance at the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games.

The Nassau Guardian link below will show a photograph of Mrs. Davis-Thompson proudly posing with her Sydney Olympics 200-meter race gold medal:
    http://www.thenassauguardian.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=13251 &Itemid=27

Also, the following has been copied from the BBC:
    In the 200m, Jones' gold will go to Pauline Davis-Thompson of the Bahamas, with Sri Lanka's Susanthika Jayasinghe promoted to second place, and Jamaica's Beverly McDonald, who finished fourth, receiving the bronze medal
    And in the long jump, where Jones finished third, the bronze medal goes to Russia's Tatyana Kotova.
    Source: BBC Sports
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympic_games/8401333.stm

Damn!

You know what makes me angry as hell? You and your decision to hijack what could have been an interesting discussion on the sport of athletics in general and the Carifta Games in particular.

Don1, I think most of us here easily agree with your view on Jamaica’s misplaced priorities as far as education is concerned. I know I certainly share the view that too much emphasis is placed on sports and cultural sideshows when compared with that much, much, much more important element of any modern society, education!

However, you could easily have started a spanking brand new thread on that matter in “The Everything Jamaica” forum above! Many of us would no doubt have wholeheartedly joined in such a discussion.

This hijacking of a reasonable (sports) discussion is the sort of nonsense why I rarely read or post anything on this once enjoyable message board! Like our Jamaican politics, our approach to threads is sometimes retarded.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        You know what makes me angry as hell? You and your decision to hijack what could have been an interesting discussion on the sport of athletics in general and the Carifta Games in particular.

Don1, I think most of us here easily agree with your view on Jamaica’s misplaced priorities as far as education is concerned. I know I certainly share the view that too much emphasis is placed on sports and cultural sideshows when compared with that much, much, much more important element of any modern society, education!

However, you could easily have started a spanking brand new thread on that matter in “The Everything Jamaica” forum above! Many of us would no doubt have wholeheartedly joined in such a discussion.

This hijacking of a reasonable (sports) discussion is the sort of nonsense why I rarely read or post anything on this once enjoyable message board! Like our Jamaican politics, our approach to threads is sometimes retarded.
        LOL! How passionate you are regarding your delayed opportunity to engage in another interminable, circular discussion on sports minutiae.

Anyway ah Rum Bar dis name suh yuh cudda vex likkle more... it nuh matta one whit tuh mi....afta mi nuh report to yuh

Btw...mi nuh tink nuh baddy too miss fi yuh contribution dem pon politrix... mi nuh si nuh clamor fi yuh viewpoint dem

Hush doh
        Last edited by Don1; April 10, 2012, 09:15 PM.

Ok, thanks for that information. I was of the impression that the IOC was not consistent in awarding medals. Marion Jones' 4x100M relay team was stripped of all their medals, or only her?

I miss his sports posts, albeit only T&F. Unfortunately, I have to wait until track season comes around to read his extremely informative and well-written posts. Historian, me know seh yuh skin thin, but nuh mek OneDon run yuh whey. This year is going to be a bumper year for us in T&F so I will continue to look forward to your posts.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Thanks, Jangle

I miss his sports posts, albeit only T&F. Unfortunately, I have to wait until track season comes around to read his extremely informative and well-written posts. Historian, me know seh yuh skin thin, but nuh mek OneDon run yuh whey. This year is going to be a bumper year for us in T&F so I will continue to look forward to your posts.
              Thanks, Jangle. I suspect that you know that you’re definitely one of my favorite posters from way back.

Actually, I did not plan to let Don1’s incredibly arrogant, brutish attitude detract me from posting. I’ve been quietly watching him over the past several years as he puts down anybody on this forum who does not agree with his views. He has even driven at least one person (a female) away, but at the same time he has developed a simplistic following of like-minded political types. I can remember a pleasant time when he was not a regular poster here.

Anyway, since I’ve grown to expect nothing else from this character Don1, I just go with the flow. I wish, though, that he would ignore my posts in the same way that I neither read nor comment on his threads. I really mean it!

Once again, thanks Jangle my friend.

The truth is that every poster has something to add to the forum, even if it is levity (eeh Missa Jangle?)

It's On Now!! Get unnu PapCawn ...

=Historian;350953]
                  Actually, I did not plan to let Don1’s incredibly arrogant, brutish attitude detract me from posting.
                  Shucks!!! Failed again

But a correction...Incredibly arrogant..yes I'm a card carrying member of that Club. Have been called that many times so I've come to embrace the moniker..

Brutish?? If you want Brutish you'll get it...but yuh suh delicate fi a man (gender is an assumption) mi nuh haffi guh dehsuh fi upset yuh likkle banana cyart

I’ve been quietly watching him over the past several years as he puts down anybody on this forum who does not agree with his views.
                  Yuh ah Police ar Mantu??

Yuh fi tap watch mi

He has even driven at least one person (a female) away, but at the same time he has developed a simplistic following of like-minded political types.
                  woiiee mi Belly!!

I can remember a pleasant time when he was not a regular poster here.
                  Oh for thee good old days when you were a regular poster....how good and and pleasant that must have been

Anyway, since I’ve grown to expect nothing else from this character Don1, I just go with the flow. I wish, though, that he would ignore my posts in the same way that I neither read nor comment on his threads. I really mean it!
                  This is quite insensible of you fellow. If you wish to be ignored...a personal attack is entirely the wrong way to accomplish that. It will have exactly the opposite effect... My personality doesn't easily allow bak chat... maybe you haven't noticed that in all your watching of me.. so this is a reminder

I can see your future... you will be taking another extended break afta mi dun wid yuh...

Memba mi tole yuh
                  Last edited by Don1; April 11, 2012, 04:28 PM.

Suh Ms Historian skin thin??

It look like mi agguh run whe one nex woman

easy star... I must say I would hate to see anyone run anyone.... (tho I suspect you are being tongue in cheek). I much appreciate Historian's offerings especially when it comes to music...

Don1 nuh tek bak chat...suh if im waan stay fi face di music im more dan welcome

Judgement!!!!

Geez! Chill nuh star!

Chill for what??

Unda attak?? Nope..
                            Last edited by Don1; April 12, 2012, 01:46 PM.

Just a ketch a read offa dis thread...

A yahso nice!

Dats why nobody caan run me offa dis. Me deh yah from you and Defender a war way back inna 19 how long and Balla and Emperor a bun fire pon each other before dem turn bredren.

Jah know,Historian is a valuable poster with a lot to offer and learn from but in all the years I have been posting here me neva see a forumite can get vex easy like him. I think him need fe just smoke a big head spliff and cool out more time. (Lawd him a go vex wid me now )

DWL......some good sensi............lol.
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015