• Bruce, The Masters:

Anxious for this event to start.

Augusta is just 2 hours drive...

Was thinking of going for Thursday and Friday...but the overall investment of $1,500.00 for tickets plus hotel stay have me wavering.

A front seat in my living room watching in HD will be more enjoyable. (The tournament will also be available on ESPN 3D).

Plus i like to annoy the heck out of my 'secretary' by shouting... "get in the hole!!!"

Maybe i'll attend next 'ear.

HL, You are absolutely right. $1500 to get stampeded and maybe see a golf shot or two is outrageous. And, according to one article, Augusta National's famous magnolias and azaelas are way post-bloom due to the warm winter.

You are better off watching the regular PGA stop in Atlanta later this year or the FedEx Cup final, also in Atlanta, in October.

Or, for $1500, why not swing a trip to Breezes Runaway Bay and take advantage of their free golf school?

So many jokes here, but I need a challenge.

HL playing golf?!?!

Like me playing center in basketball!

http://www.break.com/index/awesome-w...in-one-2315359

Here is a video from the practice round at the Masters, and you can see the mob of people, and that is just on one hole. Martin Kaymer clowns around and gets a hole in one by skipping his ball across the water.

is dat di confuse Tiger Woods...

unnuh did want me get in di hole or not ?

mek up unnuh minds..

Yes, Kaymer did get a hole in one, but it was a practice round.

I spoke to a friend who returned from the practice rounds yesterday. He reported that he had a great time.

He left at 4 am on Tuesday morning to beat the mad rush. ....

He also confirmed what you stated Bruce... that the expected blooms, blossoms and foliage of those lovely plants have passed their peak.

Another friend from Florida will be spending the night at my place---then head off on friday to spend 2 days at the Masters. The closest hotel accommodation he got was on South Carolina...~ 1 hour drive from Augusta.

Henrick Stenson currently -6

Woods -1 at the 9th.

Good stuff ON TV!!!

HL, are you taking up golf?

I have been an avid FAN(atic) of this sport.

Have played (overall) < 5 rounds, so I have not bothered to compute my handicap--but I would estimate it is very high

Currently, my business lifestyle does not allow for much time to play as I would like.

That is going to change.

HL,

I have only played one round of golf in Georgia at Stone Mountain State Park, a very nice place. Tennessee and Alabama both have very nice state parks with a lodge, fishing, and golf courses. The Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail in Alabama is second to none. Tennessee State Parks had some parks already with golf courses, then brought in Jack Nicklaus to add courses at more parks.

If you need any advice, I'll be glad to help.

Stone Mountain State Park is just up the road form me. I have season pass.

I know that course. It looks prety good.

PLEASE contact me whenever you are in the area. Phone# and directions attached. http://www.theupsstorelocal.com/2979/

Happy for Bubba Watson. That 2nd shot from the 10th hole in sudden death was one of the best i've seen. It won him the Masters!!

Is Bubba Tom Watson's son?

Bubba Watson is not related to Tom Watson.

Kevin Stadler is the son of former Masters champion Craig Stadler.

Gary Nicklaus, Jack's son, won a PGA Tour event several years ago.

Sam Saunders, who is on the second-level Nationwide Tour, is Arnold Palmer's grandson.

Raymond Floyd, who was a superstar in the 1970's, had a sister, Marlene Floyd, who was a regular on the LPGA tour. One of Ray's sons competed on THE BIG BREAK on The Golf Channel.

And one piece of history Tom Morris, Sr. known as "Old Tom Morris won the British Open in 1861, 1862, 1864, and 1867. His son, Tom Morris, Jr. known as "Young Tom Morris" won in 1868, 1869, 1870, and 1872.

It is not known if after Young Tom Morris won the championship, if Daddy gave him a spanking and sent him to bed without his suppper.

Bruce...you are a fountain of informantion!!!

I also got some great playing tips and course construction information from the Grounds Superintendent of Dubai Creek and Emirates Golf Club this past week end. He came to go to the Masters and spent the week-end at my place. He did not pay to get into the masters....

It was his first time...and he was extremely impressed at the level of organization. No one was allowed to run; if you placed a chair at any spot--leave it for any extended period, the chair (and your spot) would be there when you get back. Food and drink were extremely cheap. Water $1.00 sandwich...$2.00; you were even greeted whenever you go the Porta-John...

I think I would love to attend next year!
                            Last edited by HL; April 9, 2012, 06:39 PM.

The Men's US Amateur last year was held near here at Erin Hills, which will also host the 2017 US Open. I could not walk that beast of a course, I can only imagine the players who had to play 36 holes on Friday. One played more than 36 holes because his morning match went five or six extra holes of sudden death.