Portia on Chris Gayle

• Portia on Chris Gayle

PM Portia Simpson-Miller has described the delay by the WICB in settling the impasse between them and Jamaica's Chris Gayle as an injustice. Mrs. Simpson-Miller who was speaking at the Jamaica Cricket Awards ceremony on Saturday says she has been disturbed by the delay of a suitable resolution, "There has been no trial and no hearing; and as we know from the popular maxim – justice delayed is justice denied." she said

with her on this

PM Simpson-Miller calls for more private sector support for

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller pledged the administration's support for the game of cricket at the club level but said increased private sector sponsorship needed to come forward if the game is to grow and attract fans.

She highlighted the urgency of support for the sport noting that despite its decline in Jamaica and the other cricket-playing countries in the Caribbean, cricket remains an important game in our national lives and it showcased the admirable qualities of the peoples of the region.

Speaking at the Jamaica Cricket Association's (JCA's) awards dinner in Kingston on February 18, Minister Simpson Miller gave her personal commitment to further discussions to help clubs, "While the state of our local cricket and that of the West Indies is impacted by our ability to attract sponsors, we must once again ignite the passion for the sport. We have to find a way to bring back the crowd and mobilize community support and interest in cricket....As we look at how we can breathe new life into the clubs, I am going to ask CHASE, the SDF, SDC and the Ministry of Youth and Culture to see what can be done about this."

The Prime Minister also said that the sugar industry and other private sector groups should support club cricket so that talented young cricketers can be adequately prepared to play at an international level.

"Whatever the failings during its history, one of the positives of the sugar industry of the past, is what it did for rural cricket, in the provision of fine grounds around the estates and the sponsoring of competitions. It is my hope that the currently re-structured industry can recapture some of that," she said.
      Weighing in on the topical issue of the secession by Jamaica from West Indies Cricket, Mrs. Simpson Miller said she believed unity was the better option.

"The Government supports cricket on a country and regional basis through the West Indies cricket team. West Indies cricket is one of our greatest regional cultural investments. It brings together people from around the Caribbean. What we must do is regain the sense of unity so as to be able to once again dominate the world," she said.

Mrs. Simpson Miller added her concern that the delay in resolving the matter around Jamaican international cricketer, Chris Gayle, and the West Indies Cricket Board was a form of injustice.

"I am very disturbed by how long this matter has gone on without a resolution. There has been no trial and no hearing; and as we know from the popular maxim - justice delayed is justice denied. It is not just to have one of the world's leading cricketers being excluded from test cricket. This matter demands an amicable resolution as quickly as possible," the Prime Minister said.

encouraging...
        "I am very disturbed by how long this matter has gone on without a resolution. There has been no trial and no hearing; and as we know from the popular maxim - justice delayed is justice denied. It is not just to have one of the world's leading cricketers being excluded from test cricket. This matter demands an amicable resolution as quickly as possible," the Prime Minister said.
        sista p to the rescue... i hope she can use her influence to resolve this vexing impasse... it is west indies cricket that is the real loser...

btw, i also saw where she questioned the ridiculous slight of jamaica and sabina park being excluded from hosting a test match...

this wicb by their actions is inept... they are shorthsighted and maliciously petty... how can they expect to make money by omitting the single biggest attraction in world cricket over a petty dispute... the addage, 'stirke while the iron is hot' is lost on the wicb... they need to take a look at the nba and how they are making money off jeremy lin... it is no coincidence that the nba found a way to include lin-sanity in their all-star weekend events...

Mi agre yasso!

BTW, how yuh suh chiirpy afta Whitney gone just suh!

Boston Bobby really tun har inna eediot and derailed the potentially greatest ever pop star.

Mi not even a big tme Whitney fan (just a normal one) and mi get bummed out the more I guh look pon dem Youtube intavues, newsclips, etc.

What a waste!

Bobby and Whitney faumbilly need fi line up and tek whiss beatin. Bare crablice...yeah, dat mi seh and nah tek dat back. LoL

chirpy???... mi still inna moanin... mi all time favrit female singer gawn... all mi left wid is just memries... well, de cds gwine get played ova an ova knowing dat dere will be no more new recordings aside from what deh pon de shelf...

bobby, her fambily and de peeple who did deh roun har a benefit from ar purse strings, dem reely fi get a beetin... dem neva recognise de angel and duh enuff fi protect de angel... all a dem was enablers...now de money tree get removed cause dem neva care it...

who mash up who carrer? how many hits bobby had before him married? how many after?

bwoy some people said it was a "small island mentality" thing and i dismissed it. .... looks like mi haffi rethink it..

seriously, there was a time when i refused to admit the existence of the 'small island mentality' ting... over the years, i've come to admit its existence... it is clear that its at play here in this chris gayle fiasco... how else can anyone explain the wicb power's decision not to include jamaica in the australia tour... the powers of the wicb is comprised of all small islanders... dr julian hunte (st. Lucia)... ernest hilaire (st. lucia)... darren sammy (st. lucia)... small island conspiracy against big bad rebellious jamaica...

Well if you wont exercise yuh powah, I cant blame oddas fi trodding ova yuh!

Jamaica ah eediot yasso.