Coconut Water To Replace Sports Drinks?

• Coconut Water To Replace Sports Drinks?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/0...6pLid%3D134133

Companies such as Coco Vito and Zico who sell packaged coconut water claim their product performs equally to sports drinks such as Powerade and Gatorade.

A study, the details of which are mentioned in this article, found there is little, if any difference, using coconut water instead of sports drinks to re-hydrate during and after exercise.

The traditional argument I have heard against coconut water as a commercial product was because of its variability in taste... it has been shown to naturally have all the good stuff that Gatorade and others have... the problem is natural coconut water doesn't necessarily have the same consistent taste... maybe these people have found an additive of some sort to regularise the taste?

Because of the different types of coconut? Using additives does not sound appealing.

Actually the only liquid that I could drink copious quantities at a sitting...including water...nothing is as regreshing and rehydrates you...
        For people with blood sugar problems be careful...had a friend in hospital who was trying to bring his sugar levels down but inexplicably it was still high...till the doctors found out his cousin was bringing coconut water for him everyday...morning and evening...as soon as that stopped all was well...

BTW Peter-R, what exactly yu mean by "regularizing the taste'?

Hard to imagine that there would not be a way to control the variation in this day and age, but who knows.

Coconut water has seemingly become something of a fad for the upscale health food fanatics, not just athletes.

Zico & Vita Coco don't have additives and they taste fine...they use only young coconuts grown on the same farms...

It washes your heart! LoL

bad choice of words maybe... having a "consistent taste" might be better... as Gamma says "additive" doesn't sound nice. I was reporting what I had read in an article about coconut water and the obstacles to large scale commercialising... I have tried the canned coconut water (from Thailand or somewhere in that part of the world) and hated it... it didn't have a natural taste to it, plus they put a lot of little pieces of jelly in the water which did nothing for the flavour... they used to sell it at Peake's gas station... I don't know if they still do but I bought it once or twice and then reverted to the real thing...

How is it sold? plastic, glass bottles or cans?

Once again our forbears got it right! How dem know seh coconut water good fi yuh suh long before di scientist dem? And pomegranate? My grandparents used to encourage me to eat it "because it good fi yuh" how dem know? Is guess dem did a guess?

Tetra Pak... http://www.tetrapak.com/Pages/default.aspx

The one from Thailand isn't natural coconut water...those bits aren't coconut either and they add sugar...the Vita Coco and Zico are all natural...the real deal...

No joke, it can substitute for IV.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business1.html

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news1.html