Junior Minister of sports interview.
What, too relaxed...not enough 'meat'?
...no substance? ...did not provide guide or insight on the Minister's or GOJ plans for "SPORTS'?
If you answered, 'Yes'...you would be absolutely correct. ...but it could be that the Junior Minister deliberately provided the vague answers as time has not allowed her and the GOJ sufficient time to review what is already in place, canvas the various stakeholders and create policy guidelines that would reflect that review and those series of meetings being a part of the new GOJ Cabinet's thinking on way forward???
Right???
Senior Minister???
Hon. Portia Simpson-Miller!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
One thing that continues tobothere me and for years is that I have never heard a single cogent argument on how to monetize sports as an "industry" in Jamaica.
Apart from setting up sports (track and field) clubs like Racers/MVP and producing Champs who then go on to clean up in international competitions where they earn according to success, I cant see any other OBVIOUS avenue.
I dont see any big money from having international games in Jamaica, except as an avenue to keep our profile high and boost tourism, but you cant expect tax payer money to fund that continually. Pre-season baseball camps etc, is not a big money making thing. I dont see hoardes of tourists coming for the "strongest man" competition or for beach volleyball in Negril.
Can someone please propose some big money ideas that make sense, or stop the wishful thinking!
Originally posted by Willi View PostOne thing that continues tobothere me and for years is that I have never heard a single cogent argument on how to monetize sports as an "industry" in Jamaica.
Apart from setting up sports (track and field) clubs like Racers/MVP and producing Champs who then go on to clean up in international competitions where they earn according to success, I cant see any other OBVIOUS avenue.
I dont see any big money from having international games in Jamaica, except as an avenue to keep our profile high and boost tourism, but you cant expect tax payer money to fund that continually. Pre-season baseball camps etc, is not a big money making thing. I dont see hoardes of tourists coming for the "strongest man" competition or for beach volleyball in Negril.
Can someone please propose some big money ideas that make sense, or stop the wishful thinking!
Just pause for a moment and think on great numbers of small activities along the path you mentioned and other (paths) putting together people, activities, spending...
1000 of these x 100 person x say spending US5,000 each (use your numbers/the thought of many 'small' activities?)...and growing year over year??? ...and besides inflow of funds/exchange of ideas/numbers benefiting - e.g. attractions, support services (providers of accommodation, meals, transportation, medical services, entertainment, etc., etc)...????
Do not knock it (small inflows) even while we seek the few 'big activities'? Pleeeeeeeeease?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
US$5,000???
How many (real) people spend that on NBA in a year? Hell, how many of the tourists spend that (per person) on the ENTIRE vacation for a week at an all inclusive?
Ah nuff money dat!
Many likkle things to me is not a business moggle. It seems cost intensive with poor margins.
Again, despite your best intentions, all I keep hearing are vague notions that dont make business sense! If its for Govt to put on more loss making attractions fi fill up hotel at taxpayers expense, then I have a problem with it. If its for Govt to spend big buck on events that benefit millionaire and future millionaire athletes, I still want to see a return on investment for taxpayers.
I sadly have to conclude that there is no low hanging fruit here. I see no compelling vision and no immediatley attractive business moggle.
branded products ? setup some Chiney in one facility innah Trinidad fi mek dem..
get serious into content production based on di sports ting
sell tuh di tourists dem fuss den globally ?
We could leverage that wonderful school of innovation... UWI
Originally posted by Willi View PostUS$5,000???
How many (real) people spend that on NBA in a year? Hell, how many of the tourists spend that (per person) on the ENTIRE vacation for a week at an all inclusive?
Ah nuff money dat!
Many likkle things to me is not a business moggle. It seems cost intensive with poor margins.
...in any case, there is not one economy that is moving towards '1st world' or is there an economy that is '1st world' that limits itself to big 'business moggle' only. There is no more intensive employer than the 'likle businesses'.
Again, despite your best intentions, all I keep hearing are vague notions that dont make business sense!
...have I ever proposed or attempted to put together a 'sports policy'?
If I have ever done that it must have been in my sleep.
If its for Govt to put on more loss making attractions fi fill up hotel at taxpayers expense, then I have a problem with it. If its for Govt to spend big buck on events that benefit millionaire and future millionaire athletes, I still want to see a return on investment for taxpayers.
I sadly have to conclude that there is no low hanging fruit here. I see no compelling vision and no immediatley attractive business moggle."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
If I were closed minded, I would not continue the discussion and keep trying to see this great business opportunity everyone keeps mouthing off about.
I smell no big business opportunity and dont even knock your every likkle muckle. Just saying it does not seem to be able to make material difference to our plight. So not saying NOT to do it.
Your good intention in trying to proffer possibilities in your earlier post...not talking about any concrete proposals. indeed I have never seen a real concrete proposal anywhere....except for Racers and MVP.
Recall what the objective is...to make money now and in the future to cover the obligations and aspirations of all the stakeholders!