Obituary: Basil D'Oliveira

• Obituary: Basil D'Oliveira

Basil had to lie about his age because he thought if they realised how old he was they would not pick him for England. So he came down from born in 1935 at that time, solidifying his place in the team as 1933 born and when I wrote his book in 1980 he finally conceded he was born in 1928. So by my calculation he was 38 when he first played for England in 1966 and 83 when he died
    BBC Radio 5 live's Pat Murphy

Obituary: Basil D'Oliveira

IN ASSOCIATION WITH
    BBCPage last updated at 08:12 GMT, Saturday, 19 November 2011

Obituary: Basil D'Oliveira (UK users only)

A talented all-rounder, Basil D'Oliveira is remembered more for his role in bringing down South Africa's apartheid regime than for his achievements on the cricket field.

Had the former England player begun his Test cricket career earlier, he might have set the record books rather than history books alight.
    However four decades later he is not famous for his five Test centuries but for an affair which exposed the racist policies of his native country South Africa to the world.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/15803207.stm

Karl

How things?
    How yuh so quiet?

Nuff work?

Wait, yuh run out of people to rag? What is dis, man nuh post, man karl out man "How yuh so quiet? Misery DWLROTF

Memba dis Russians agu over run Jawgeees, they will be in "town" tiday....Russians 3 Jawgees 0....3 kick 3 goal, half time come 3 more....

ROTFLMAO

No man, Karl ah mi bredrin fi years! I met Karl, Mo, Sass, Emperor, X and others way back in 1999.

Dem is all bonified since then.

As fi the ball argument. I wont stop you from living in HOPE, but I feel StGC will win in a clinical 2-0.

Ruseas is a decent team, but this Jawges team is very deep and rounded.

Sound to me that you are a betting man..so kal it nuh, mek mi see if mi can stomach the wager nuh?

"I met Karl, Mo, Sass, Emperor, X" Mi supose to get impress, ask dem when dem agu build back Jamaica?

Not a betting man at all....only will buy a one deggeh-deggeh lotto ticket.

Yuh nuh haffi get impressed, just a state di facts. is long time mi know some ah dem Reggae bwoys yah...or reggae great-grand-daddy in Karl's case. LoL