• US/Jamaica rivalry heats Olympic fever in NYC season opener

Jamaican sprint stars head to U.S. Open; CHSAA relays return

11/30/2011

NEW YORK – Former world record holder and sprinting legend Asafa Powell will make his New York indoor track debut at the 2012 U.S. Open Track & Field on January 28 at Madison Square Garden, USA Track & Field announced Wednesday.

Returning to the site of her 2011 NYC indoor victory, world and Olympic champion Veronica Campbell-Brown will join her Jamaican countryman in the short sprints, while two of the most popular Garden high school track events – the Catholic High School Athletic Association boys’ 4x800m and girls’ 4x400m relays – also will be contested.

“No U.S. city is more international than New York,” USATF Interim CEO Mike McNees said. “Having Veronica and Asafa at the Garden will help spotlight the international importance of the Olympic year, with the U.S. Open as the first round of the 2012 USA-Jamaica rivalry.”

The kick-off event of USATF’s Visa Championship Series, the U.S. Open will be the first track meet to be held in the newly renovated Garden, and will be the first major professional meet in the United States as the 2012 Olympic Year gets under way. Tickets go on sale to the public December 1.

Powell debuts

As the man who has run more sub-10-second 100m dashes than anyone in history, Powell will make his indoor debut in New York at the U.S. Open. It will mark Powell’s first NYC appearance since he ran the 2009 Reebok Grand Prix at Icahn Stadium and his first time competing indoors since 2004.

The 29-year-old Jamaican held the title of world’s fastest human for three years, when he owned the 100m world record of 9.77 seconds from 2005 until Usain Bolt broke it in New York in 2008. He is part of the Jamaican 4x100m relay team that currently holds the world record.

VCB returns

Among the most consistent and decorated short sprinters of her generation, Campbell-Brown’s resume is the stuff legends are made of: two-time defending Olympic 200m gold medalist; defending World Indoor 60m champion; 2011 World Outdoor champion at 200m; ’07 World Outdoor champion in the 100m.

At the Garden in 2011, “VCB” easily won the 60m dash in the Visa women’s 60 meters. Her additional international hardware includes a bronze medal in the 100m at the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens and silver in the 2000 Olympic 4x100m. At the World Outdoor Championships, she has won a total of seven silver medals, dating back to 2005.

Prep tradition at the Garden

Often some of the Garden’s most crowd-pleasing events, the CHSAA boys’ 4x800m relay and girls’ 4x400 relay will be part of the U.S. Open program as well.

“As we reinvent professional track & field at the Garden, we made it a priority to include a few, select high school events that give young athletes the chance to compete on the Garden stage and give fans local heroes to root for,” McNees said. “We are thrilled that the CHSAA will return to the Garden and give their student-athletes the opportunity to take the Garden stage.”

Tickets on sale Thursday

U.S. Open tickets, starting as low as $15, will go on sale to the general public on Thursday, December 1, at 12:00 p.m. Tickets will be available at the MSG Box Office, Ticketmaster charge at 866-858-0008, all Ticketmaster outlets, and THEGARDEN.com. Annual MSG Track & Field subscribers can contact 212-465-6073 beginning today (Wednesday, November 30).

For information on the Visa Championship Series, including the U.S. Open and TV information, visit www.visachampionshipseries.com

No Reason For Me To Be Overly Optimistic

Our performance at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games and at the 2009 Berlin IAAF World Championships was, by any standards, extremely impressive as well as historic.

Certainly, after decades of sending representatives (as a country) to these august events (the Olympic Games since 1948 and the IAAF World Championships since 1983), nothing we have ever achieved, not even 1952, can even begin to measure up to the accomplishments of our athletes in 2008 and 2009.

The question, however, is this: Will we have repeated or even improved on our remarkable performances when the 2012 London Olympics ends? Although the significance of the setting (London is where we made our entry as a country in 1948) is not lost on me, I have no reason at the moment to feel hyped about Jamaica’s possible gold-medal performances at the 2012 Olympics, except, of course, in the case of Yohan Blake and Usain Bolt.

Time will tell...but I suspect 2008-09 is a pinnacle which we may not reach again in our lifetime

Since Jamaicans are completely spoiled & giddy by the recent success...all will be measured by Beijing/Berlin.... an unreasonable but understandable perspective

Expect nuff criticism when we fail to match those heights

Huh? What of Melaine and Kaliese? A resurgent Kerron and a fully fit SFP?

No man, dont get linear on me. If TG suddenly gets well, our male sprinters wont have a cake walk.

Then we have VC in the 200m and all those relays?

As to non-gold medals, I see plenty potential. 400m W, 400m M, 400mH M, decathlon, maybe we do something in the LJ M as well.\\No man, the target to beat is not Beijing or Berlin, rather its Daegu and I sit relatively optimistic that we will better Daegu considerably.

MVP will be fully reloaded. I fogot to tell unno fi watch Nesta.

From what I hear his problem has been diagnosed and him get the all clear fi let it all hang out!

You are realistic... most Jamaicans are not

Dem will learn.

Mi nah guh sarry fi waggonists!

Time will tell...but I suspect 2008-09 is a pinnacle which we may not reach again in our lifetime

Since Jamaicans are completely spoiled & giddy by the recent success...all will be measured by Beijing/Berlin.... an unreasonable but understandable perspective

Expect nuff criticism when we fail to match those heights
                We can do very well in the 2012 indivudual events however MVP must be free to do a they please for the most part. MVP and JAAA only need to co-operate for the relays.

The 29-year-old Jamaican held the title of world’s fastest human for three years, when he owned the 100m world record of 9.77 seconds from 2005 until Usain Bolt broke it in New York in 2008. He is part of the Jamaican 4x100m relay team that currently holds the world record.
                  Is that true?

Naw, him chicken out of the straight 100 because him want to collect Diamond league money and they would not let him for the 4x 1 record run. We breaking it too often, the reporters can't keep up. Also its hard to imagine that we cross it with out our most profilic sub 10 sprinter on the 4 x 1 team.

When Bolt bruk the WR, it was at 9.74s!

So count anodda error in the article.

If him did ever run an pullup! Hell and powdahouse!

That is why the team Doctor that no way to the 4 x 1!!!!!!!

Team docta?

I thought you mentioned the chicken word earlier...

Team docta?

I thought you mentioned the chicken word earlier...
                              He chicken out of the 100m (nervous?) and then started training for the 4 x 1 so the docta said no way you running in the 4 x 1 cause you said yhat you are sick! Take some bed rest!