Gayle Should Apologise

• Gayle Should Apologise

I would like to respond to Devon Dick's article titled 'West Indies Cricket Board must go' in the November 30 issue of your newspaper.

The impression is given that Christopher Gayle is indispenable to West Indies cricket. He is not, and has never been. Without West Indies cricket, the name and person Christopher Gayle will quickly fade in the memory, despite his performances in T20 cricket around the world. He is no Headley, Worrell, Weekes, Walcott, Sobers, or Lara.

Unfortunately, for quite some time, Christopher Gayle's statements and behaviour manifested a gratuitous arrogance towards the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) that no employer in the position of the board would have accepted.

What those who repeatedly call for the resignation of members of the WICB fail to state is that during the past years, there have been many different members of the board, including past Test players. It is quite clear that irrespective of who comprise the board, the critics will continue to sing for their resignations.

The WICB is right to demand an apology by Gayle.

The board, at different times, has made mistakes, but I can see positive work being done at present. First, there is the emphasis on the 'A' and Under-19 teams. Second, there is the cessation of picking and recycling the same players who continually fail. Third, there is the rebuilding of a united team, which does not include any disruptive element.

WILLAN J. CYRUS

willamcyrs@aol.com

Reading, England

non argument.

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
      Second, there is the cessation of picking and recycling the same players who continually fail.

WILLAN J. CYRUS

willamcyrs@aol.com

Reading, England
      Mr Cyrus cant be watching the same team I've been watching. Baugh and Sammy should have been rested long time! to name the two glaring examples.

Agree with you 100% Skeng. He has only his interest at heart. He is not much different than the Jamaican dancehall DJs in my book. Not dedicated to the glory and betterment of the art form/music.

Ah di said cricket board start wi pan di decline weh dem jus start clear how widout mix experience wid di youts. Also, dem nevah like a outspoken playah yet wi done know dat.

Originally posted by myYout View Post
            Ah di said cricket board start wi pan di decline weh dem jus start clear how widout mix experience wid di youts. Also, dem nevah like a outspoken playah yet wi done know dat.
            But Gayle is the first (and only high profile player to my knowledge) that they have had the strength to ostracise in the way they have... and there have been "worse" than him before...

Ottis Gibson is the chosen one and he takes priority over the player.

Everytime there is a likkle window for a reconciliation one of them always slam it shut by machining either addition demands or additional statements to provoke the other side.

Lets be honest with each other. Do you really think Gayle wants to play for the WI. As far as I am concerned, he sees it as being more finacially viable for him to stay away from WI cricket and play in the money leagues around the world. Mind you, there is nothing wrong with that, but for God's sake he should stop being a hypocrite and retire from the side.

i wonder about that .....

well ah stand corrected, ah thought Marshall Haynes and Greenidge had some falling out with them at some time due to what was said, been a long time still, but I'm sure know dem was ignored and forced to leave di game, when dem still had much to offer

haynes took dem to court ..... he is now the batting coach.

Irrespective, the door should be laid open.

The real hypocrisy is that unless he grovels and kiss ass, he will never be let back in and even then it not sure.

Do yuh thing Chris. Dem figget seh backra masters day is done.

Willi, we are at a [point in our history, 50 years into independence and couple hundred out from slavery. We have start including the word apology into our Jamaica lexicon. We see apology as the same as weakness. I have seen many Jamaicans who have been left behind as far as their careers are concerned simply for this reason. We have to avoid this backward attitude. Even though I am aware of its deliterious effect, I myself have to make an extra effort to avoid this trap, because it comes so natural to me. It is a shift in paradigm, and is always diffficult.

I have no problem with a warranted apology.

I dont see apology as weakness at all.

Tank yuh sir