Victor Conte on Usain Bolt and Jamaican sprinters(suspect)

• Victor Conte on Usain Bolt and Jamaican sprinters(suspect)

http://sports.yahoo.com/video/player...Depth/23860957

... does he know for a fact that someone at the airport tipped off anybody?

this old

ROME — Former doping guru Victor Conte has pointed the finger of suspicion at world and Olympic champion Usain Bolt of Jamaica in an interview in which he also claims that all eight 100 metre finalists at the Sydney Olympics were cheats.

Conte, the former mentor to disgraced track star Marion Jones, was the brains behind the Bay Area Laboratory Co-Operative (BALCO) which produced and supplied once-undetectable designer steroids to many top sports stars.

A police raid on BALCO in 2004, and the fall-out from the affair, rocked athletics and baseball to its foundations and has ended the career of many promising athletes.

Three-time Olympic champion Jones never tested positive, but her career fell apart after she was jailed for perjury amid a federal investigation into BALCO which uncovered the full scope of Conte’s operation.

Seven years after BALCO’s demise, Conte believes that over half of top athletes are still doping.

“I believe that before the BALCO affair, 80% of athletes were using steroids, today that figure stands at about 65%,” Conte said in a hard-hitting interview with La Gazetta dello Sport Thursday.

Conte said he believed the success of Jamaica’s athletes could also be attributed to dubious methods.

“At the 2001 world championships athletes from a Caribbean country, not Jamaica, told me how a doctor from their team supplied them with testosterone, EPO (erythropoietin) and other kinds of steroids.

“I know, because I went to him and he gave me EPO.

“The same informer tells me now that before Beijing (Olympic Games in 2008) that the Jamaicans were applying the same protocol that I created at BALCO.

“I don’t have proof, but all you need to do is look at the results: I strongly suspect (Usain) Bolt, and the others (Jamaicans).”

Conte claims all eight finalists from the Sydney Olympics 100m final in 2000, won by American Maurice Greene ahead of Trinidad’s Ato Boldon and Obadele Thompson of Barbados, were also using banned products.

The other athletes were Britain’s Darren Campbell and Dwain Chambers, Ghana’s Aziz Zakari, American Jon Drummond and Kim Collins from Saint Kitts and Nevis, who went on to be crowned world champion in 2003.

“In the Sydney 100m final they were all at it (doping),” alleges Conte.

Chambers would later gain notoriety for becoming the first athlete to test positive for one of Conte’s designer drugs, THG (tetrahydrogestrinone), a banned steroid.

Conte said he also played a role in deciding the outcome of the women’s 100m final at the 2003 world championships, won by American Kelly White before she tested positive.

“Five other athletes (apart from White) were doped: it was me who supplied the drugs,” added Conte.

Conte, who spent four months in prison for his role in the affair, said he has offered to provide expert insights to the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), only to be turned down.

“I’ve made myself available, put forward names, addresses, websites, protocols… but you know what they told me? That we can’t trust someone who’s been sentenced,” he added.

Conte, who has claimed that current anti-doping procedures are inept, said he could give one example of where the drug testers are going wrong.

He explained having pointed out “the period during which tests should be intensified: the last third of a year before a major event. If they (testers) think they’re going to catch cheats at the Olympic Games or a world championships, they are kidding themselves.”

Read more: http://sports.nationalpost.com/2011/...t-is-cheating/

Why is this Cun t e guy still relevant? ? (kissteet)

Willi and other track aficionados, is he really saying someting serious or is he just a blast of hot air?
          Last edited by Peter R; October 21, 2011, 11:20 PM.

Both.

LOL!!! serious hot air!?

So true.

This is not new, this is about two years old....

Actually a lot of what he said I have heard repeated here in Jamaica among knowledgeable track people.

If Shelly Fraser was an American we would all be up in arms by her dramatic drop in times in 2008.

I heard arguments about improved coaching ala Asafa but thats crap, while Asafa was concentrating on playing football at Charlemont, a school with no track credentials, Shelly went to Wolmers where she had one of the best high school girls coaches in the island and made some junior teams to CARIFTA etc and also a senior team before he sudden improvement at MVP.

this is new

source http://www.saudigazette.com.sa/index...20111022110978

Different "source" same message... Saudi Gazette look like they watched the same interview Nyamdirt posted and voila! nothing new... Conte looks like this is now his calling; to "expose" athletes who are doping WITHOUT evidence...

I believe in conspiracy theories...while I don't think our athletes are particularly pious, this looks like an American media campaign to discredit Jamaicans because the USA been knocked from the sprinting perch...

Back when Ben Johnson was busted, in the ensuing Inquiry, Charlie Francis (Canadian coach) admitted that practically ALL the elite Canadian athletes with whom he was connected were doping... BJ was the only one to make a significant mark. Mark McKoy who won the OlyG gold in 1992 also admitted that he was doping in 88 when he came 4th I think (got a two year ban and of course had no medal to lose)... other than him and BJ the steroids didn't do much for the rest of the team...maybe because it was a level playing field, i.e. ALL a dem was a dope!

Anyway, the point is , and I'm not batting for dopers, that even if you dope there is no guarantee of success. It is a risk the athlete takes with his/her body I'm told. Is it that the Jamaican athletes if they're doping are so much better at translating its use into success versus other teams (Canada)which have used it unsuccessfully ?

We've been through this but if Conte had followed (maybe he chooses to ignore) Bolt's youth career, he would know that Bolt was a special athlete. was he doping as a junior? or maybe he's one who has actually fulfilled his potential.

"Shelly went to Wolmers where she had one of the best high school girls coaches in the island and made some junior teams to CARIFTA etc and also a senior team before he sudden improvement at MVP."

When I was in high school, I was a very poor student in Maths. In my latter years, I went back to college and did Maths. At first, I was very apprehensive given my strong dislike for the subject, however, I made a conscious decision to do well. I finished with an A-..........I'm just saying........
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

all that means is that you should had a dope test after yuh maths finals!

As to Jeter, she get good when she reach menopause....LoL

Really, as long as di people dem pass dem test, it is just rampant speculation. Mek the system gwaan work fi ketch who must get ketch.