The reason I have problems processing this

Oh me forget that you new to Track and Field.

19.19 is special because it is the world recod, but its not THAT special anymore because as of today we saw someone else who appears capable of it.

9.58 is still THAT special, for now.

When we talking records which are THAT special we are talking performances that nobody else in that athletes generation could approach.

There have not been many, thats why they are THAT special!!!

Wait till Horse Mouth (Poster formerly known as Muadib) recover and the smelling salt kick in, you will see what is special or not

Beamon was never considered a once in a generation jumper, he is known as a lucky bugger who had one great jump

And tell me where I said otherwise.

Rubbish (to an extent), all now no body come near to Mike Powell's WR in the long jump but we see some long fouls and some great series.. were Mike Powell or Bob Beamon great long jumpers...to be fair the last really great long jumper we saw was Carl Lewis

Agreed. He was also at altitide and had close to max wind behind him. And he never came close to it again.

Powell was an outstanding jumper who broke a VERY special record that was decades old.

He wasn't THAT special because Lewis had been in that zone for years and was capable of breaking it as well. in fact if he had jumped at altitude he would have.

Thanks, you get what I am saying.

How could I say Bolt is not special?

I am talking about the "Bolt is from a different planet", "Bolt is not human" kind of statements, which really means "We will never see another like him in our lifetime".

Well, MAYBE we will. MAYBE we already have! Thats all I am saying.

Not special because we expect another one or two to challenge the natural order, isnt that the jamaican mentality...Gazelle and Skeen !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

not sure dem understanding yuh. yuh mekking a great point.

Could it be that the Martians have landed? Bolt and Blake being out of this world? Is Semenya from that planet too? Afterall she did walk away from the field in the last World Championships.

The start was verrrrrry slow....remove that and its the fastest 200 ever.

DId anyone think Bob Beamon's record would be broken? O rthe 4m mile? Or the sub 10 100m? Records are there to be broken.

I totally agree.

As mi did hear ah man seh...

Flawless Vulcan logic

Beam up yuhself