Is it fair

• Is it fair

Is it fair to compare Bolt's total number of sub 10.00 seconds 100m to Asafa's?

Of course not but there will be some quick to put up both numbers to try and prove some point, Asafa has been running as a senior long before Bolt even started competing in the 100.

For example when Asafa was competing at the 2003 World Championships, Bolt was just a Youth competitor and was seen as a 200m specialist who some times ran the 400.

It was not until 2008 when Bolt finally got his coach to let him run the short sprint that the count should start and even then his coach told him if he did not run certain times then he would get his a55 back to the 200m

Maybe a better comparison should be how many sub 10s Bolt has run since compared to Powell's first three seasons and even then Asafa should have the edge give that while every time he runs he would be in the 100m while Bolt might split his time with the 200m which even now is his poet event.

Asafa's 81 sub 10s is impressive without us having to distort it with idiotic comparisons.

well my only other contribution is that the # of sub 10's will fade away, blake or bolt in line to do that and then what?

records are likely to be broken but being a champion is forever (unless yuh name ben johnson or marion jones)

Nonsense! that's why they are called RECORDS. When Walsh took 519 test wickets he was the MAN with the MOST wickets....when Bolt surpasses Asafa's record or when Asafa runs another WR - that's the meat of the matter.
      Afterwards you can compare how long.. etc....

The number of sub 10's could actually be a record. What if no other athlete ever does it? And if one does then they'll have the most sub tens. Maybe it will soon be the most sub 9.8 or 9.9.

You miss my point completely, if you were a batsman facing me you would have been clean bowled.

I have no problem with Asafa's accomplishment been recognised and lauded sir, my point is that it is unfair for his 81 sub 10 seconds clocking to be compared to Bolt's right now as he would have been running the event maybe five or six years prior to Bolt.

I heard about Asafa's 81 compared to Bolts 25 and I wondered whether it was a fair comparison, maybe they should compare their first three years or the last three years but not the entire careers of both men right now given the disparity in the times either started running the event.

I hope I have simplified it sufficiently for you to over stand as I cant break it down any further than that

The way things going, no one will care if Asafa does another 181 sub 10s. 10 is a nice round number, but it means nothing really. Not when man a run 9.58, and likkle bwoys running 19.26.

Is it fair to compare Bolt's total number of sub 10.00 seconds 100m to Asafa's?

Of course not but there will be some quick to put up both numbers to try and prove some point, Asafa has been running as a senior long before Bolt even started competing in the 100.

For example when Asafa was competing at the 2003 World Championships, Bolt was just a Youth competitor and was seen as a 200m specialist who some times ran the 400.

It was not until 2008 when Bolt finally got his coach to let him run the short sprint that the count should start and even then his coach told him if he did not run certain times then he would get his a55 back to the 200m

Maybe a better comparison should be how many sub 10s Bolt has run since compared to Powell's first three seasons and even then Asafa should have the edge give that while every time he runs he would be in the 100m while Bolt might split his time with the 200m which even now is his poet event.

Asafa's 81 sub 10s is impressive without us having to distort it with idiotic comparisons.
              No, the number of sub 10 should be divided by the years running 100m

That's what Sickko wanted to say but found a way to just mess it all up!

Hehe - Bolt run sub 10 the first time him seriously run the 100

Since me never go gud skool like Manroe and Oolmas

Why yuh picking idiotic fights.

If Bolt sez he will likely retire after 2013, yuh think he can break 81???

Bolt ran 4 sub10s this year, Asafa averaging 8 a year in a loong career. Do the math.

Asafa has the most ever in history. He is a youth to Mo Green and will likely DOUBLE Mos; total!

Even if you do that Asafa is ahead.

Unno appreciate how many 81 is?

Nope. he ran 10.03s the first 2 time.

Why speculate, the record is there for all to see at iaaf.org TOP list.

Who picking fights moron? Check yourself fool, you think you can ban anybody from yah soh..go chuck off into pile of ....

Who died and made you god of everything track and field every where, why do you think you need to dictate to every one what they can or cannot think?

Last time I checked this was a public forum and every one, smart or stupid has the right to post here regardless and without you trying to brow beat anyone.
                            Last edited by Sickko; September 16, 2011, 08:40 PM.

I didn't and no need to break it down.The 'RECORD' is the # of sub 10s.