Not really breaking news

• Not really breaking news

But Track Alerts reporting that Brigitte Foster-Hylton have been cut by Nike and are now being sponsored by 361, the same Chinese outfit that kitted out the Jamaican team at the World University Games.

Had heard about BFH's situation earlier in the year and then Frater running in some reddish/pinkish shoes at WC then in the Jamaican outfit sans the Puma logo afterwards, was a give away.

Cant say I am an expert on how these contracts work but BFH's case seems harsh, she was afterall the WC from last year and you hoped that would mean some thing in negotiations.

NEW YORK - Two of MVP star athletes, Brigitte Foster-Hylton and Michael Frater, are no longer representing long-time sponsor, Nike.

Trackalerts.com found out about the latest development with these athletes in August, and it was obvious during and after the World Championships. Frater, after World Championships, where he teamed up with Nesta Carter, Yohan Blake and Usain Bolt to carry Jamaica to the 4x100m victory in a world record 37.04 seconds, was seen running in his country’s colours without a sponsor's logo. Puma sponsor Jamaica.
    Paul Doyle, the manager for both athletes, confirmed in an email request that both Foster-Hylton and Frater are now representing 361 degree, a Chinese company, which trackalerts.com understands is paying huge sums to sign athletes.
    When contacted on Wednesday, Doyle said "yes, I can confirm that Brigitte and Michael are now representing 361."
    He, however, did not say when the contract was signed or for how long.
    Foster-Hylton, the 2009 World 100m hurdles champion, who has been plagued with injuries from 2010, and Frater, the 2005 World 100m silver medallist, joined Asafa Powell as Nike-sponsored MVP Track Club athletes to switch. Powell in 2010 signed with Li-Ning, also a Chinese company.

what we gwine to do widout China?

Unnu better brush up pon unnu Cantonese. I have a feeling before long wi all going to have to post in dat language!

Actually, it is mandarin we would haffi brush up on. Cantonese is mainly spoken in Hong Kong.

A former coworker of mine who is Chinese told me that 2/3 of China speaks mandarin. The rest Cantonese and other dialects.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mandarin is the official language...spoken even in Taiwan. cantonese is from HK and Guandong (canton) province.