• Blake 9.82 again...new meet record!

going strong...

interestingly...it is Asafa's meet record he beats.

Asafa must be seriously regretting that "boy" remark he let Oral Tracy bait him up to make!

He may never beat Blake again. Or more likely he will be 'injured' in any race that has Blake in it. Way to motivate your competition.

But he is rich and will never have to operate a robot taxi from Waterhouse to Downtown!

Maybe a minibus from Linstead to Spanish Town

He most certainly is likely to beat Blake again.

I suspect they will trade wins next year.

But then again, I am discussing with people here who dont even know the true stats. Man post false stats and people gobble it up like it real and run wid it!.

Asafa has run 9.7s with little or no win more than once.

He has run 9.7s times more than even Bolt. Bolt of course run 9.6s and 9.5s too!

keep hope alive.. Blake is 21.. him nuh peak yet.. Coach Mills still a work pon di Pearl..

Mills has spoken.. when him speak I listen.. mi juss nod and smile at unnuh

Mills and Golding a family? LOL

wait ... yuh neva si mills hard talk interview? yuh drap asleep behind the wheel iyah!!

But Why Criticize Asafa?!

keep hope alive.. Blake is 21.. him nuh peak yet.. Coach Mills still a work pon di Pearl..

Mills has spoken.. when him speak I listen.. mi juss nod and smile at unnuh

Jamaica is on top in the sprints at this point in history. It doesn’t mean that things will always be this favorable for us. With this reality in mind, instead of tearing down our heroes, why don’t we support them all?

Why on earth do we have to praise one while simultaneously tearing down another? Some of us did it with MVP vs. Racers, conveniently forgetting that before Glen Mills made his mark, Stephen Francis was the coach who gave us something to cheer about! But not content with tearing down coaches and clubs, we now move to individuals who fail to satisfy our blood-lust for gold medals!

Asafa Powell started this current sprinting revolution among our men, whether we like to admit it or not! Before there was a world famous Usain Bolt, and before there was a newly world famous Yohan Blake, Asafa was the one ensuring that Jamaica’s flame burnt brightly in the world of athletics!

Now this!

But should I be surprised? Merlene Ottey experienced a similar response by many Jamaicans when her career started to level out and move downwards.

What are we going to say when we are no longer bright stars in the world of sprinting? And it can happen! In 1952 “we” boasted of the supremacy of our men’s 4x400-meter relay team and its Olympic Games gold medal and world record. Look at the status of our 4x400-meter teams today! We haven’t won any gold medal of importance since 1952!!

Historian to be honest I think Asafa's uncharacteristic utterances last year and this year might have led some to be turned off but there can be no dissing even while we celebrate the coming out of Blake.

Dont forget that up to three weeks ago many had little or no rating for Blake as they said all he had won up to then was Champs and CARIFTA.

Maybe Asafa was trying to remake himself, he was dancing and fooling around at the start line and was talking out more, both of which were unlike his previous persona.

Not sure if you recalled Blake's now infamous "psychological and mental problems" interview on Flo Track after the 2009 Trials but what he was talking about was how Powell, Carter and Frater psyched him out at Trials and he finished down the track in the finals

Maybe it was Jamaica's t&F fans that Shakespeare had in mind when he penned the words 'Le donna e mobile'

Didn't an injured Asafa dispatch Blake at JA Trials when you all said he may not even qualify?

Bricktop, the top people in track and field like any other sport will never be injury free, especially muscle bound runners like Powell and the Blake we are seeing now.

There will always be niggles here and there especially come June into the rest of the season and it is only a matter of how they manage it and how good their physio/medical staff is.

Asafa's groin injuries I suspect will never go away as long as he puts his body through the tress he does season after season, getting it ready to run fast and running fast and he has had the injury for a while now and continues to run fast so in short the injury argument is moot

and trying to keep up with the Bolts - sure recipe for injury!

Okay...didn't Asafa dispatch Blake at Jamaica Trials when many said Asafa would be lucky to qualify?