It seems like some people are under the deluded notion that

Carpe Monem too...none of us wants to work for cheap.

What facts?

The fact that you think he was too competitve to restrain himself in a rece in Zurich, or the fact that he is NOT competitive and that is why he has no Global gold.

For the record this thread is a general comment and NOT aimed at you, so dont take any offense.

YOu may be crass and crude, but you do have some track sense when you approach a topic in an unbiased manner.

nice compliment...lol

In 10 years...Asafa might care though that he lives in a big house on a hill

your defence once of Asafa is admirable and pitiful at the same time.

What is pityful about defending a man who may have a birth situation? Nuff people suffer from panic attacks.

Why pitiful?

Asafa has given us a gift and we want more.

We get what we get. Be grateful for that and let the man be.

kim lucky ... WELL lucky.

just like so many great athletes, ewing, malone in basketball dan marino and bill kelly in the nfl, after the career done and dem rich same way then the fact they missed the big one hangs over their head.

take marino, he at one time had all these passing records, slowly but surely those records are being replaced until soon he won't have the records too.

for clarity, i am not cussing asafa for making the money. not at all ... bolt says he wants to be a legend in t&f and he is well on the way. it would be a shame if asafa with all his talent was just a footnaote in history.

See why your mother made sure you stop scull school and take your lessons?

Aah boy, we wonder why Nike cut back on Asafa's contract and he moved to Li Ning, people go on like Nike owed him anything, fact is shoes manufacturers pay a lot more for titles than records.

Asafa is a great guy and as a journalist he is so much easier to talk to anytime anywhere than others, faster and even slower than he is but as you said, he us likely to end up as a footnote in even Jamaica's track and filed history and his name will come up only when people are honouring Bolt, Gay and yes Blake, all World Champions while Asafa was in his prime.

What title does Rip Thompson have?

They (Nike) signed him up for more money than Asafa ever got and Asafa was STILL WRH (before Beijing)!!! Dix too!

No man whey run 81 sub10 aggo be footnote. Plus he was also CWG champ and still have nuff stadium records.

Maybe not as great a legacy as he should have, but footnote is a stretch!
                      Last edited by Willi; September 9, 2011, 11:29 AM.

well CWG championship is what it is. it is not a global title.

my final thought on this and i am happy to agree to disagree, asafa underachieved in terms of what he could have done in the sport. to make it worse blake get one in his first outing, that must be a body blow to the psyche.

when the story is told of most sub 10 100's asafa may be ther for a while but as a record, that too can, and probably will be surpassed in his lifetime unless bolt gives up the 100 within the next year or too.

asafa could all blow EVERY penny him mek but dem could neva tek him place in the pantheon of olympic and wc competition.

again, not a diss...merely my opinion.

kim lucky ... WELL lucky.

just like so many great athletes, ewing, malone in basketball dan marino and bill kelly in the nfl, after the career done and dem rich same way then the fact they missed the big one hangs over their head.

take marino, he at one time had all these passing records, slowly but surely those records are being replaced until soon he won't have the records too.

for clarity, i am not cussing asafa for making the money. not at all ... bolt says he wants to be a legend in t&f and he is well on the way. it would be a shame if asafa with all his talent was just a footnaote in history.
                          ok... but im aggo still ave di big ouse pan di hilltap?

maybe, maybe not, it can be frittered away....

Did Asafa make as much as Scotty Pippen or may of those NBA, NFL guys who are now broke????

Asafa picked up a US$40,000 cheque yesterday for the entire DL seaosn, that is petty cash to some of the NFL and NBA players.

Rumeal Robinson signed a $10million contract and look where he is now AND he had a college degree so we assume he was intelligent

@SICKKO

WHERE IS THE CONTROVERSIAL STATEMENT THAT ASAFA MADE

HEAR THEM ON KLAS fm TALKING ABOUT IT

U HAVE ANY IDEA WHAT IT IS ABOUT