• It seems like some people are under the deluded notion that

a gold medal means guaranteed wealth.

I know for a fact that VCB and SAFP (as 2 obvious examples)do not make anywhere near the money we think they deserve.

Much more to it than that. Jamaicans are children of a lesser god when it come to shoe contract money, etc. Bolt is an exception as he has multiple gold, WRs AND charismatic personality. Plus the men are better off than the women.

There is a reason why certain athletes chase down the DL money.

Unno can gwaan diss them, but like all of us, they are looking for the best remuneration they can from the hard earned success resulting from hard training.

who is dissing? is just facts. powell has never turned up in one of the big 2 meets (worlds or olympics) ... well he shows up but he under achieves. if he runs better when money is on the line, hey, more power to him.

Why allow facts to get in the way of what is obvious?
      Facts is way overrated when you can spin it away

I was actually focussing on the WOMEN.

Additionally, Asafa di not run "well" tonight. He ran the same time he runs in Oly finals...did you consider that well?

in olympics and wc ... time is not so important. winning is. just ask kim collins

Kim neva even mek an Oly final to my memory.

Kim also did not make that much out of the sport. Hopefully the St Kitts Govt came to his assistance.

you keep talking about money, i get that. my point was kim collins got a world championship gold medal running a pedestrian time .....

Well, I know seh one can become a QC and retire bruk. LOL

Kim also lucked out that Asafa was DQed even jumping long after Drummond in 2003. He also lucked out massively again this year. its better to be lucky than good.

Kim aint that good.

Something to be said for being in the right place at the right time... ready willing and able to rise to the occasion. St K & N are justifiably proud of the man as they should be... him put dem pon de map!

Quite so, - carpe diem!

I found that 'Kim not that good' comment really crass and bad minded, fact is Kim not going to be begging any guy a food

Maybe we soon hear sey Yohan lucky too that Bolt false started as if it was he who cause Bolt to false start so he could win.

FACT is Kim and Yohan are World Champions and no one can take that away from them and the FACT is Asafa for all his millions in the bank will go down in history as the BIGGEST choker ever...

Ten years time no one will care that Asafa live in a big house on the hill, they will say he never delivered when it mattered most

I found that 'Kim not that good' comment really crass and bad minded, fact is Kim not going to be begging any guy a food

Maybe we soon hear sey Yohan lucky too that Bolt false started as if it was he who cause Bolt to false start so he could win.

FACT is Kim and Yohan are World Champions and no one can take that away from them and the FACT is Asafa for all his millions in the bank will go down in history as the BIGGEST choker ever...

Ten years time no one will care that Asafa live in a big house on the hill, they will say he never delivered when it mattered most
                        Congrats to Kim and Yohan. I hope Yohan makes millions like Asafa in addition to being world champ. I don't believe that Asafa has the nerves to become world champion. Nothing wrong with Asafa being a millionaire and not a world champ. The money is what is important.

a gold medal means guaranteed wealth.

I know for a fact that VCB and SAFP (as 2 obvious examples)do not make anywhere near the money we think they deserve.

Much more to it than that. Jamaicans are children of a lesser god when it come to shoe contract money, etc. Bolt is an exception as he has multiple gold, WRs AND charismatic personality. Plus the men are better off than the women.

There is a reason why certain athletes chase down the DL money.

Unno can gwaan diss them, but like all of us, they are looking for the best remuneration they can from the hard earned success resulting from hard training.
                          ... and they should chase down the DL and any other money. Its takes cash to care.

Yohan is that good. Look at the times.

Ray Stewart has a faster PB than Kim. 9.96 to 9.98s.

Will Asafa care? He has done what he can to look after his family and community and hopefully not become a burden to the State.

I find it curious that you are offended by a factual comment on Kim (by any objective measure he is not that good), but you are willing to slag your own (Asafa Powell) that did a great deal to raise the profile of Jamaica and gave us the confidence to go head to head with the American men.

Agreed.

Yohan IS that good and barring injury should do well.