Sebastian Coe says Bolt is "The Muhammed Ali of Athletics"

Right yuh are sah, talk di talk an walk di walk, big star charisma to di max any IAAF official wi sing it wid yuh, loud an clear, fi guh even furdah di wholah di track fraternity.

Yuh seit!
      ...Bolt dun a legend areadi...mi jus nuh kno hit yet!

Bolt is to Track what ALi is to boxing. We are not talking about social cause right now.

Bolt if he win in London will always be called as Jesse Owens was. Even though now of us saw him running we have him as unbeatable. Same thing will Ali, everybody think of Ali as the greatest. Bolt I maybe more Popular than Bob.

When Bolt is done 50 years from now he will be talk about, Many people who watch right now watch just to see him. Without him in the Championship viewership wouldn't be the same. That says alot.

sure generations will know about him the way us younger folks know of and venerate herb mckenley. it is up to our social commentators and the media to educate the generations to come the way we were about wint, laing, rhoden and mckenley. some people call it propoganda but is propoganda really malum in se?

Had he, while he was in Korea, gone to the border and said he was inviting others to join him there and walk toward Pyonyang, while risking imprisonment, and call on the two Koreas, China, USA, USSR and Japan to end the stalemate on the Korean peninsula, I would put him with Ali or above.

Even if he had done this as a PR stunt, I would have put him there.

Bolt is blessed that he can just use his athletic skills and achieve a lot and enjoy life. He has not had to endure what Ali did: sacrifice his career and talent for an undetermined period in defiance of an unjust war, nor have to make a plea to a top court which resulted in a land mark ruling for conscientious objectors to war.

This does not assume that Bolt is not as socially conscious nor does it presume that he might not be considering or will not consider socially conscious moves similar to Ali's.

The best comparison for Bolt is Michael Jordan or Tiger Woods, the best at what they did but never showed any empathy with those around them and never stood up for anything.

If we going to get into off the field accomplishments when determining the greatness of an athlete things will get complicated really fast.

Lets say I am comparing the great WI batsmen Sobers, Viv and Lara. Sobers went to Rhodesia when it was still under white rule. Viv turned down large sums of money to go to South Africa at a time when it could have destroyed the WI team if he went, and Lara was generally an a$$hole who looked out for himself only.

Do I need to factor this in determining who was the greater batsman?

Yes you do...

Well, we will have to disagree on that. Lara the batsman and Lara the man are not one and the same.

Thanks for the explanation/clarification