• Rein in Usain before it’s too late

Rein in Usain before it’s too late

Tuesday, September 06, 2011

Dear Editor,

Although I am in danger of being “tarred and feathered”, I am willing to take that risk. Let me state emphatically that I am one of the thousands who are extremely proud of the phenomenal feats performed by our “super-athlete” Usain Bolt.

Usain Bolt (left) and Yohan Blake

Usain Bolt (left) and Yohan Blake 1/1

However, I see something developing that needs to be dealt with before it gets out of hand, and that is Usain's excessive “youthful exuberance”. I do not have a problem with his “antics” before and after his races because in the former it helps him to relax and in the latter it is celebratory, but when the National Anthem is being played no form of gimmickry is acceptable and it does not matter what you have achieved, “it nuh look good”.

So I am imploring those who are responsible for the mentoring of this young man not to overindulge in “star worship” , but rein him in before it reaches the stage where he becomes haughty, puffed up and overbearing. Sit him down and give him a talk on limits and what is proper and what is poor behaviour. Let him know that as he continues to shine he must remain humble, because as mamma used to tell me, “There is a time and place for everything, and the higher monkey climb is the more him expose himself.”

I am aware that Yohan Blake is also guilty of the “Anthem antics” but truth be told, I believe he was merely copying Usain.

Daniel Daley

daley_danny@yahoo.com

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Rein-...#ixzz1XB8bceUI

And with all of Usain's antics, it seems to me that Blake is getting more heat for the anthem fiasco. Usain was also childish and disrespectful during the anthem playing, but he seems beyond criticism.

He is out of control, disrespectful, puerile and arrogant. Talking Usain here. But, oh, he is the greatest athlete in history!

My bad!

Did you see the responses on the Observer page as they attacked the letter writer?

Unoo too badmind and envious!

Well thats the Jamaican explanation for any kind of criticism, isn't it?

No, but I will go read them now.

Read them, and I must say, I am shocked!

Who I really pity though is Yohan Blake, a mere copycat of everything Bolt does, not just on the track! He looks silly, mimicking every stupid action displayed by Bolt.

Reign een di man fi wah, mek di man free out himself. Di young yout mek a mistake by a gesture inna di ceremony an dats it. Wi jus need sittn fi chat as per usual. Mi si Usain a sing di anthem which odah athlete eben duh dat or know di words much less, low di yout mek him strive cho.

not surprised any more.

Not shocked in the least.

The the other thing thats amusing about Jamaican debates, when the indefensible cannot be defended any more there is always the " Why unoo nah talk bout the crime and the economy?" argument. LOL.

We nuh easy at all. Maybe one day we will see the value in constructive criticism and not think any opinion different from our own is due to some agenda.

We soon see the ones that it is because we grudge them and we cant run fast like them and win medal and money...

how true ... and HOW TRUE!

Read them, and I must say, I am shocked!

Who I really pity though is Yohan Blake, a mere copycat of everything Bolt does, not just on the track! He looks silly, mimicking every stupid action displayed by Bolt.

Maybe Yohan is a clone in the making. I really notice that he mimicks everything Bolt does.

Not shocked in the least.

The the other thing thats amusing about Jamaican debates, when the indefensible cannot be defended any more there is always the " Why unoo nah talk bout the crime and the economy?" argument. LOL.

We nuh easy at all. Maybe one day we will see the value in constructive criticism and not think any opinion different from our own is due to some agenda.

AMEN, AMEN

And with all of Usain's antics, it seems to me that Blake is getting more heat for the anthem fiasco. Usain was also childish and disrespectful during the anthem playing, but he seems beyond criticism.

He is out of control, disrespectful, puerile and arrogant. Talking Usain here. But, oh, he is the greatest athlete in history!

My bad!
                            wow. methinks though dost protest too much. why the....vitriol.?!

No sooner said than done