Rein in Usain before it’s too late
Tuesday, September 06, 2011
Dear Editor,
Although I am in danger of being “tarred and feathered”, I am willing to take that risk. Let me state emphatically that I am one of the thousands who are extremely proud of the phenomenal feats performed by our “super-athlete” Usain Bolt.
Usain Bolt (left) and Yohan Blake
Usain Bolt (left) and Yohan Blake 1/1
However, I see something developing that needs to be dealt with before it gets out of hand, and that is Usain's excessive “youthful exuberance”. I do not have a problem with his “antics” before and after his races because in the former it helps him to relax and in the latter it is celebratory, but when the National Anthem is being played no form of gimmickry is acceptable and it does not matter what you have achieved, “it nuh look good”.
So I am imploring those who are responsible for the mentoring of this young man not to overindulge in “star worship” , but rein him in before it reaches the stage where he becomes haughty, puffed up and overbearing. Sit him down and give him a talk on limits and what is proper and what is poor behaviour. Let him know that as he continues to shine he must remain humble, because as mamma used to tell me, “There is a time and place for everything, and the higher monkey climb is the more him expose himself.”
I am aware that Yohan Blake is also guilty of the “Anthem antics” but truth be told, I believe he was merely copying Usain.
Daniel Daley
daley_danny@yahoo.com
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Rein-...#ixzz1XB8bceUI
Tuesday, September 06, 2011
Dear Editor,
Although I am in danger of being “tarred and feathered”, I am willing to take that risk. Let me state emphatically that I am one of the thousands who are extremely proud of the phenomenal feats performed by our “super-athlete” Usain Bolt.
Usain Bolt (left) and Yohan Blake
Usain Bolt (left) and Yohan Blake 1/1
However, I see something developing that needs to be dealt with before it gets out of hand, and that is Usain's excessive “youthful exuberance”. I do not have a problem with his “antics” before and after his races because in the former it helps him to relax and in the latter it is celebratory, but when the National Anthem is being played no form of gimmickry is acceptable and it does not matter what you have achieved, “it nuh look good”.
So I am imploring those who are responsible for the mentoring of this young man not to overindulge in “star worship” , but rein him in before it reaches the stage where he becomes haughty, puffed up and overbearing. Sit him down and give him a talk on limits and what is proper and what is poor behaviour. Let him know that as he continues to shine he must remain humble, because as mamma used to tell me, “There is a time and place for everything, and the higher monkey climb is the more him expose himself.”
I am aware that Yohan Blake is also guilty of the “Anthem antics” but truth be told, I believe he was merely copying Usain.
Daniel Daley
daley_danny@yahoo.com
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/Rein-...#ixzz1XB8bceUI