I risk ur wrath but no clowning when anthem is played!

• I risk ur wrath but no clowning when anthem is played!

Editorial
    We did well in Daegu, but...

Monday, September 05, 2011

Jamaica's world record victory in the men's 4x100m provided the perfect finish to the 13th IAAF World Athletic Championships in Daegu, South Korea yesterday.
    In fact, that 37.04 seconds run by Messrs Nesta Carter, Michael Frater, Yohan Blake and Usain Bolt, has contributed in large measure to our position that Jamaica emerged as the team of the games that gave as much pleasure as it did pain.
    A week earlier, the entire nation, joined by millions of track and field fans across the world, let out a collective gasp, followed by dismay, when Mr Bolt false-started in the men's 100m final and thus was disqualified. The shock of the moment turned quickly to disappointment as we were all denied the opportunity to see our Jamaican sprint sensation defend his world title.
    That Mr Blake was able to compete and beat the field after experiencing the trauma of seeing his training partner ejected from the race, speaks to his ability to focus and suggests that he is now a force to be reckoned with in international athletics.
    But despite Mr Blake's brilliant performance, we had sensed a level of depression among the Jamaican people, especially after our athletes — who made it to the finals of almost all the events in which they competed — mined either silver or bronze medals.
    That, however, is a natural reaction of humans spoiled by success. After all, our athletes dominated the sprint events at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China taking home 11 medals (six gold, three silver and two bronze), and the 2009 World Championships in Berlin, Germany with a total of 13 medals (seven gold, four silver and two bronze).
    What we all need to accept, however, is that the Jamaican contingent did well in Daegu, as their nine medals (four gold, four silver and one bronze) placed the island fourth of 33 countries on the medal table.
    We also must accept that the competition at that level of international athletics is fierce, and the fact that our athletes entered most of the finals as favourites is testament to our status on the world stage.
    Against that background we must express our disappointment that our local track and field administrators did not fully utilise the template created for the team to Berlin.
    We speak specifically of the nutritional needs of the athletes which was first highlighted by Mr Jermaine Gonzales during an interview on TVJ after he missed winning a bronze medal in the 400m by a whisker.
    Since then, other members of the Jamaican delegation have voiced dissatisfaction with the quality and lack of variety of the food served at the athletes village.
    The fact is that Jamaica is now a world power in athletics, therefore our teams should not be allowed to compete in these games without all the support services that will ensure their best performance.
    In other words, athletics is big business and our administrators should treat it as such, giving serious management to even the most minute detail.
    That, we submit, also includes inculcating in our athletes a sense of appreciation for our national emblems, particularly the National Anthem, at all times.
    For the most part, all our athletes who won gold displayed the requisite respect for the Anthem while it was being played at the medal ceremonies. However, we found the antics of Mr Blake and, to a lesser extent Mr Bolt, during the medal ceremony for the 4x100m relay disappointing.
    The playing of the Anthem is a moment of national pride. It should not be disturbed or belittled by gimmickry.

True, we need to respect the anthem, leave the dancing and gimmickry for another place and time

Wi wi mek dem know seh di anthem an nuh nutten fi ramp wid when dem come forwod, nuh watch no face.

Totally agree. Nuff time for that before and after.

Lots of calls to the talk shows today, he is arriving in London within minutes and I hope to get a chat with him

@sikko

ASK HIM ABOUT THE 400 M or at least if he going to run a leg on the 4 by 4 LIKE Allyson to get a possible 4 gold medals at the next Olympics with GONZALES

AND HIS PLANS AFTER LONDON 2012

THANKS

Would be premature to start thinking about that, in my opinion...

ok ... suh tell bolt seh "skeng d seh fi axe him seh ....." even though YOU think it is premature!

LOL! But it is not Bolt, it is Blake I am waiting to talk to

Well ask Blake seh Gamma seh, seh Skeng Don waan know if himma a run de 4by 4 leg?? Thanks

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
                      @sikko
                      what tha...a wha dis?!?!

tell him champs medal winner...

Weh Mi Do Wrong Now??

@Skeng D, you did nothing wrong!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                              Well ask Blake seh Gamma seh, seh Skeng Don waan know if himma a run de 4by 4 leg?? Thanks

Some of that may get lost in the Translation process