• Sprint Relay Predictions?

4x100-meter Relay - Women
    Gold: USA
    Silver: Jamaica
    Bronze: Bahamas

No national record for the USA (it will be impossible this year to assemble a team like the Chryste Gaines, Marion Jones, Inger Miller and Gail Devers quartet in 1997). The USA had a wonderful chance in Berlin two years ago, but that really awful accident between Alexander Anderson and Muna Lee on the second exchange put an end to that dream in the semi-finals.

Jamaica also will surely not go anywhere near the 41.73 national record ran by the crack 2004 Olympic Games team of Tayna Lawrence, Sherone Simpson, Aleen Bailey and Veronica Campbell. Of course, with safe handoffs in 2008, Jamaica would surely have smashed the national record, and maybe, just maybe, even the world record. Thanks to an incomplete baton exchange between Sherone and Kerron, it was not to be.

The Bahamas will not go anywhere near their 41.92 seconds national record, which the famed Golden Girls (Sevatheda Fynes, Chandra Sturrup, Pauline Davis and Debbie Ferguson) ran at the 1999 IAAF World Championships in Seville. Although Sheniqua Ferguson was the lead-off on their silver medal team in 2009 in Berlin, there is no Chandra Sturrup this year. Therefore the only veteran on the team is anchor Debbie Ferguson. However, with talented youngsters like Cache Armbrister and Anthonique Strachan, they definitely will be a force to seriously consider.

4x100-meter Relay - Men
    Gold: Jamaica
    Silver: USA
    Bronze: Trinidad & Tobago

No world record for the Jamaican men, but they will go below 37.50 seconds, maybe even below 37.40 seconds. If the 2009 team (Steve Mullings, Michael Frater, Usain Bolt and Asafa Powell) did not manage to go below the 37.10 set by the 2008 team, then it’s not going to happen this year.

Finally, the USA men will be behind Jamaica at the finish line, something which has not happened in a global finals since 1952 (and even then, it was in the 4x400-meter relay).

With safe baton passes, Trinidad will get the bronze simply because they are still the third fastest sprint relay team in the world at this time.

In Addition

I forgot to add that if the Bahamas women fail to get the bronze medal in the 4x100-meter relay, I suspect the next best team to be able to do so will be the Russians (despite the fact that Germany got it in 2009).

The Russian women, when they get the baton around, can be a major factor. As you gentlemen may remember, the Russian women got the 4x100-meter silver at the 2004 Olympic Games, and at the 2008 got the gold medal after Jamaica messed up on the second exchange.

4X1 100m women, yuh mean jamaica 1st an US 2nd

Nope, My Friend

Originally posted by myYout View Post
        4X1 100m women, yuh mean jamaica 1st an US 2nd
        No, myYout . Not this 2011 Jamaica women’s 4x100-meter relay team. But you need to provide reasons why you believe that this particular talented group of Jamaican divas will do what we have never done before, that is, beat the USA women to the finish line with them racing in behind us.

Time's Running Out (lol)

Tomorrow, we’re going to see a plethora of “this and that” from the relay experts here!! And I am going to read them all and laugh so much amidst whatever personal depression being felt because of some unfortunate performance!

The men’s marathon is now completed in Daegu (like it or not, the Kenyans are the real superstars of this 13th IAAF World Championships). So, while the marathon has been completed, posters here still have some time in which to state their 4x100-meter relay predictions!!

In a matter of hours, your comments will become mere “wagonist” responses to the final results! State your bets, with reasons (support).

Women - USA, JAM, TRI or JAM, USA, TRI. Based on form.
            Men - JAM, USA, TRI or JAM, TRI, USA.

jam, usa, tt

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                4x100-meter Relay - Women
                Gold: USA
                Silver: Jamaica
                Bronze: Bahamas

No national record for the USA (it will be impossible this year to assemble a team like the Chryste Gaines, Marion Jones, Inger Miller and Gail Devers quartet in 1997). The USA had a wonderful chance in Berlin two years ago, but that really awful accident between Alexander Anderson and Muna Lee on the second exchange put an end to that dream in the semi-finals.

Jamaica also will surely not go anywhere near the 41.73 national record ran by the crack 2004 Olympic Games team of Tayna Lawrence, Sherone Simpson, Aleen Bailey and Veronica Campbell. Of course, with safe handoffs in 2008, Jamaica would surely have smashed the national record, and maybe, just maybe, even the world record. Thanks to an incomplete baton exchange between Sherone and Kerron, it was not to be.

The Bahamas will not go anywhere near their 41.92 seconds national record, which the famed Golden Girls (Sevatheda Fynes, Chandra Sturrup, Pauline Davis and Debbie Ferguson) ran at the 1999 IAAF World Championships in Seville. Although Sheniqua Ferguson was the lead-off on their silver medal team in 2009 in Berlin, there is no Chandra Sturrup this year. Therefore the only veteran on the team is anchor Debbie Ferguson. However, with talented youngsters like Cache Armbrister and Anthonique Strachan, they definitely will be a force to seriously consider.

4x100-meter Relay - Men
                Gold: Jamaica
                Silver: USA
                Bronze: Trinidad & Tobago

No world record for the Jamaican men, but they will go below 37.50 seconds, maybe even below 37.40 seconds. If the 2009 team (Steve Mullings, Michael Frater, Usain Bolt and Asafa Powell) did not manage to go below the 37.10 set by the 2008 team, then it’s not going to happen this year.

Finally, the USA men will be behind Jamaica at the finish line, something which has not happened in a global finals since 1952 (and even then, it was in the 4x400-meter relay).

With safe baton passes, Trinidad will get the bronze simply because they are still the third fastest sprint relay team in the world at this time.

Womens=>US 1st, Jamaica,T & T (3rd) Mens=>Ja (1st), USA, T & T (3rd)

If you dont make a prediction then keep quiet after the race.

ja, us, tt men

us ja tt women

same as you say...

Not sure what you meant

Originally posted by Time View Post
                    Womens=>US 1st, Jamaica,T & T (3rd) Mens=>Ja (1st), USA, T & T (3rd)

If you dont make a prediction then keep quiet after the race.
                    Sensible predictions, boss .

However, I’m not sure what you mean by the sentence highlighted above. If it was meant for me, then I’m puzzled, because my thread starter is my prediction of what I believe the results will be. Of course, the Bahamas women messed their baton change completely in the semi-finals (one of them fell on to the track) and so that has made a slight dent in my prediction.

On the other hand, if you’re making a general statement to reluctant posters, then I fully agree with you, and I also apologize for not understanding at first .