False Start Rule: The Solomonic Solution

Yuh seit!

...an if Sickko a fast starter wi cuddah pull di rate an jump once iffen wi need fi mek im 'sit' pan di nex start.

1st false start charged to the field... sudden death engaged

2nd false start...the false starter ejected...along with the original false starter

Problem solved
      ... and a slow runner deliberately do the 1st false and forces everbody to be extra carefully and therefore level the playing field.

None of the two systems is perfect but I am forced to conclude that the zero tolerance rule is the better of the two because it ejects the cheater.

Karl...for the last time...the 100m is NOT a team event... it is 100% INDIVIDUAL. It defies reason to suggest such collusion..in fact it's ridiculous. Those trying to game my rule will not get the result they want a sufficient % of the time as they're too many uncontrollable variables. In other words they would more often sacrifice themselves for nothing.

Even if athletes contemplated such sacrificial machinations to aid their friends it is entirely immaterial as there will be no perfect rule that solves all possible problems no matter how far fetched they may be...

What we need is a simple workable system which minimizes gamesmanship and maximizes sportsmanship & performance

My suggestion does that imho... Game theory made simple

All who have some superior rule should state it... and give the off the wall analysis a break
        Last edited by Don1; August 28, 2011, 07:20 PM.

The individual sprint events are not team sports .Anyone thinking someone is going to take one for the team is not thinking clearly.

Too many competitive interest at stake, i.e sponsorship contracts,coaches ,teams and nations i.e person from a particular sprint camp might be alinged to a different nation or even sponsor.

Its just ridiculous.....everyone wants a medal esp the gold...Sass yuh out do yuhself yuh in the stratosphere and yuh tek nuff man wid yuh...lol

The only team being represented are 1st sponsorship,2nd family ,3rd nation....yuh tink my brethren a pay my bills and feed my family after im get international glory or worse third world glory fi a likkle bronze/silver medal.....tek one fi di team....lol
          Last edited by Sir X; August 28, 2011, 09:50 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Righteous