• False Start Rule: The Solomonic Solution

1st false start charged to the field... sudden death engaged

2nd false start...the false starter ejected...along with the original false starter

Problem solved

not bad on the face of it. It discourages the use of deliberately picking for psychological gains and it eliminates the real false starter. Open for some more debate.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

So if you have two American sprinter then one can just deliberately false start a second time and Bolt would still be out?

With that rule people could sacrifice themselves for others to benefit.
      I think you are adding more problem with the second rule.

So if you have two American sprinter then one can just deliberately false start a second time and Bolt would still be out?

woiiee mi belly!!

since when is the 100m one team event? LOL

What one team even? Is it impossible to have two people from one team in the same event? The fact is your second rule is impractical and not well thought out.

Hmmm not original heard the person call in on TVJ today and then saw it posted elsewhere...

It's original for me...I don't do TVJ

Oh I see

To preserve my present good humour I will not pursue the issue with you

Ridiculous - so a fellow Jamaican nuh could deliberately false start too?

Except if more than one athlete from a country entered it could, as previous rules were, used to have fast starters 'sit in the blocks'...and thus give the always slower starter chance of winning if only that fast starter could be 'persuaded' to be less aggressive.

Yup!...the runner with less of a chance could be sacrificed.

pinch! ...dead befoe mi!

Like how the American girl next to Kerron Stewart flinched in the Blocks in either Beijing or Berlin and was not called back...true...this could be applied at even the College level in the US or even Champs where points are crucial.

A slow runner from Team A gets out the top runner from Team B preventing them from getting the points which is why this system is still the best one- every tub siddung pon dem own bottom

suh yuh a seh di same ting - same concept unnuh a put hout!

suh?
                          pinch! ...dead before mi...tuh!

yes we could do it as well. You could replace American with Jamaican and choose your best ahtlete.

Put it this way. My and you come from Portland and you a the better runner. If Sickko the big runner from St. James false start once, why wouldn't I sacrifice myself that you can win?

Don't for once think people won't sacrifice themselves for their team.

You see it. I have seen athlete scarifice themselves for team. One came to mind at Boys Champs was Clarendon College Wallace and Cbar two runners one name boyd I think.