• We Seem To Have A Couple Numbskulls On The Board

...wonder if dem can read?

That is exactly the aim, according to Istvan Gyulai, the IAAF general secretary. He said: "The opinion of a majority of council members was that this rule change would prevent gamesmanship, by penalising those athletes who deliberately false-start to unsettle their rivals."

I agree with you Brickie, no reason for this rule to change..we have a few people who used to abuse the old rule including 110m hurdler Dwight Thomas who used to deliberately pick to 'freeze' the field and 'level the playing field' in his favour.

I know this tactic was in wide spread use and Knew of high school coaches who told their slow starters to pick.

Incidentally we benefited from the old rule when Sherone Simpson picked the start of the 4x100m at the 2002 World Junior Championships in Kingston and on the second attempt we won the gold.

so what about the injuries? your reason changed.

These technocrat will further kill ahtletics. Mark my word. They better change it back sooner or nobody will be watching. The chance of good ahtlete going out in 3 round of running is far too great.

No Brickie run FAST from the injury argument now.

The previous rule that was put in for TV reasons had legitimate problems which needed to be addressed, but this current solution is clearly not it.

People like Ato predicted it would come to something like this from a year ago.

So much for the brilliance of the IAAF.

Duh, maybe this rule might cause a problem in the future?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/athletics/14700797.stm
          Last edited by Islandman; August 28, 2011, 04:03 PM.

Quite frankly I hope they don't have a knee jerk reaction and change the rule without thinking out the thing properly.

This is not specifically about Bolt. It is about having a rule that is fair and spectator friendly.

What nobody talking about is this rule will result in slower times because less people will actually try and time the start and therefore there will be slower reaction times.

One thing i learned from Horace Reid- when you make a decision based on principle you cant lose but when you make one for personal reasons it will always come back to bite you

so what about the injuries? your reason changed.

These technocrat will further kill ahtletics. Mark my word. They better change it back sooner or nobody will be watching. The chance of good ahtlete going out in 3 round of running is far too great.
                  A lie yuh telling, people will still be watching and they will still be purchasing tickets to meets!

I'd say that is half-true.

History is riddled with decisions made for principled reasons but which had unintended and tragic consequences.

Di original false start rule a idiot, you nah allow a competitor a false start due anxiety, nervousness or supm'n. Di event nah nuh false start, unless di startah cause it, an him an use electronic wired/wireless device "which should be accurately calibrated an free from any defect fi induce a false start". But di human competitor nah none. Suh if di technological device can fail suh how come di human nuh get at least one time fi fail. Idiot logics dem ah use, Di rule fi revert, plain an simple.

Not at 750 pounds for the Oly finals they wont! Man come fi si Bolt run...yuh nuh hear Kim Collins!

Yuh karreck.

FS rule should at least be changed for Finals.

Mi nuh want see too many "lucky" champions. As much as possible, the best must be allowed to be there.

I'd say that is half-true.

History is riddled with decisions made for principled reasons but which had unintended and tragic consequences.

I declare we stand for Democratic Socialism as is our right as a sovereign people...Fi di Weak Heart dem who nuh love dat wi ave wi owna airline (back then).... Five Flight a Day to Miami fi unnu!

Principle wi seh

dat tune change quick in 1989..

mout mek fi talk.. none did biggah or sweetah dan Joshua

him fool many.. not everybody doh...