Who could have predicted back in 2007 that two world champion come from the Mills camp.
BTW NB 2nd 100 champ from Ja is Blake!!!
More Than Two, Boss
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostWho could have predicted back in 2007 that two world champion come from the Mills camp.
MVP, of course, has so far obtained numerically as well as gender-wise the most impressive results. Check the 2008 and 2009 results (including the make-up of the 2008 men’s 4x100-meter relay team). This is why I get depressed whenever I see those anti-MVP posts anywhere!
With reference to your post, Stoni, Glen Mills has coached THREE IAAF World Championships 100-meter gold medalists:
Kim Collins (2003)
Usain Bolt (2009)
Yohan Blake (2011)
I will write a separate thread, after this Daegu Championships, on MVP Club and its immense, impressive achievements. For now, let me state that Jamaica is indeed fortunate to have two of the greatest track coaches on the planet, Stephen “Franno” Francis and Glen Mills. Both have achieved immensely, and Jamaica as a result is the better for it!
No, Three Finalists
Originally posted by Exile View PostMills had 4 finalists today? He must be doing something right....especially with the 35 yo Collins from St. kitts.
Usain Bolt
Yohan Blake
Daniel Bailey
Kim Collins left Racers Club several years ago. He no longer resides in Jamaica. Interestingly, he retired from track and field in late 2009, but decided to come back out of retirement this year.
Kim Collins, by the way, is the first Caribbean athlete to win an IAAF World Championships 100-meter gold medal. In the history of the IAAF World Championships, only three Caribbean athletes have ever won 100-meter race gold: Kim Collins (2003), Usain Bolt (2009), Yohan Blake (2011)
Kim Collins: An Outstanding Athlete
100-meter gold (2003 IAAF World Championships)
100-meter bronze (2005 IAAF World Championships)
100-meter bronze (2011 IAAF World Championships)
On the other hand, Kim tends to run 10-plus seconds to medal at IAAF World Championships. His 2003 win was the slowest World Championships 100-meter win in history.
Historian, please note that Champion has no F in it only an M, joke aside I really was being a little chauvinistic without thinking when i said that, put I was focusing on the male side.
My intent was not to be anti anyone with my comment but to be more pro Mills as many may probably think that he is just lucky to have the best athlete in the world.
Blake's win today has just emphasized how good Mills entire training method is both on the the physical as well as mental side. I remember it was just recently that Blake failed to deliver in poland after being a heavy favourite and to see him win today after Bolt picked was amazing.
BTW if Bolt was in he would have won by 5 to 10 lengths.
...plus I believe Mills also coached Raymond Stewart to 2nd in the 1987 100m WorldsTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
He false-started because he is human.... how come all of some a unuh a gwann like seh Bolt a rux an a eediat? jus watch de ride...
and he STILL is so much better than Blake (at this time, just not yesterday) and this is not to hold anything against him (Blake) mi wouda love fi see him run 9.57...Peter R