• Let the 100-meter Predictions Begin!

13th IAAF World Championships,
    Daegu, South Korea
    100-meter Race

With only four days to go until the start of the 13th IAAF World Championships in Daegu, South Korea, now might be as good a time as any to begin making those predictions (lol)! For clarity’s sake, it might be a good idea to limit predictions in this thread to the men and women’s 100-meter races.

Men’s 100-meter Dash
    Gold: Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
    Silver: Asafa Powell (Jamaica)
    Bronze: Yohan Blake (Jamaica)

There has been much talk about Bolt’s loss of form in 2011 (his seasons best is 9.88 seconds), but Usain Bolt has the power, the speed, and most importantly the confidence to win his second world championships 100-meter gold. If the apparently newly-confident Asafa Powell can get his mind act together, he should grab second place.

I’m tempted to predict the USA’s Walter Dix for the bronze (in other words, a repeat of his 2008 Beijing performance). However, the highly confident (some might say brash) and charismatic Yohan Blake is not someone to be taken lightly, and so I’m giving him the edge over Nesta Carter and Dix.

Women’s 100-meter Dash
    Gold: Carmelita Jeter (USA)
    Silver: Veronica Campbell-Brown (Jamaica)
    Bronze: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) OR Kelly-Ann Baptiste (Trinidad & Tobago)

I do not buy this argument of “possum” from Shelly-Ann Fraser. This, quite simply, is not the Shelly-Ann of 2008 and 2009. Nevertheless, I wouldn’t be surprised if, with one of her world-class starts, she wins the bronze medal. The stupid false start rule, however, might be a deterrent to fast starts by Shelly-Ann and the other athletes.

I doubt if Carmelita Jeter has forgotten her bronze medal performance two years ago in Berlin. Her usual dominance continued this season (she ran 10.70 in Oregon and, if my memory is correct here, has lost only once this season -- to Veronica Campbell-Brown). I suspect that this time there will not be any foul-up from Jeter at the start for her!

Kelly-Ann Baptiste, the 2008 NCAA 100-meter gold medalist, is someone that we should not underestimate this year.

If you want to be the man, first you have to beat the man. Bolt again. Would love to say VCB but have to go with Mr. Jeter (I know, I know bad mind a go kill me). Me no really care who get the silver or bronze (I am sure Asafa doesn't either) but I am predicting a JA male sweep and two out of three for the women.

Bolt - Dix - Powell

Originally posted by Historian View Post
        13th IAAF World Championships,

Daegu, South Korea
        100-meter Race

With only four days to go until the start of the 13th IAAF World Championships in Daegu, South Korea, now might be as good a time as any to begin making those predictions (lol)! For clarity’s sake, it might be a good idea to limit predictions in this thread to the men and women’s 100-meter races.

Men’s 100-meter Dash
        Gold: Usain Bolt (Jamaica)
        Silver: Asafa Powell (Jamaica)
        Bronze: Yohan Blake (Jamaica)

There has been much talk about Bolt’s loss of form in 2011 (his seasons best is 9.88 seconds), but Usain Bolt has the power, the speed, and most importantly the confidence to win his second world championships 100-meter gold. If the apparently newly-confident Asafa Powell can get his mind act together, he should grab second place.

I’m tempted to predict the USA’s Walter Dix for the bronze (in other words, a repeat of his 2008 Beijing performance). However, the highly confident (some might say brash) and charismatic Yohan Blake is not someone to be taken lightly, and so I’m giving him the edge over Nesta Carter and Dix.

Women’s 100-meter Dash
        Gold: Carmelita Jeter (USA)
        Silver: Veronica Campbell-Brown (Jamaica)
        Bronze: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) OR Kelly-Ann Baptiste (Trinidad & Tobago)

I do not buy this argument of “possum” from Shelly-Ann Fraser. This, quite simply, is not the Shelly-Ann of 2008 and 2009. Nevertheless, I wouldn’t be surprised if, with one of her world-class starts, she wins the bronze medal. The stupid false start rule, however, might be a deterrent to fast starts by Shelly-Ann and the other athletes.

I doubt if Carmelita Jeter has forgotten her bronze medal performance two years ago in Berlin. Her usual dominance continued this season (she ran 10.70 in Oregon and, if my memory is correct here, has lost only once this season -- to Veronica Campbell-Brown). I suspect that this time there will not be any foul-up from Jeter at the start for her!

Kelly-Ann Baptiste, the 2008 NCAA 100-meter gold medalist, is someone that we should not underestimate this year.
        Its too early for predictions but I see some flaws in your predictions.

Powell has the speed but not the nerves to remain calm in a World Champs Final and he is lucky that Blake did not knock him off in the Jamaica Trails. My biggest concern about Blake is that I don't trust him not to show boat.

Jeter don't have the nerves to remain calm in a World Champs finals and beat VCB or SAF. She and Powell are in the same boat, speed but no nerves for the big race. Jeter and Powell needs to go out for dinner.

SAF case is bothering me. She is a double champion and the perfect possum but VCB is a world champion and can kill that possum. I would love to see where SAF is relative to everyone else when she lifts her head at 30m and when she shuts down the engines in heats and semi. Problem is her place in the finals is guaranteed. VCB and Jeter will be challenging SAF after heats and semis, VCB is going to have a hard time cathcing and killing the possum and Jeter will be seeing the tail of the possum.

I wait until after the semis to give a prediction.

No, Definitely Not Too Early!

Originally posted by Time View Post

Powell has the speed but not the nerves to remain calm in a World Champs Final and he is lucky that Blake did not knock him off in the Jamaica Trails.

Jeter don't have the nerves to remain calm in a World Champs finals and beat VCB or SAF. She and Powell are in the same boat, speed but no nerves for the big race. Jeter and Powell needs to go out for dinner.
          No, boss, four days before the start of the event is certainly NOT too early to make predictions! The pre-World Championships season is completely finished, the athletes are already trickling into the games village, and so this is the time for predictions.

I cannot agree with you that there is a “flaw” in my prediction for Asafa Powell. How soon you seem to have forgotten Berlin 2009! How can you still say that Asafa does not have the “nerves to remain calm in a World Champs final”?! Forget the period 2004-2008. If Tyson Gay wasn’t in that final in Berlin in 2009, Asafa would have been the silver medal winner behind Bolt. Well, Gay will not be competing in this event in Daegu!

We saw a newly confident Asafa at the starting line in the finals in Berlin, and hopefully that confidence can work once again in Daegu if he allows it to. In addition, Asafa has been running rounds since the 2003 IAAF World Championships (Paris). He is used to that by now. Can the same be said about Yohan Blake?

In any case, Asafa Powell is a 9.7 athlete. Blake certainly is not at this point in time!

How can you say that Jeter “don’t have the nerves to remain calm in a World Champs final”?! Are you using her third-place finish in Berlin two years ago as your reference? That could have been due to a number of factors. In any case, her dominance since September 2009 and the knowledge that she is unquestionably the second fastest woman in history surely will have given Jeter a great deal of confidence going into the finals in Daegu!!

Again, I don’t buy this so-called “possum” talk about Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce!! The bottom line is that the only people who know her real status are those in her camp. What I know, as I said above, is that the Shelly-Ann I saw in 2008 and 2009, and also at the Jamaica National Championships two months ago (the 200-meter race) is not the virtually invisible Shelly-Ann I’ve been seeing since.

Also, Shelly-Ann’s strength is in her start, as we all saw when Kerron Stewart almost ran her down in Berlin 2009. Jeter has a much more impressive finishing speed than Shelly-Ann, so if Jeter can somehow get a bullet start, then the rest might be history by 70 meters or so.

Is my concern warranted? Only time (no pun intended) will tell .

Powell has the speed but not the nerves to remain calm in a World Champs Final and he is lucky that Blake did not knock him off in the Jamaica Trails.
            Wasn't even close. Asafa toyed with both Blake & Mullings at Trials. Watch it again.

Good selections. Who can argue...but in the men I go with Asafa to at last stick Gold.

I am thinking that he should get out like a bullet and the others failing to catch him.

Me too coward fi call it for the men's 100m other than a 1-2-3-4 for Jamaica. Women's - Mr. Jeter will not win. Tha's all she wrote.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Mens 100m

I expect Bolt to be in sub 9.80 form and that should be enough. If Powell gets a dream start than he will have his best and last opportunity to win an individual gold.

1. Bolt 2. Powell 3. Blake

For the Womens 100m its hard to go against Jeter if she remains healthy. I do not see enough evidence to say she does not have the heart to win the big one yet. If she fails on this occasion with a sub-par time, then that would have to be considered.

1. Jeter 2. VCB 3. Kelly-Ann Baptiste

Men, Powell - Bolt - Dix
                    Women, VCB - Jeter - Fraser-Pryce

Men's 100m-
                      Bolt
                      Asafa
                      Dix/Thompson
                      Blake about fifth

Women's 100m
                      VCB
                      Jeter
                      SAFP/Trinidad girl

Men's 200m
                      Bolt
                      Dix
                      Panama kid

Women's 200
                      VCB
                      Felix
                      Jeter

Powell has the speed but not the nerves to remain calm in a World Champs Final and he is lucky that Blake did not knock him off in the Jamaica Trails. My biggest concern about Blake is that I don't trust him not to show boat.

SAF case is bothering me. She is a double champion and the perfect possum but VCB is a world champion and can kill that possum. I would love to see where SAF is relative to everyone else when she lifts her head at 30m and when she shuts down the engines in heats and semi. Problem is her place in the finals is guaranteed. VCB and Jeter will be challenging SAF after heats and semis, VCB is going to have a hard time cathcing and killing the possum and Jeter will be seeing the tail of the possum.

I wait until after the semis to give a prediction.
                        One thing to take into consideration - VCB's start has recently been 'shot out of a gun' like. Takes no backseat to SAF's anymore.

Jangle, Boss

Me too coward fi call it for the men's 100m other than a 1-2-3-4 for Jamaica. Women's - Mr. Jeter will not win. Tha's all she wrote.
                          Seems like you’re not giving Walter Dix and Richard Thompson adequate credit for what they are capable of (lol).

I too would dearly love to see a 1-2-3-4 for Jamaica. I still remember that 200-meter final at the 2005 IAAF World Championships where the USA finished 1-2-3-4, with Tyson Gay finishing in fourth. However, a similar scenario is most likely not going to happen in Jamaica’s case in the 100-meter.

Looking at the heats today Bolt looks unbeatable, so its Bolt for Gold. Bolt almost walked across the line! Blake silver (9.78 to 9.83) is ready to shock the world and yes I believe that he can drop below 9.80. I liked how Nesta Carter and Dix ran the heat but I won't call 3rd place. Note it Bolt has an accident then Blake will win this race.

1st SAF, 2nd VCB - , Expect to see Kerron 3rd ( arriving too late to get 1st or 2nd) and Man Jeter trying to spoilt the 1,2,3 party with a 4th. Man Jeter looks dangerous. She ran smart heat and a final finals and did not burn out herself. Expect Trininidad (5th) to try and knock off Man Jeter for 4th.
                              Last edited by Time; August 29, 2011, 07:05 AM.