• How many mistakes can you find in this article

Jamaicans take aim at Jeter

Published: Monday | August 15, 2011 2 Comments

Jeter

Campbell-Brown

1 2 >
    Raymond Graham, Gleaner Writer
    ONCE again it will be a USA vs Jamaica rivalry in the sprints at the IAAF World Championships in Athletics, Daegu, South Korea, and one of the events to take centrestage will be the women's 100 metres.

Here, the United States duo of Carmelita Jeter and Marshevet Myers will be hoping to upstage the trio of Jamaicans, led by defending champion, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, former champion Veronica Campbell-Brown and 2009 silver medallist, Kerron Stewart.

All five athletes along with Trinidad and Tobago's Kellyann Baptiste, have gone sub-10 seconds this season and will certainly split the medals on offer among themselves.

Jeter will undoubtedly carry the tag as favourite, as she has been the most outstanding female sprinter so far this season, with a season best and world leading 10.70 seconds done in Eugene, Oregan, in April.
    Despite her dominance on the circuit, the big question will be, can Jeter break her major championships jinx and go all the way?

Being world leader is nothing new for the American as she has carried that tag since 2009 where after posting times of 10.64 and 10.67 seconds, she could only manage third in Berlin behind Jamaica's Fraser-Pryce and Stewart. Last year, she was also the world leader in the event with 10.78 seconds.

Jeter, whose only lost in the 100 metres this season came at the hands of Campbell-Brown, has never beaten the Jamaican at a major championships, with her latest defeat coming at the Doha World Indoor Championships in the 60 metres last year.

With a season best of 10.76 seconds done in Ostrava, Campbell-Brown has been in good form this season and has shown rapid improvement with her start. After missing the 100 metres in Berlin two years ago after finishing fourth at the Jamaican trials, she will be hoping to regain her title in the event.

Injury concerns
    After a low-keyed season so far, defending champion, Fraser-Pryce has not looked in the best of form, as her return to competition following a four-months ban last season has been derailed somewhat with injury concerns.

After coming to stardom at the Beijing Olympics in 2008, where she surprised all in taking the top prize, she took that same form to Berlin two years ago, with a super victory.

Known as the 'pocket rocket' because of her small stature and bullet-like start, she will have to be caught once again. With a season best of 10.95 seconds and some two weeks to go, and extra work over the period, the big-meet performer could be in top form at the right time.

Stewart has not looked as sharp this year and will be under pressure to maintain her second-place finish two years ago, as Myers and Baptiste seem to have the edge over her going into Daegu. However, with a season best of 10.87 seconds, she could show vast improvement at the Championships and finish well when it matters most.
    Last edited by Karl; August 15, 2011, 10:18 PM.

i stopped at 7 ......

Re: How many mistakes can you find in this article

I just saw your post a minute ago, Sickko .

Regarding your question, I first saw the numerous (in some cases amazing) errors while reading this sports story in The Daily Gleaner yesterday. The most obvious ones are as follows:

1. “All five athletes along with Trinidad and Tobago's Kellyann Baptiste, have gone sub-10 seconds this season and will certainly split the medals on offer among themselves.”
      Sub-10 (lol)!!!!!!!??

2. “Jeter, whose only…. has never beaten the Jamaican at a major championships.”
      Not true! Jeter placed third at the 2009 IAAF World Championships, while Campbell-Brown placed fourth.

3. “After missing the 100 metres in Berlin two years ago after finishing fourth at the Jamaican trials, she will be hoping to regain her title in the event.”
      Veronica Campbell-Brown did NOT “miss” the 100-meter dash in Berlin!! She was the defending champion (which is why there were four Jamaicans in the finals). Veronica placed fourth behind Shelly-Ann, Kerron and Carmelita. The writer is confusing the 2008 Olympic Games (where Veronica did not make the 100-meter team) with the 2009 Berlin World Championships.

4. “Jeter, whose only lost in the 100 metres this season….” The correct spelling is “loss”!

5. “Oregan”? Oregon!!

6. “Centrestage” should be separate words (“centre stage”).

7. Kellyann Baptiste’s first name should be spelt Kelly-Ann.

8. Four-months represents an incorrect use of the dash. It’s either four-month or four months. (By the way, was the ban for four months or six months?)

9. The “led by” in the second sentence is unnecessary.

I am not blaming KC the writer really, after all he is not really a journalist and we cant even call him an unlettered scribe but where are the editors?

No wonder they call it the Daily Misleader

The Writer Is Also To Be Blamed!

I am not blaming KC the writer really, after all he is not really a journalist and we cant even call him an unlettered scribe but where are the editors?
          Sickko, I understand what you are saying about the copy editor, but I can only agree in part. While the relevant editor is certainly partly to blame (a copy editor’s functions include, among other things, fact checking), the writer of this particular sports story certainly has to take the blame for some of the mistakes!

Spelling and grammar errors aside, what excuse does one of our most prominent coaches have for making -- and not spotting before submitting his story -- the following errors of fact:

“All five athletes along with Trinidad and Tobago's Kellyann Baptiste, have gone sub-10 seconds this season.”

“Jeter, whose only lost in the 100 metres this season came at the hands of Campbell-Brown, has never beaten the Jamaican at a major championships.”

After missing the 100 metres in Berlin two years ago after finishing fourth at the Jamaican trials, she will be hoping to regain her title in the event.”

He he he...you are right on all counts...

I supported(Computer Tech) two news wire services, I know the reporter article goes to the Copy Editor, and the Editor may also view it, but it's Jamaica, things nuh run suh.

Historian, I have ask the question in the Rum bar cross suh, many times, and they all seem to stagger, even yuh know who(field slave), any how I am going to emancipate him by not asking the Copy Editor question again.