Whispering Death

• Whispering Death

It began intimidatingly far away. He turned, and began the most elegant long-striding run of them all, feet kissing the turf silently, his head turning gently and ever so slightly from side to side, rhythmically, like that of a cobra hypnotising its prey. Good batsmen tended not to watch him all the way lest they became mesmerised.

To the umpires he was malevolent stealth personified; so they christened him Whispering Death. No-one in the game has bowled faster. His over to Geoff Boycott in the cauldron of Kensington Oval early in 1981 has gone down in history as the finest, fastest, most ferocious gambit of all time. Five years earlier, towards the end of the drought-ridden summer of 1976, The Oval had become a wasteland, parched beyond recognition, with slow flat heart-breaking pitches, and it was on this, in the final Test of the season, through the simple device of bowling ramrod-straight at high pace and to a full length, that he conjured 14 wickets for 149, the finest match figures ever by a West Indian.
    Author:Mike Selvey
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I want to say Collymoore but the dates are not jiving..

you get 3 tries ... you have 2 more. who dat yuh seh ...mervyn dillon? ONE more...

Dillon ! could not remember him name.. he was my first guess..

His run up strike terror in the hearts..

of his teammates?!!

bettah yuh dan mi..

lol !

Kirk Edwards is writing a new chapter in his current spell against India

Holding

Ah who dem ah talk bout? Malcolm Marshall?
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Damn!!! Prose like this gives you goose bumps on top of your goose bumps....and make you drool

"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I figured as much although I said Marshall.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well the book was about Michael Holding so Duhh? My elder KC Bredrins tell me say even in practice him nevah play ease up. Also feared amongst his teammates with good reason. Nuff sunlight 'star' batsman get brush.

is that short for prozac? the effects seem similar!

ah wondah if Holding know seh man a drool ovah him...