Decided to watch an old World Cup Cricket match...

• Decided to watch an old World Cup Cricket match...

It just showed me how long I have been turned off Windies Cricket.

Did not even remember that Phil Simmons was picked as a bowler and started batting just above the fast bowlers. Right above Mervyn Dillion.

...and that we were being bowled out for 110 by the Aussie's at Old Trafford in 1984. ...and we had an opening bat named Ridley Josephs (Never even remembered him)...he carried his bat.
    Last edited by Karl; July 6, 2011, 12:34 AM.

could not be '84 .... mervyn dillon was not playing then. maybe '94 and the batsman was ridley jacob

or jacobs?

Karl, He was definitely not an opening batsman for the WI; he was the wicketkeeper and batted usually at number 7. Did a pretty good job with both glove and bat.

Antiguan if I'm not mistaken.

An "old" stalwart on present day technology in cricket. Outspoken as always.

Yu si how di woman a watch him? Gwaan yute! LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9uvdpv326A4

another sound bite.
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ONXZJ...eature=related

jacobs and antiguan are both correct ... his nephew worked with me for a while...

Ridley did open the batting a few times. The team was rotating Philo Wallace, Sherwin Campbell, Stuart Williams, Samuels, Campbell and many more.

In Tests he would bat 7 but he opened in the ODIs now and then.

and he was NOT playing in 1984!

Dujon did have that position lock down dem time deh.

He was the backup wicketkeeper for many years before he got a game though,wasn't he?

could not be '84 .... mervyn dillon was not playing then. maybe '94 and the batsman was ridley jacob
                      Perhaps you are correct...but the tape has fallen apart...and I will have to try to remember my 'tape tech' skills. So far I am not hopeful...

...anyway I turned to a discussion on JBC chaired by Hugh Crosskill - with Maurice Foster, Allan Rae, Tony Becca (Wow...Sports Editor of the Daily News. 'memba dat?) and Patrick Terrelonge (Spelling???) on the Regal Cricket tour.

18 January 1983 broadcast....and after watching and attempting to rewind that tape has also fallen apart.
                      This one I have to fix...

no perhaps in that!

Patrick Terrelonge was my big boss back in the day. An IT pioneer in Jamaica and also a major cricket enthusiast. What was the Regal Cricket tour?

One story i remember hearing was that while he (Terrelonge) was talking cricket with friends one night during the Packer era, he decided to find out if Kerry Packer would be interested in taking World Series cricket to the West Indies. Packer took his call and eventually World Series cricket did make it to the Caribbean.

Karl, Time to transfer that tape to DVD. As long as the tape itself is not crushed, crinkled or otherwise damaged, transfer the spools to a more robust shell; all you need is a screwdriver and an old VHS tape (don't tell me is Betamax ) that you don't need. I have done it and used an old movie of my kids...my VCR no longer works and it doesn't make sense to fix it... anyway, once transferred get it to somewhere/body who can do the change to DVD.

VCR?? Word is Karl ah use one Bell & Howell reel to reel sintin... state of the art back in di day