CARICOM to intervene in Gayle-WIBC impasse....

• CARICOM to intervene in Gayle-WIBC impasse....

...just got the headlines...waiting for the story...

Caricom to intervene in Gayle-WICB dispute

IANS
    Posted on Jul 04, 2011 at 01:38pm IST

More on
    Chris Gayle

Teams in this story
    West Indies

St. Kitts: Caricom (Caribbean Community) heads of government will accede to former West Indies captain Chris Gayle's request to intervene in the festering dispute between him and the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), it was announced here.
    New Caricom chairman Denzil Douglas, the prime minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, said it had been deciced to revive the Prime Ministerial Sub-committee on Cricket to try and broker a deal between Gayle and the WICB.

"Today we had to take certain decisions with regards to the impasse that seems to be ongoing between the regional players association and the WICB," Douglas told the CMC Sports Wire on Sunday in an interview on the final day of the Caricom Summit.
    "We believe that West Indies cricket has not been one of the vehicles of which the Caribbean man today can be proud of moving himself upwards."
    He added: "We have had some serious challenges. In fact, we have had to reactivate the Prime Ministerial Sub-committee on Cricket in order to see if we could understand the differences between the two parties, and how we can advance a true cause for West Indies cricket."
    The decision came on the heels of Guyanese President Bharat Jagdeo calling on his counterparts to grant Gayle his request.
    Gayle released a statement on Friday lamenting his continued exclusion from the West Indies team.
    The left-handed opener said the situation warranted the intervention of the regional heads of government.
    Gayle's signal to Caricom comes after a meeting with top WICB officials in Jamaica last month failed to resolve the standoff.
    A subsequent WICB directors meeting also failed to find a solution, with the Board stating only that its management "will continue efforts to resolve the issues with Mr. Gayle".

Well its certainly a victory for Gayle. Lets hope some good can come from it.

Well there is no doubt where the Guyanese president is on this issue.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

CARICOM's announcement follows Guyana president Bharrat Jagdeo's scathing criticism of the board. "It comes back to who owns West Indian cricket," Jagdeo said. "The board thinks it owns West Indian cricket, my belief is that it belongs to all of us, the people of this region.

"[In] many countries, when you have failures consistently, the board goes because sometimes it is the problem. Here it does not seem as if this is going to happen.

"Gayle is being treated unfairly by the WICB. You can't not tell him anything; he needs to earn too, and then you have a tour coming and when he goes off, he gets another contract then you're concerned that he has left the region."

Jagdeo also claimed the board was following its own agenda against some of the players, and was highly critical of coach Ottis Gibson's interference with senior cricketers.

"This can't be right. Something is wrong. It is all about pettiness and the culture of going with people who are compliant and I think we need to change a lot of these people. We need to have term limits there too. We need to have serious term limits on these boards."

Dyam right Miss Jagdeo!

a victory for gayle, eh? well a now di board a guh struggle an' fight

How so?

Gayle was poised before...now he has no plausible deniability.

He will have to compromise and serve the Windies.

As it is now, he can say he tried and go run off go mek a "bagamoney"!

I believe he really wants to play for the West Indies again. Maybe not Tests but certainly the shorter forms of the game.

I don't think he would have gone through all of this headache otherwise.

don't under estimate his desire to give it to the board! he wants back in without apologising and they don't want him back unless he apologises.

will both apologise to each other? dunno .... but right now, that is the best solution.