Tilla, Jamaica and Cricket

• Tilla, Jamaica and Cricket

Should Jamaica Go it Alone in Test Cricket?

we should but we cannot!

it is like the CCJ, good in principle but we have not demonstrated that we can handle it properly.

I guess you are pointing out the administrative shortcomings? as I think more young cricketers would develop as they would be seen light at the end of the tunnel.

how well are they doing at the moment with that job of developing young cricketers?

furthermore, windies is suffering because of poor administrative policies. We were world beaters in spite of the WICBC as it then was.

what yuh seh,

a good idea in practice
          but it will never work in principle!
          lol

not now! if you have a child that behaves irresponsibly, don't you have to see something in that child to give him/her e.g. your car to drive?

but your child is an expert driver, and can drive better than you ever could...
              to complete your analogy. This is how some view it, and what you see as misbehaviour is normal youthful abandon.

I see zero evidence that the JCA is any more competent than the WICB. Absolutely none. The handling of the Yagga Rowe recognition is but the most recent example.

When Rousseau and the Jamaican contingent was running the show at the WICB it was just as bad as it is today if not worse.

All of that is not to argue that we should or shouldn't leave the Windies, but as usual we have an overinflated opinion of ourselves with little susbstance to back it up.
                Last edited by Islandman; July 4, 2011, 04:38 PM.

Speaking of Rousseau , here is his take on the topic. Dehring and others are more open to the idea apparently. Personally I think I am more where Dehring is.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
                  Just a lot of talk, says Rousseau
                  Published: Saturday | March 13, 2010

Patrick Rousseau, former president of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), believes that talk of a separation of individual islands from the WICB is just that - talk.

According to Rousseau, such a move would require that islands have an infrastructure to administer and produce high-quality cricketers, something which, he believes, if the West Indies cannot do no individual territory can.

"I don't see any of the islands having the infrastructure in place to sustain going it alone. To perform at the highest level, a country needs to have proper facilities, leagues, coaches, etc, to keep producing players of a certain quality on a consistent basis," said Rousseau.

"At present, neither the West Indies, much less individual islands, have these," he added.

Suggestions of individual islands going it alone have been making the rounds ever since Trinidad and Tobago made it to the final of the Twenty20 Champions League in India last year, and Jamaica's recent dominance of regional cricket where, over the past three years, they were crowned four-day champions.

Come together

Trinidad's captain Daren Ganga, after the Champions League, said that if all stakeholders of West Indies cricket did not come together to protect the game in the region, individual islands may "inevitably" go their separate ways.

Chris Dehring, who was managing director and CEO of the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup, while not calling for a separation, said the West Indies' current problems, along with the advent of Twenty20 cricket, could result in islands going their separate ways in the future.

"I think the Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA) should always keep one eye on the possibility," said Dehring in response to JCA president Paul Campbell's announcement that Jamaica would forever remain a member of the WICB.

Campbell and Dehring made their pronouncements in two Gleaner exclusives.

"We love West Indies cricket and want it to survive for historical reasons, but at the same time all administrators need to keep looking for opportunities and trends," continued Dehring.

"If you are thinking in a 15 years onwards time frame, there is every reason to believe individual countries within the Caribbean could be able to compete internationally at Twenty20 cricket on their own," he added.

But according to Rousseau, he is not in support of separation, now or in the future.

"A programme of separation like that would probably cost about US$2 million or $3 million a year, which is roughly what the Jamaica Football Federation needs to run football. And if football can't get it, how is cricket going to?" Rousseau asked.

"I think we are fooling ourselves because of the Twenty20 success of Trinidad and Tobago, and the big money that is involved in Twenty20 in the IPL.

"What if Trinidad was to get to the next Champions League tournament and get kicked out in the first round, would everybody be saying what they are saying now?" he continued.

"If we were to separate the West Indies would lose its Test status, individual islands would eventually be humiliated, and we would gain nothing," he concluded.

but aren't we currently separate in T20? if not how is it that T&T was at the T20 champion's league?

not misbehaviour .... "irresponsibility" .... there is a difference.

For the Champion's league the islands are essentially considered to be club sides. It is a club competition and not one for national sides.

As it is it looks like T&T (and whoever qualifies from the Caribbean T20 competition)will no longer get into the final rounds but will now have to further qualify through a playoff against some other teams.
                        http://guardian.co.tt/node/16268

point made. thank you!

Sorry, granted there is a difference. Substitute "irresponsibility"... some see that as youthful abandon.

they are welcome to see it that way and to deal with it accordingly, to me there is youthful abandon and that does not have to be irresponsible ..... but a suh!