• If Caricom was good for anything

Shedding tears for Chris Gayle

Published: Monday | July 4, 2011 0 Comments

THE EDITOR, Sir: I must confess that I was virtually reduced to tears when I read Chris Gayle's letter, breaking his silence on the way he is being treated by the West Indies Cricket Board. My tears are symbolic and expressive of the kind of passion awakened in the hearts of true-blooded West Indians by our brand of cricket.

Chris spoke his heart and even called names. I feel deep hurt and pain for one who, for the last decade, has thrilled fans all over the world with his powerful and masterful hitting of the cricket ball in all forms of the game.

While he may be hurting from the bad treatment he has received, I honestly believe Chris must take responsibility for some of his irrational on- and off-the-field behaviours. However, Chris would not have been the first to be declared guilty of such.

Who is the don?

We remember people like the great Sir Viv, whose dissension to being given out by Steve Bucknor at Sabina Park sparked the throwing of missiles at the umpire by fans. It was only when Viv himself came on to the field and waved to the fans to stop that they actually did. This same behaviour typified the power and influence of Donald 'Zekes' Phipps. Well, tell me who is the don.

Talk about Brian Charles Lara and his misbehaviour. Suffice it to say, now is not the time to be casting stones and calling names. It's time for the CARICOM heads of government to intervene. Get Chris Gayle back in the team for the next Test match.

This will be the test of the real relevance of the concepts of CARICOM. I did say, some time ago, that West Indies cricket needs a rude awakening. The time is ripe and right.
    DAVE A. MCFARLANE
    nerdav@anngel.com.jm
    Denham Farm, Manchester
    Last edited by Karl; July 4, 2011, 06:10 PM.

why would Caricom want to interviene into a player's selection problem?
    They shouldn't be in the Cricket politcs anyway. ICC asking for government to get outa Cricket within the next two year.

Question: Because the man a di best opener him must be selected?

I hope they work it out still but Chris is just like any other cricketer, they don't have to use his service.

Sometimes it look like we nuh like fix things and move on, is like we just like keep having the same arguments over and over again.

Gayle will not be back in the WI team for a while, if ever. The Board has made a statement in response to Gayle's latest and longest statement on the ongoing impasse. They basically have said that by going public (again) , he is disrespecting the Board, and that they cannot tolerate (my words).

They see it as an attack (which it also is) on them and so, there is no way that Gayle would ever be considered for the next test. They already named the squad anyway, so that is a done deal.

If Gayle really wants back into the squad he will now have to give the Board "something". What that can now possibly be is the challenge.

Because Messi is the best player in the world, Argentina must select him? Barca looking to bench him.

Pele was ignored for Brazil?

Windies is woeful at the momnt, but can afford to park its best opener?
          Pure buss ass fi di Worst Indies! LoL

So CARICOM a go tell them who to select? CARICOM might tell them one player from each island. LOL.

Gayle have to settle his thing with the man them. If you have your team you a go make one man mash it up? Discipline for All. What you say? behavior nuh matter as long as you good?

Remember when Jamaica had Danny Germs, Peas Head Mattis, Chang, Rowe and the whole a dem man deh and couldn't win nothing but then them couldn't play again and them went fi youngsters who won Shell Shield?

Caricom can push out Beckles and his biased cronies.

Who wants them anyway? How such reprehensibles come to rep us.

Jamaica should leave the Worst Indies.

question is what role does Gayle behavior play into this? I have no doubt that maybe it need changes but Gayle have been uttering a lot of nothing for long time too.

Didn't he at one time say he wasn't interested in the long game again.

Not exactly what he said. here is the quote from the UK Guardian.

"I wouldn't be so sad," says Gayle when asked how he would feel if Test cricket were to die out. He prefers Twenty20 over the traditional game. About the captaincy he is similarly blase. "To be honest with you, there's a possibility I might give it up – I will be giving it up, shortly."
                  http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2009...y-test-cricket

He was responding to a specific question, i.e. how he would feel if test cricket were to die out... he did not come out and make a statement that he did not like Test cricket. Gayle gave an honest answer to a hypothetical question... and people blew it all out of proportion.

dave easy fi cry??!!!

ah chue...mandatory camp or no mandatory camp ....

Jamaica should leave the Worst Indies.
                          sigh! you'll soon come around and appreciate Omar too.

he keeps making it more difficult for himself. his latest is basically a PR campaign for him agaisnt them. bad move in my opinion. it is making more and more difficult. at a point they could have claimed "miscommunication" one to another but as time goes by and every digs their heels in, that avenue for resolution has become pretty much impassable!

oh i appreciate him already

norman was a creator, omar was the perfect destroyer!