Quite suh sah, him ah dem bes batsman perioid an dem ah force him out. Sump'n inna sumpn yes. Well him nah nuh time fi siddung ah wait fi dem man haffi mek him dollahs suh dem can stay deh.
The Chris Gayle statement
As my Indian friends tell me (Chris Gayle ) Is the man in India , whatever he made last season he will easily double the next season.
W.I cricket is an embarrasement , the indians MD keep asking what is going on , why do they kill our talent ?
We should take a leaf out of the Indian Cricket board, where the policy is make the players make money and you make cricket.Everyone wins, it seems to be a colonial mindset where professionalism is rejected and frowned upon with excuses of national pride.
Wi nuh ave a clue, all the IPL franchises are owned by Indian bollywood stars and Billionares.
Wi good at shooting ourselves in the foot.I am glad Gayle spoke up , now leave them alone to sort themselves out.
The IPL is going to destroy the WICB ,not W.I cricket , everytime a young star comes up and the WICB a sheg demselves remember we have alternates , the 800 billion pound gorillia is in the room and not afraid to throw its weight around, ask Australia.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
when will we make the bold decision to leave the west indies alone... i know it's a tough sell to the purists but the direction that cricket is going and the way this wibc is operating tells me that there is no future for west indies cricket... the glory days are gone never to return...
the group tha is running running cricket appears to have a personal bias against these group of players who are making money... they cannot talk down to them because these new crop has leverage... real financial leverage with options and they resent the players... so, to hurt the players they discard them and disparage them in the media... erode their character and hope the people turn on them...
this wibc should be made to resign... the wipa should refuse to play another match until this matter with chris gayle is sorted out... after chris gayle, who next...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Thats the route its heading to , Gayle is the 1st in many , I figured Gayle suggested the obvious and they(WICB) didnt like it hence the label DON and the idiotic cause to root out.
The truth is any talent out of the carribbean will be swayed to IPL and its millions and the WICB will be a broken frail entity wailing against dons.Gayle suggested the WICB change its format to suit the IPL and schedule.
Its the obvious route , the 800b gorillia has spoken and no doubt the Indian Chiefs have made said statements to the WICB.It kills them that no stanford offer is on the table for them from the IPL.
Gayle/Francis represents all whats wrong with a carribbean mindset as it pertains to professional sports , they dont understand the more money that flows into a sport , the more the community by extension the nation/region gets out of it, it could be the individual or the team.Especially as it pertains to individual sports.
WICB GET OUT OF THE MANS WAY ! OR SHOULD I SAY DON...lol are you going to offer them $50k to a $1million bucks for 6 weeks of work .THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Of special note is India is the # 1 & 2 in ODI and #1 in test cricket,that IPL money had alot to do with it , as the indians tell me every kid wants to be a millionare and play for India.Last edited by Sir X; July 2, 2011, 09:09 PM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
wasn't there a report that he said he was not aware of the extent of the exploits of the all conquering windies team after watching "fire in babylon"?
if that is true then in no way can h be considered "a student of the game"!!
BASSETERRE, St Kitts (CMC) — Guyana's President backs Gayle
Jagdeo backs Gayle, wants term limit for Board
Monday, July 04, 2011
BASSETERRE, St Kitts (CMC) — Guyana's President Bharrat Jagdeo said Saturday CARICOM governments should heed the call from embattled West Indies opener Chris Gayle, and intervene in the impasse between him and the West Indies Cricket Board.
He also called for term limits for WICB boards and said there needed to be a system that held them accountable.
JAGDEO... the WICB operates as though they are the private owners of West Indian cricket
"It comes back to who owns West Indian cricket. The Board thinks it owns West Indian cricket, my belief is that it belongs to all of us, the people of this region," Jagdeo told a news conference.
He said the WICB operates as though they are the "private owners of West Indian cricket" and are helping to contribute to its demise.
"Many countries when you have failures consistently, the board goes because sometimes they are the problem. Here it does not seem as this is going to happen," he added.
Gayle released a statement on Friday lamenting his continued exclusion from the West Indies squad. The 31-year-old former West Indies captain said the situation warranted the intervention of regional Heads of Government.
"I appeal to the Heads of Government of CARICOM to do something about this situation. West Indies Cricket is different from the West Indies Cricket Board," he charged.
"West Indies cricket and West Indies cricketers need help. Since you are the people who represent the fans and all the other stakeholders, it is time for you to act."
Gayle's signal to CARICOM comes after a meeting with top WICB officials in Jamaica last month failed to resolve the stand-off.
A subsequent WICB directors meeting also failed to find a solution, with the Board stating only that its management "will continue efforts to resolve the issues with Mr Gayle".
"I think they should, I think the Caribbean Heads of Government should get involved," said Jagdeo, who earlier this year, publicly demonstrated with West Indies middle order batsman, Shivnarine Chanderpaul in his dispute with the West Indies coach Ottis Gibson.
Jagdeo said what irked him most was "the unpredictability of this board".
"Chris Gayle is being treated unfairly by the West Indies Cricket Board. You can't not tell him anything, he needs to earn too, and then you have a tour upcoming and when he goes off, he gets another contract then you are concerned that he has left the region.
"I think it is a vendetta against those guys who stood out, (Ramnaresh) Sarwan, Chris Gayle and a few others who held out with WIPA (West Indies Players Association) some time ago when they asked us to get involve at the level of heads.
"They (WICB) have decided to humble them," Jagdeo said.
He also hit out at head coach Ottis Gibson who has been criticised by both Gayle and Chanderpaul in recent weeks.
"I am blunt about it, (Gibson) who played I think two test matches [is] telling Shivnarine Chanderpaul how he should bat," he charged.
Jagdeo said his position on the issue had nothing to do with the fact that Chanderpaul was a Guyanese national, but solely on the fact that he was regarded as one of the best batsmen in the world.
"Shivnarine Chanderpaul has the second highest runs in the West Indies ever after Brian Lara and you would have someone who probably have five runs... coaching a person who at this stage of his career to change his batting style and when he speaks out about it... I have this suspicion they are trying to break him."
"This can't be right. Something is wrong. It is all about pettiness and the culture of going with people who are compliant and I think we need to change a lot of these people. We need to have term limits there too," Jagdeo said in apparent reference to the Guyana Constitution that bars him from being elected for a third consecutive term.
"We need to have serious term limits on these boards," he added.
No automatic reinstatement for Gayle, says WICB
Monday, July 04, 2011
The WICB was responding to Gayle's long, emotional statement on Friday, when he termed efforts by the WICB to reconcile with him as "a sham and a mockery", and appealed to CARICOM leaders to intervene.
ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC) — West Indies Cricket Board officials said yesterday that they will continue their efforts to meet and resolve all outstanding issues with Chris Gayle.
But they were not prepared to accept Gayle's "continued unprofessionalism" in dealing with outstanding issues between them.
"It does not help that whilst matters are under discussion, Mr Gayle, rather than expressing his views directly to the Board through one of the numerous channels open to him, chooses instead to make public his version of events and to create further antagonism," stated a WICB media release.
"The WICB reiterates its stated position, that there is a history of difficulty in communicating with and relating to Mr Gayle and wishes to bring this matter to a resolution.
"But from his latest statement, and his expressed views in the meetings with the WICB, it would appear as though he is of the unshakeable view that he has conducted himself impeccably."
The regional governing body insisted, however, that Gayle's recent conduct cannot simply be swept under the carpet.
"As previously communicated to Mr Gayle, the WICB wishes to ensure that (his) services remain available to West Indies cricket, but not at any cost, and not on his inflexible, take-it-or-leave it terms," stated the WICB media release.
"There must be mutual respect, and a commitment to put West Indies cricket first. The WICB has written to Gayle making it clear that it is willing to seek a compromise resolution. Gayle's position is that he has nothing to account for, and expects to be automatically reinstated to the West Indies team whenever he decides that he is available."
West Indies head coach Ottis Gibson said last Friday that Gayle was well aware of the requirements for him to be recalled to the side, a view confirmed by the WICB.
"Even though at a follow-up meeting between Mr Gayle and the team management, the head coach indicated what was required to assist in his return to the West Indies team," stated the WICB media release.
"Gayle has refused and has demonstrated no inclination to compromise; instead, he has been antagonistic and unrepentant in the entire process."
The dispute between Gayle and the WICB escalated following his controversial interview with a radio station in his native Jamaica last April in which he heavily criticised the governing body.