as good as a century according to Gavaskar. Under the circumstances he rated the knock highly...
Marlon Samuels 78 n.o.
He is one of those that make you shake your head and say if only........
He could have been one of the great ones, I don't know if the system failed him or he failed himself or both."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I heard a short interview with Dujon and him this AM... Samuels says he has been watching English cricket to see how to play the swinging ball... he said he realized he had to play as late as possible, he also said that this is the new Marlon Samuels and his goal is to be the number one batsman in the world... he also spoke about his mentor but did not attach a name..hmmm Anyway, he said he was disappointed to not have played in JA but that that disappointment had given him more incentive to do well in B;dos his "second home". Short but sweet interview.
I hope his deeds can follow his words.Peter R
let's see if the selectors will drop him again... they did drop him after his last 55... i mean this is 78 not out... if we are to follow the selectors trend we shouldn't expect to see him in the next test...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
and value gavaskar opinion highly... marlon is the classy traditional batsman who can apply himself to the long version knowing that it is about time at the crease and not scoring rate... he can also go at it in the short version where the opposite is the requirement... with his new found maturity, discipline and his talent, he can achieve any goal he sets for himself in cricket...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Baddaz and you all , if you know what I know, the indians are coming for him...IPL....they value our dedd and leff more than us or dutty wata...Sammy ave 4 years left, fi mek a money WICB ,WICB better not screw this.The 800billion gorillia is in the room.
He failed himself....lol..next year yuh aguh bawl im is a next Don.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
250 k for 6 weeks work and thats just australia estimated 40% less than his IPL salary.
http://newspapers.newscred.com/chris...salary?type=ht
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/...-1226080266595THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Exile,
What yu talking about?
The WIBC are effing aroeund with Marlon Samuels. He played ONE test against Pakistan and made 57 and 6 and ONE Test so far v India with 78 n.o and 9... That's not too bad if you ask me all things considered. If it were not for the 78 n.o. we weould have in all likelihood lost this Test. The West Indies batting in general has been inconsistent except for him and now we might have to add Darren Bravo
Samuels should have been playing in EVERY test. The Board, then we could reallly jusdge his consistency , but when they only give him a one test here and a one test there it isn't easy.Peter R
The Board has correctly stuck with Simmons and Bravo who have both been given a full run in the home series v Pakistan and India. They should have done the same with Samuels. Two fifties in four innings if extrapolated is fairly consistent, though not stellar.Peter R
When he finds form , gets a contract to india for a 50 k and does well , to be offered another one for 10 times that amount , then you will see the label JAMAICAN DON, no doubt the WICB will tell him to sign a $10000 retainer fee for a year to run through the money making IPL season and he will weigh the offers and make the DONS choice.
Then you will hear the same song and dance about unpatriotic , if Sammy ever says he prefers IPL or 20/20 over test cricket you can be sure it will be twisted to mean he does not care about W.I cricket , when in truth its the WICB.
MEK di man dem mek money and yuh mek more and better cricketers , wasnt that what the WICB did when the english leagues were KING , didnt our cricket and cricketers prosper then ?THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!