Perspective: Anneisha McLaughlin and Simone Facey

• Perspective: Anneisha McLaughlin and Simone Facey

Stonigut, as promised, here are some personal comments that I decided to write after reading your logical viewpoints in your recent post, “National Trials.” I completed and posted this commentary of mine yesterday on the Caribbean Track and Field Forum, which has a much larger readership of diehard track and field fans.

Originally posted by Stonigut
    Seems we have a real falloff in the performances of the women after the usual performers Kerron, VCB and Simpson even though Simpson did not perform so well. Was not as impressed as everyone else at Jura Levy as bottom line the time is right where the second tier seems to top out at 11.1 and high 22's and 23 on the 2; and with what seems like a wealth of talent between McLaughlin, Levy, Bailey, Calvert and Facey just don't seem to be stepping up to the next level, Facey especially who i remember back in NCAA's was runmning 10.9's and now can't seem to get back to that level.

After reading your very relevant comments, and after balancing these with the numerous accolades given to young sprint sensation Jura Levy on the athletics discussion board next door (The Caribbean Track and Field Forum) and in the press, my mind kept going back to similar promising young sprinters and how history can be a cruel taskmaster. Metaphor aside, irony truly abounds in history.

And speaking of irony, it certainly is interesting that the results of the women’s 400-meter hurdles at the 2002 IAAF World Junior Championships were reversed -- in a curiously exact way -- seven years later at the 2009 IAAF World Championships. In 2002, Lashinda Demus won that event in a junior championships record time (54.70). Melaine Walker placed second (56.03).

Fast forward to 2009 and we see Melaine winning that event in a senior championships record time, and the second fastest time in history, while Demus came in second. (Note: the USA’s Tiffany Ross, who placed fourth back then, is still struggling to reach the podium today.)

I have long being fascinated by the fact that of the four extremely promising juniors who made up Jamaica’s 4x100-meter relay team that ran the second fastest girls’ sprint relay time in history (43.40 seconds, a junior championship record) at the 2002 IAAF World Junior Championships, the two who seemed MOST likely to have succeeded at the senior level are still struggling (despite both making the finals of the 200-meter race at the 2009 IAAF World Championships), while the two “lesser lights” in 2002 are the ones who have achieved sprinting success at the highest level!!

If you recall, that 2002 gold medal-winning team was comprised of Sherone Simpson (lead-off), Kerron Stewart (backstretch), Anneisha McLaughlin (curve), and Simone Facey (anchor). I still recall the overwhelming pride I felt at watching Facey walk around with the Jamaican flag at the end of that dominating performance!!

If I were a betting man back in 2002, I would have staked much of what I owned that Anneisha and Simone would have been the ones enjoying the greatest international success today. I certainly would not have given Sherone Simpson or Kerron Stewart the same opportunities. And I would have good reason at that time to be confident in placing my bet!

Back in 2002, Anneisha McLaughlin was the amazing teenager who set an Under-17 Carifta Games 200-meter record (23.03 seconds) in the semi-finals of the 2002 Carifta Games, and who a couple of months later almost won the IAAF World Junior Championships 200-meter gold medal, but was barely nipped at the line. Her future seemed the most promising of all Jamaica’s Under-20 athlete then.

In the case of Simone Facey, she was the one who placed second (11.43 seconds) behind the USA’s Lauryn Williams (11.33 seconds) at that IAAF World Junior Championships. Kerron ran a good race, but could only manage fourth place (11.53) behind the USA’s Marshevet Hooker (11.48).

Sherone Simpson, a talented athlete even back then, was nevertheless not in the finals of either the 100-meter or 200-meter races.

In one of those ironies that history is noted for, it is the two seemingly lesser athletes back then (certainly the least successful of the quartet), Sherone and Kerron, who have created waves on athletics’ biggest stage.

And so we see that Sherone became the fastest woman on the planet in 2006, and followed this up at the 2008 Olympic Games with a shining silver medal in the 100-meter dash. And even before that, she was the backstretch runner on her country’s 4x100-meter relay team who gave the great Marion Jones the race and scare of her life, and who 41.73 seconds later was celebrating, with her other three teammates, Jamaica’s first ever Olympic Games 4x100-meter gold medal.

In the case of the other “underdog” back in 2002, we see that Kerron today is boasting an Olympic Games 100-meter silver medal and 200-meter bronze medal (the 2008 olympic Games), and a gold medal as anchor on the 4x100-meter relay team at the 2009 IAAF World Championships!

Of course, I was elated by the fact that both Facey and Mclaughlin reached the finals of the 200-meter race at the 2009 IAAF World Championships, and that Facey won a gold medal as the lead-off runner on the 4x100-meter relay team at those championships. Nevertheless, she got her big moment there largely through default -- Veronica Campbell’s intransigence.

In 2011, it is hard to hide the fact that both Simone Facey and Anneisha Mclaughlin, for whatever reasons, have been unable to sustain their early promise.

On a side note: Three members of the USA 4X100-meter relay team at the 2002 IAAF World Junior Championships -- Lauryn Williams (lead-off), Shalonda Solomon (curve) and Marshevet Hooker (anchor) -- are still active today (although Lauryn seems to be approaching the end of her career).

speaking of ironies... i not too long requested in the bill johnson thread that you put this piece here...

historian, i am a huge fan of annie mac... like many, i thought she would have been the one starring in the sprints based on her youth performances, as you've nicely chronicled...

to the point of our youth athletes going abroad... annie mac is an example where foreign did not help... the good thing is franno rescued what was left of her and is building her back from the basement... he made her into a wc finalist but there is more to come from her... i think franno is targeting london 2012 for annie mac... after that she should soar to the following wc... i rate franno like that... notwithstanding, mills is no less than franno as coaches...

Historian, thanks for the overview, that's fantastic. All this time I was thinking I am a real track and field guru, only to find out that I am the base camp guru and you are the real K2 guru, fascinating stuff. I try to follow every bit of news out of Jamaica but I just have not been as good at the youth levels so your post really opened my eys to how these ladies have developed over the past 8-10 years, i did not even realize that many of them such as Kerron and Simpson were on the same youth side with Facey and Annie etc. Very interesting!!!

VCB's intransi-what? As you said it was your opinion...but that is not what I will addres, I have watched sports for a long time and then had the absolute privilege to cover it for the last 29 years or so and a long time ago I realised that people are ...just that people, flesh and blood and not machines and thus there are different levels of development.

Yeas ago I made the same comments here and for example I looked back on my first form class mates and who were the sports 'studs' then then fast forwarded to fifth form and the story was different for various reasons.

When Anni-Mac left Holmwood i recall having a discussion with my very good friend Maurice Wilson her coach and I asked if she would be his first athlete to break out at the senior level and he told me honestly that he thought she had topped out as far as talent were concerned.

I was shocked and when she made the finals in the 200m in Berlin I thought he had misjudged but that is still to be seen as there is relative youth but not too much time if you get my drift.

Simone is an enigma and I dare say has made bad professional and business decisions and we are seeing the results...after a decent college career where she won a NCAA title she raced sparngly her senior season as she was concentrating on completing her degree which in my mind was the thing to do then she made a series of decisions whih to be honest are mond boggling

First she fired her agent and then changed coaches and then she is now been handled by a great guy but an unproved coach- Neville Myton who as I said is a great guy and who along with his wife are top ranked as far as mentoring high school student athlete but is not a coach, at least not at this level.

Look at Simone run and it pains your heart as she looks like she is just learning the sport- her only international exposure came in the third rated Brazilian circuit and even there she did not crack the top three, the only other places she ran were in Florida and here- any half decent agent/manager should be able to get her proper races.

She also has time on her side but she needs to make proper decisions and get a real coach

Annie Mac did not go to college overseas...she went to college but had no eligibility and only trained there

On the flip side we keep knocking foreign schools and Kerron benefitted tremendously from Essex and Aubrun as did Melaine from Essex and Texas and the list goes on...

"She also has time on her side but she needs to make proper decisions and get a real coach" This says it all, glad you unfold her short comings in T&F, the sooner the better if she wants to be in the Olympic squad.

Let me ask again, who a Ver's coach?
              A nuh time she make her husband take over?

I was teasing my friend, who's son run for the same camp in Atlanta that they were last year saying, "Yow your coach nuh good, see and Dexter a run better time since them left".

Is she that discipline to go all the way?

Danny McFarlane was the only real self coached athlete we had and even he would consult his coach from Oklahoma from time to time...but in time we will hear who VCB's coach is....

sickko, check your sources... my understanding was that annie mac got a scholarship to a us college... she got hurt and went back home... i am not saying she competed in ncaa meets but i know she went to college and got hurt...

in saying that, i was NOT debating or making a case for going to us college or staying home... there are merits to both instances... it all depends on the athletes' circumcstance and objectives...

however, check if annie mac went to a college in the us and come back with a clarification in the affirmative... one of us could be wrong...

Sources checked and confirmed she did not get any scholarship, she was in Auburn training and while she might have attended classes it was not on scholarship

ok... so we were both wrong to some degree... you said she did not attend college and i said i was of the understanding that she had gotten a scholarship... lol... in any event, it neither here nor there... she went to foreign and it did not help her...

again, i am not debating the merits of going to foreign or staying at home, since a case can be made for either option depending on the objectives of the athletes...

Claude Grant...everybody knows long time. LoL