• Francis makes a very compelling case ...DON 1 ,SICCKO & KARL

Some training camps needless, says Francis

BY DANIA BOGLE Observer staff reporter
    Wednesday, June 29, 2011

WORLD-RENOWNED coach Stephen Francis, who guides the star-studded MVP Track and Field Club based at the University of Technology (UTech), says athletes need their coaches ahead of a major championship.

Francis said he does not believe it is in the best interest of athletes to be away from their coaches in the weeks leading up to big events such as the Olympic Games or IAAF World Championships.

FRANCIS... compromise is the way it should go

"It is my opinion that at the time when the camp comes around, the most important thing for the athlete is to be with his or her coach." Francis argued.

"The camp cannot help anybody whose coach is not there," the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Level One Certified coach told the Observer.

Francis, who conditions global medallists Shelly Ann Fraser-Pryce, Brigitte Foster-Hylton, Melaine Walker, Asafa Powell, Shericka Williams and Sherone Simpson, said an athlete's career and earning potential in the immediate aftermath of a major event depends on how well they compete.

"People don't understand that when somebody goes out there to perform at the Olympic Games or the World Championships that their career is on the line. If they do well, then things will go well for them; if they do badly, for at least a year or two things are going to go badly for them," he said.

In the past, Francis had been at odds with the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA) about MVP athletes turning up for mandatory training camps ahead of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games and the 2009 World Championships in Berlin.

"I believe that as long as I'm able to do what I think is best to get good performances, I'm quite fine. I have a big problem when somebody says, 'no, do it my way', even when there is no good reason for you to do it their way, apart from the fact that they say it," he argues.

"My only problem with the JAAA is that they don't believe that my way is the best way to prepare my athletes. It boils down to that. Somebody in the JAAA believes on occasion that if my athletes are prepared their way, then they will do better, or they believe that it doesn't really matter how my athletes perform as long as they are prepared their way.
    "When I say 'no'... they can't give me any reason. All they really
    care about is the rules that they have and they say we must do it their way and it's in my opinion something which is always going to cause problems," Francis said.

The former Wolmer's Boys' coach noted that save for Usain Bolt, the athletes who were at the camps before the last Olympics and World Championships underperformed.

"It is a known fact, for those who have taken the time to study it, that the last three mandatory camps have been abysmal failures in terms of the results," he asserted.

He dismissed the argument that it is unpatriotic for the athletes to put self-serving interests above the needs of their country in an international championship.

"No. You are doing badly because elements of the Jamaican citizenry are putting up barriers in your way. I don't want to be training in front of the people I'm going to be competing against.

"The people in the Jamaican team are not my teammates; they're your competitors. In the 100, 200, 400, the people you have to beat to win are the very people in the camp," he reasoned.

And then there is also the human element.

"I need certain kinds of equipment that the Jamaican organisers have never seen it fit to provide. I need somewhere that is close enough to a city that the people when they are bored have something to do.

"I don't want them deciding to take out their frustrations on each other," he said. "My athletes can then say, 'yeah', or 'nay', but I think they understand that it's better for them not to compete than to compete and do badly based on their personal arrangements because if they compete and do badly, they're going to pay a heavy price," said Francis.

However, the veteran coach is not totally dismissive of the need for training camps as he admits collegiate based in the United States who make the team would benefit as they would not likely have access to their coaches in the summer.

"It's not necessary for the bulk of the professional athletes who are representing the country." he stated.

According to Francis, practice for relays can be done at a more convenient time, well before the championships, and athletes return to their coaches in time to prepare for the final days before the major events.

Francis declared that a common ground should, however, be found.
    "Compromise is the way it should go. There are a lot of athletes who are so afraid that they prefer to go down with the ship," he explained.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1Qkw9vrR6
    Last edited by Karl; June 30, 2011, 02:52 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tenk yuh Xcuse, yuh first me to this article. People/fans need to understand that T & F is not a team sport. Your very training partner is your enemy when you step on to that track. Yohan Blake wants to be the number 1 and will give his right nut to beat Bolt. This article gave some insight why Asafa and the MVP camp always pull out of meets or stop running mid-race - money (sponsorship) is on the line.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That tell you why Asafa stop mid race? LOL

I always said it was nonsense with conflicted interest running right through the seam,myopic thinking on jaaa part,multi million dollar contracts on the line and you hide behind protocol and national pride to justify nonsense.How can my competitors coach be the head coach of a team delegated to compete against each other and the world....through in the fact that a number of his athlethes got banned for taking stimulants.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

why me?

Nuh you dida fling big rock stone afta di man.....lol...well u an yuh company

My issue with the guy is his attitude not his opinions on technical matters which I am not even qualified to decide.

His attitude is one of total arrogance and is counterproductive

********! nuh dat dem tell mi bout miself all di wile

Why I Will Always Support Franno!!

My issue with the guy is his attitude not his opinions on technical matters which I am not even qualified to decide.

His attitude is one of total arrogance and is counterproductive
                I understand your point, Don1, but we shouldn’t allow Francis’ personality to cloud the fact that he is probably the single most visionary, successful and influential track and field coach in Jamaica’s history!

For decades we depended on the American college system and, in the process, we won an occasional medal in global meets (yeah, I know that one or two star athletes like Roxbert Martin trained in Jamaica, and so did Arthur Wint, if my memory is correct here). Sending virtually all of our talented youngsters abroad after high school did not provide the athletic returns the nation expected. For example, after the 1952 Olympic Games we did not win another Olympic gold medal until Quarrie’s in 1976, and then we had to wait another twenty years for Hemming’s win in 1996 at the Atlanta Olympic Games.

Francis took the vision of people like Dennis Johnson to the ultimate, and the result is the most successful track and field club in the history of the English-speaking Caribbean, MVP.

I’m sure I don’t have to list the number of medals won by MVP athletes in global meets in 2008 and 2009, nor the gender distribution.

So it is his athletes earning power that is paramount.

...OK! Very important.

...but should the national body be more concerned about the collective - country's performance?

...and would both at times conflict?

Certainly the aim must be that all the athletes, no exceptions, perform to at least expected optimum level...and hopefully give us the so-called 'super-human performances'. Right.

Then Francis is wrong for the national body it must always be country first...and all actions must be gear to fit within that 'country first' policy.

It must be for his athletes to make decisions where they can serve the 'country first' policy. At times that will dove-tail with his and their 'money-first' aims.

So it is his athletes earning power that is paramount.

...OK! Very important.

...but should the national body be more concerned about the collective - country's performance?

...and would both at times conflict?

Certainly the aim must be that all the athletes, no exceptions, perform to at least expected optimum level...and hopefully give us the so-called 'super-human performances'. Right.

Then Francis is wrong for the national body it must always be country first...and all actions must be gear to fit within that 'country first' policy.

It must be for his athletes to make decisions where they can serve the 'country first' policy. At times that will dove-tail with his and their 'money-first' aims.

Karl, to answer some of your questions, I borrowed two posts from "next door" that says it better than I could.

Lease this WebApp and get rid of the ads.
                    elmo
                    Re: WHAT IS THE GREATER GOOD
                    Thu Jun 30, 2011 03:21

-----------------
                    Mr Francis must learn to follow rules
                    ---------------

That statement in isolation does not do it for me. Following rules for rules sake makes no sense.

If the rules are detrimental to the performance of the athletes, then following the rules make no sense and should be changed, modified or thrown out.

I am glad you have made that distinction, and realise that one should ask "WHAT IS THE GREATER GOOD?" and act accordingly.

-------------
                    We must recognize that not all coaches want to expose their training methods to everyone, whether we care to believe it or not it is a business and everyone is competing to be the best.
                    --------------

Not sure how much of a factor that is, but their are certainly other factors why Pro coaches would opt to have their own camps. It very simple term, they would have full control of what happens in the camp.

1. They would equip the camp (or ensure the camp is equipped) with whatever they need for their training regimen.

2. They decide who trains when, at what hour and who has a rest day.

3. They decide on the menu, they have their own cooks who understand the coaches and athletes needs.

4. They have their own masseurs, who know from working with these athletes. the type of massages/treatments to be given to each athlete.

All these things are compromised when you "attend" a mandatory camp.

AND

Sprintcoach
                    Re: Stephen Francis on training camps....again
                    Thu Jun 30, 2011 06:08

They (JAAA) gain nothing.
                    Just as they accomplish nothing.
                    It is a pointless exercise that serves only one purpose, to have all Jamaican athletes in one place.
                    The USA has an older and more successful structure than us and they invite their athletes to camp because of the reasons outlined on this forum and recently by Francis.

The Russian athletes have always had the camaraderie that the old Soviet block athletes and coaches developed so the idea of a 'camp' is a natural order for them. They want to be there. They may still share the same coaches at the national and personal levels.

The success of the Jamaicans does not come from having a mandatory camp.

The Jamaican athletes are already successful.

The idea of a camp is derisive of this level of success accomplished by the Jamaicans and their coaches.

A mandatory camp is hogwash and at best short circuits the success and confidence of the professional athletes who have a formula for success and a method to apply it.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

It is individual 1$t to a$$ure contractual $ponsorship for nation$ international touri$t intere$t........thats what it is and thats how it should be,keep in mind jaaa does not represent nation$ interest but its own devious and self centered one.

I know fully the story of track and field in Jamaica and agree that Francis is a virtual genius at coaching as well as being a visionary... I'm also aware of the mafia which historically controls the JAAA and some of the backward thinking there.....I'm not new to the subject at all.... actually published a track annual magazine back in the 1990s

Foibles often come with genius.... individually we have to decide what foibles to tolerate and which to reject.

His coaching deserves the highest possible respect.... his manner not as much

Respek

Most of Wint's training to World standard was done in England.

Some points agree that the nation comes first...others support the money first.

It is a chicken and the head situation that gets to a head when there are internation meets where nations compete against nations.

I cannot see beyond Jamaica vs the rest! Clearly Franno and his followers believe it is the individual athlete first and Jamaica last!

...keep in mind jaaa does not represent nation$ interest but its own devious and self centered one.
                              Is that a fact?

...and what of the JAAA as an entity that never dies (as Jamaica) and athletes come and go?