National Trials

• National Trials

Was in Ja over the weekend and went to trials on Friday and Saturday night. Had a great time, my first time back in the stadium since probably 84-85 or something like that, well the place look almost the same but somehow much improved with pretty much the same infrastructure, except the lights and the nice screen on the north end.

Really funny how standards change over time, we would have thought we were in heaven if we had that screen back in the 80's but all I could think about was the Cowboys 80 metre screen we need one on each end (crazy thinking but the brain does that)

Couple of wicked highlights

1. 100 meter final, I called Mullings to win it and let me tell you he left it literally for the dip, Carter had him all the way to the end, loved the blanket finish and Asafa really pulled it out and ran almost all the way through, it even seemed like he relaxed in the last two strides knowing his momentum would take him through.

2. VCB looking like a beast, she is in a zone for sure. Will be interesting to see how Kerron steps up from here i have always felt she has the most talent and top end of all our female sprinters but somehow can't put it all together at the same time.

3. Looks like we have a nice set of long jumpers on the men side looks like we might reap something that way by Olympics next year.

4. I was really impressed with the mens 800 meters and the three guys that finished 2,3,4 all chopping off about 3 seconds of their best time, I spoke to one of them a youth name Jo-Wayne from UWI who came in 4th he is only 19 and finished well coming in at 1:49:93 , show a lot of heart and obviously has a lot of potential, they all came down into the 1:49 area chasing Sappleton who just hung on and clearly they are just scratching the surface by chopping such a huge chunk off their best time prior to this meet.

5 Very impressed with Natoya Goule as well in the 800 womens she really tried to hang on to Sinclair's tail most of the way and then tried to kick at the end and actually reeled her in and ran a great time, she is really small, so i really think with her speed and endurance potential and that small frame we will see something special from her in the future.

6. Ristanna Tracy, same thing she kicked it into high gear at the top of the straight coming down the stretch and gained on Spencer nicely.

7. Lots of nice talent in mens 200, Warren Weir running 20.52 was nice to see, even though it wasn't enough to get him anywhere on the team at this point in time.

8. Seems we have a real falloff in the performances of the women after the usual performers like Kerron, VCB and Simpson even though Simpson did not perform so well. Was not as impressed as everyone else at Jura Levy as bottom line the time is right where the second tier seems to top out at 11.1 and high 22's and 23 on the 2; and with what seems like a wealth of talent between McLaughlin, Levy, Bailey, Calvert and Facey just don't seem to be stepping up to the next level, Facey especially who i remember back in NCAA's was runmning 10.9's and now can't seem to get back to that level.

Enjoyed the experience thoroughly!
    Last edited by Stonigut; June 27, 2011, 06:23 PM.

I did not see the 400 mens and womens event as it was on Sunday, but I knew Gunz was in trouble from the semis as he struggled there.

Have to point out davita prendergast who has chopped some time off her best time and ran 50.8/9 or something like that, very nice to see a new face break into the sub 50 region, as i have said before we should be competing for the 4*400 womens with the talent we have onm paper but on the track they just don't seem to match up.

always nice to get a personal report and perspective of these events. Thanks.

Nice, thanks for the response. How is TNT are you still there?

Very Good Post!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          Seems we have a real falloff in the performances of the women after the usual performers like Kerron, VCB and Simpson even though Simpson did not perform so well. Was not as impressed as everyone else at Jura Levy as bottom line the time is right where the second tier seems to top out at 11.1 and high 22's and 23 on the 2; and with what seems like a wealth of talent between McLaughlin, Levy, Bailey, Calvert and Facey just don't seem to be stepping up to the next level, Facey especially who i remember back in NCAA's was runmning 10.9's and now can't seem to get back to that level.
          Very good post throughout, Stonigut ! As one who did not see this year’s national championships, I enjoyed your description and found the balance in perspective really interesting.

The section that I quoted is particularly interesting, and reflects in an exact way my own opinion on the matter. I will go into more detail on this soon.

One suggestion which I hope you consider: You might find it more beneficial to post such a good commentary as you’ve done here on a real track and field message board. There are not many diehard track and field fans on the Reggae Boyz Forum.

I am here Historian. Good post Stony. I read more than I post.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

T&T is fine and I'm still here... When my youngest finishes H.S. I might look to make a move if the wife will agree and more important, if the pocket can afford it.

Glad You're Here, Boss!

Great, Jangle ! I’m happy that you still visit here regularly (most likely more than I do; lol). I still recall some really excellent posts you made, including that description of your trip to a Caribbean island (I believe the Bahamas, if my memory is correct here) with your family and your vivid, colorful description of the cultural setting and the junkanoo performances. I wish I could find that particular post to read again.

I also remember and still appreciate your searching for the relevant YouTube music links and placing them in a discussion thread I had started on favorite Jamaican recordings. That did a great deal to make that particular thread more interesting and, in fact, enjoyable! I appreciated that very much, boss !

Really happy to see you’re still here.

I am addicted to this forum and I try to read it everyday. There are a few posters here that I always look forward to reading what they have to say, and you are one of them. I enjoy your posts because they usually contain more than one or two sentences (like mine ) and they are well written. Generally, I avoid the political posts and stick to the Football Forum (unlike you), and any other posts, and devour the T & F posts. You should post more often and maintain a thicker skin.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Lol

I am addicted to this forum and I try to read it everyday. There are a few posters here that I always look forward to reading what they have to say, and you are one of them. I enjoy your posts because they usually contain more than one or two sentences (like mine ) and they are well written. Generally, I avoid the political posts and stick to the Football Forum (unlike you), and any other posts, and devour the T & F posts. You should post more often and maintain a thicker skin.
                    Thanks very much, boss!!

You both need to quit the MAS (Mutual Admiration Society)and go into rehab.

And we are thankful for that!

(we need a middle finger icon)