WE are in agreement again big man..mek Karl gwhey wid him fool fool argument, me feel seh him woulda accept the 'honourary white' tag too
Shameful decision, JCA!
Karl if they were not made 'hnopurary whites' by the S African government they could NOT stay in a decent hotel or drive in decent vehicles or use decent bathroomsSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
It absolutely was a good thing. Also a necessary thing if for no other reason than raising awareness and keeping the golbal focus on the regime.
Without that I am sure many more crimes against the masses would have been committed.
The question is though, do the rebels deserve to be treated as outcasts forever? Sobers went to Rhodesia and was forgiven and continued his career. Arthur Ashe went to play in SA in the 70s to promote the game among blacks and many felt it was a bad decision at the time, yet his legacy as an activist survived it.
Just saying, can we not judge what they did as a really bad decision, but one that was nonetheless forgivable?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Obviously they are not equals in terms of thier commitment to making the world a better place. Ashe is a hero outside of sport, Rowe and the others are not.
But is there not room for comparison in terms of thier decisions to play in SA? Sure one was all about self and the other was about others, but would you not say in retrospect both were bad decisions?
If you believe what Ashe did was a good decision, then I don't see how you can dismiss what Karl is saying. Its basically the same argument Ashe was making."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Sickko View PostWE are in agreement again big man..mek Karl gwhey wid him fool fool argument, me feel seh him woulda accept the 'honourary white' tag too
Paul Reid - leave Karl alone . Dem looking fi yuh ova @ The National Stadium. Hear the announcement "Sickko, please come to the booth"“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
of course it was, of that there can be no doubt! although the english and the americans regularly disregarded it.
i am not saying rowe should have gone, i maintain he ought not, i am saying that he should be forgiven and we should accept his apology.
Originally posted by TDowl View PostAh ah ah, let me see Rudi comeback on this one, if he does I owe you a case of Long bottle Red Stripe.
he could have gotten the award and not apologised. i don't recall seeing where the apology was a pre-requisite for him to receive the award.
listen, i respect your opinion and position, mine are different.