Shameful decision, JCA!

Rowe is a shameless liar, there is no way he can convince me now or ever that he was not aware of what was going on in S Africa when they went there..he did not lead one but two tours...DAMN LIAD!!! A mussi Bruce a him puppa

You think he should have written an apology in the print media years ago, or call a press conference to do so?

Ah ah ah, let me see Rudi comeback on this one, if he does I owe you a case of Long bottle Red Stripe.

let's start with rhodes scholarships....

An haha moment (as Oprah would say)

Karl,were dark skinned people allowed to play for that SA cricket team?
            In any event the appropriate actions were taken and Rowe defied those actions.
            If anything Rowe accomplished with his ill advised trip is there are no consequences to aparthied.
            The twist is the same JCA held Rowe accountable for years,it is one thing for them to accept his apology and an entirelly different matter to name...
            Slap inna de face of those that did not go.

Karl,were dark skinned people allowed to play for that SA cricket team?
              In any event the appropriate actions were taken and Rowe defied those actions.
              If anything Rowe accomplished with his ill advised trip is there are no consequences to aparthied.
              The twist is the same JCA held Rowe accountable for years,it is one thing for them to accept his apology and an entirelly different matter to name...
              Slap inna de face of those that did not go.
              No!

...many that did not go and played for the West Indies when the Kerry Packer ban was in...it is reputed said they would have gone if they had the name recognition Rowe and his teammate had.

A few told so personally.

...and yes, to those who wish to speculate on Linden Wright (current JSA President) and Rowe...along with Basil "Shotgun" Williams are firm friends.

at the time, i felt none of the west indies players should have gone... hindsight tell me that what their decision had no significant effect on the state of apartheid... hindsight and additional information about the tours, suggests that their decision to go to sa, interacted with and played against the whites did more good than bad...

if nelson mandella can find it in his heart to forgive the white oppressors and practitioners of apartheid, we should also find it in our hearts to forgive lawrence rowe and all who went on the tour... afterall, sa is now fully integrated into the world community, so should rowe and all who went with him...

Thats basically my view too.

Aparthied taught that blacks were inferior humans...in practise not humans. Well some blacks went in the land of aparthied and showed that that teaching was crap...and S. Africa was never the same after.
                    Nope...they were "honorary whites"...Rowe should not have been let back into Jamaica...ever...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                      at the time, i felt none of the west indies players should have gone... hindsight tell me that what their decision had no significant effect on the state of apartheid... hindsight and additional information about the tours, suggests that their decision to go to sa, interacted with and played against the whites did more good than bad...

if nelson mandella can find it in his heart to forgive the white oppressors and practitioners of apartheid, we should also find it in our hearts to forgive lawrence rowe and all who went on the tour... afterall, sa is now fully integrated into the world community, so should rowe and all who went with him...

AMEN, AMEN, AMEN, AMEN

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post

AMEN, AMEN, AMEN, AMEN

Nope...they were "honorary whites"...Rowe should not have been let back into Jamaica...ever...
                          They were dubbed "honorary whites" but that meant zilch. They were subjected to the same treatment once they wandered away from "babylon". That was not carried back home...but they got the same crappy treatment once away for the 'sterilized zones'.

It is on the cricket field that they made their statements.

I recently met a white S. African who just started working at my job. Really cool guy , cricket fanatic, and we spoke briefly about that tour the other day.

He basically said that although there were good reasons for them not to have gone there was no doubt that it helped to popularize the game among the black community. I told him we would have to talk some more about apartheid-era SA at some time and he was more than willing.

My view is that although that may be true, its not an excuse for them to have made the tour given where the struggle was at the time. That said, I believe they have paid for thier actions and it although it will always be a mark against them, I don't see the need to continue to treat them as outcasts.

Got yuh!

Agreed - Time to move on.

It takes too much energy to keep up the BITTERNESS. It robs you of living your life