I agree with Ato-> Stay home, Boldon tells J'can athletes

• I agree with Ato-> Stay home, Boldon tells J'can athletes

WITH two of the best athletic training camps in the world based right here in Jamaica, there may be no more reason for local athletes to pursue options in the United States once they leave high school, according to former 200-metre world champion Ato Boldon.

Boldon, speaking at last week's Business of Sport seminar at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, said while there have been some success stories, it often doesn't end quite like that.

BOLDON... some of the young people go to these universities and get run into the ground
    1/1
    "If you look at the percentages... some of the young people... go to these universities and get run into the ground and then are worthless after four years," Boldon told the Observer.

"Sometimes there are some really talented young stars who were on their way and were derailed, or were prevented from reaching their full potential because they were over-raced and over-trained," he added.

An alum of UCLA, Boldon said he was able to benefit from the US collegiate system because his coach ensured he only ran a certain number of meets each season.

"I don't want to be accused of biting the hand that fed me because I am a product of that system," Boldon said.

However, he pointed out, for many other athletes once they enter the US system on scholarship, they have to run week after week, both indoors and outdoors.

"There's nothing wrong with going to a US university, but I know if I have a child there are certain ones that I would not send that child to, and there are certain ones I know you can go and get a great free education and things will be okay," he added.

"The average parent and average child in Jamaica doesn't know that, so they go to the school that maybe has had the greatest success or the most history, and sometimes that is not the most beneficial move for the child," he declared.

Herb McKenley, Don Quarrie, Merlene Ottey, Juliet Cuthbert, and Grace Jackson are some of the leading Jamaican athletes who studied at universities in the United States.

Jamaica became a more viable option when the MVP Track and Field Club was started in 1998 and later, Racers Track Club.

Both have had incredible success, producing between them eight of Jamaica's 11 medals at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

Trinidadian Boldon, who was born to a Jamaican mother, was quick to point out that not every athlete who excelled at high school was meant to be an outstanding senior.

The two contemporary Jamaican success stories are Usain Bolt and Veronica Campbell Brown who have six Olympic gold medals between them.

Boldon and Bolt are the only two male World Junior champions who went on to become senior champions as well.

"Prodigies in the sport usually don't pan out. It just means they are ahead of the curve and usually the curve catches up," Boldon noted.

"I think sometimes the universities get blamed for athletes who were never going to be world beaters. Sometimes you're just good for your age, and then it just peters out."

Along with those challenges also come the difficulty of living away from home and having to supplement scholarships by taking part-time jobs.

"Some athletes who've never left the island... go to some cold place and they're miserable and the most important part of an athlete's performance is psychological," he told the Observer.

"So if you're in a place where you don't see the sun; it's cold, you're homesick, sometimes that is enough to derail your career."

Boldon's advice for athletes contemplating US colleges is to look at the schools, their alumnae and the success of their professional careers.

"Pay attention to what that school's alumnae has done after school," he said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1MKkYO2Pj
    Last edited by Karl; May 14, 2011, 09:52 PM.

Very simplistic point of view and quite frankly rubbish argument. How many of out high school 'track stars' will go on to earn a decent wage in the sport; how many of them can go to either MVP or Racers for that matter as there will come a point where Francis and Mills will say 'I cant take any more people' because of the sheer numbers; how many of these students can hold in the limited spaces at UWI or UTech and how many scholarships can these institutions give out and still maintain financial viablity.

It is easy to talk about athletes staying heer and then do what.

How easy it is to forget that until Asafa and Bolt all our individual World Champs and Olympic medals came from athletes who went through the US College system or at least based overseas.

I find it interesting that Ristananna's handlers are now finding the US College system to be a bug bear when her older sister and every other Edwin Allen stand out went that way. Maybe they think she has the most upshot and wants her to stay here....maybe thats why she never even bothered to do the SATS...sigh..

Not all, Wint, UK.

Yes he is the one exception but that supports my point of the overseas based athlete

The only good point he has is that the kids should choose good schools. There are some athlete who may do better inna the "cold" state they they don't have bad influence. It is good to have the option to stay home but what work for Bolt will not work for everybody. A di same people them use to talk bad things bout Jamaican coaches.

I know quite a few track athletes who burnt out after a few years in US colleges. The good thing is most a dem got a degree from the experience and are living productive lives.

That is true, but I also know a lot who stayed home and never turn out to be world beaters either.

It goes either way.

Yuh know any that stayed home at MVP?Racers and withered away?

Any stars?

I recall the sagas of Nikole Mitchell and Gillain Russell. Also, any that went to LSU (mash up experts).

Are you suggesting that all in these camps are stars?

Yes they have some good athlete but some just will not make the cut no matter where they go. I remember in the 1980s many refer to Mills as Mash up artist,(how soon we forget).

The best advise he can give is for the coaches and parents to insist that the child puts in as much effort in the class room as they do on the track and thus will be able to choose where they go.

When you ignore your book work like Natoya Goule did in seven years at Manchester High and then have to go to some backwater school no one ever heard of, that is the shame

No, especially not at MVP...however, so far neither camp mash up any stars or even starlets.

Mills is a much better coach now than 30 years ago! That is why the results are so much better.

My point is the conversion rate from the camps are waaay better. However some athletes SHOULD go abroad and we should welcome the choice they have.

In all cases they should take their education seriously! Their parents should insist on it.

yeah good talk mi friend.

Yuh know any that stayed home at MVP?Racers and withered away?

Any stars?

I recall the sagas of Nikole Mitchell and Gillain Russell. Also, any that went to LSU (mash up experts).
                          Which one of them went to Georgetown? Georgetown is for distance runners and not sprinters.

Everybody had to weigh their individual scenario.

Some will NEVER make it to the top level, no matter if they stay at home or go abroad.

My advice is to everyone who think them can run, is that they devote sufficient time to academics. For one injury can put an end to everything.

Marilyn Neufville had a promising career in athletics, and injury ended it all. I suppose though that in this era she would have faired better with modern medicine and technology.

Very simplistic point of view and quite frankly rubbish argument. How many of out high school 'track stars' will go on to earn a decent wage in the sport; how many of them can go to either MVP or Racers for that matter as there will come a point where Francis and Mills will say 'I cant take any more people' because of the sheer numbers; how many of these students can hold in the limited spaces at UWI or UTech and how many scholarships can these institutions give out and still maintain financial viablity.

It is easy to talk about athletes staying heer and then do what.

How easy it is to forget that until Asafa and Bolt all our individual World Champs and Olympic medals came from athletes who went through the US College system or at least based overseas.

I find it interesting that Ristananna's handlers are now finding the US College system to be a bug bear when her older sister and every other Edwin Allen stand out went that way. Maybe they think she has the most upshot and wants her to stay here....maybe thats why she never even bothered to do the SATS...sigh..

I always wanted to know, how is Ristananna in terms of academics?