the fact that they could have been so widely misunderstood should make him question the wisdom of his statements
Beckles Should Resign, Says WIPA
as far as i am concerned he did... listen to the track between minutes 1:00 and 1:20; that was enough for me.... " Gayle is the don, he epitomises the donmanship the WICB is trying to get rid of in the same way the Jamaican people are trying to get rid of Dudus, the comparisons (his word) are interesting indeed..." The comparisons being Gayle's comportment and Dudus'. It is VERY clear. While I have not quoted him verbatim except for the bolded words.. if that is not a direct comparison to Dudus which Beckles himself states, bettah mi guh back a firs form...Peter R
I already pointed out on the recording where you should listen; you can start at 0:50 or thereabouts or listen from the beginning to 1:20. It was your original post. Beckles himself uses the words "interesting comparisons" to characterise what he is suggesting. Mek mi hear whe yu a come wid now!Peter R
Originally posted by Muadib View PostThere is a comparison... just not what you are claiming..
But the uproar was not caused simply because Professor Beckles referred to Gayle as a don. What people were reacting to was the fact that Beckles drew a parallel between Gayle and Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, suggesting that in the same way that Jamaica was trying to uproot Dudus from the Jamaican society, the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) was also trying to uproot donmanship from West Indies cricket.
Now one does not try to uproot something unless it is undesirable, like a bad tooth.
what is Gayle guilty of?
It should also be noted that Gayle had previously expressed the view that the board was trying to get rid of him, a view which was denied by the WICB, and now we have a director basically confirming the view expressed by Gayle. Beckles also stated that the current crop of cricketers at the High Performance Centre were not interested in emulating the likes of either Chris Gayle or Marlon Samuels, thus bringing another Jamaican player into disrepute.
Finally, what really is Gayle guilty of besides seeking to ensure that he earns remuneration commensurate with what he thinks he is worth, an act which was also demonstrated by no less a person than Frank Worrell when he refused to tour in 1948 because he wanted to be paid as a professional.
The speech, however, failed to mention the Clive Lloyd-led revolt to join the Kerry Packer World Series Cricket, an act of donmanship far surpassing anything Chris Gayle has yet accomplished.
It is within this context, Mr Thompson, that there has been an uproar. One thing that we do not need in public discourse is simplistic analysis and attempts to trivialise serious issues that should be left to our Facebook page, not a national newspaper
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure2.html