Rohan Walker at Penn Relays

You and Sickko are such valued contributors, I think you guys ought to reach out to each other through private messages. I have had words with folks here and I have been po'd here before. But when it comes down to it, we imperfect beings are all generally good folks.

That said, me never like JC!

LOL! Mi dun know seh unnu nuh like JC ... but nuh fret wi used to dat

Fram whey mi hear... nex year ah worries said speed ah Champs..... more tribulation dat

Respek
      Last edited by Don1; May 1, 2011, 05:28 PM.

A Cornwall me go so it did not really matter except in one sport which we dont paly anymore. However, when me town bredrin dem a mout one another, the man dem seh JC man wear blue uniform and might as well a wear tunic. Dem seh real man wear full khaki like soldier.

No, he would be before me as I started in '75...
          Lie, you started sixth form in 1975, why to cutting 5 years off your age?

LOL! mi nuh like di blue on blue ting eida whey dem ave wi ah wear... mi haffi admit dat strait up .... but mi dun know seh di feelings guh way beyond di blue chunic

Don1,

The blue uniform was introduced while I was in fourth or fifth form so we're talking the early 70s. The administration gave us a couple years to phase out the khaki. Now khaki as a boys uniform was sensible from the durability point of view but, it is also a heavy therefore hot material to wear in JA's clime.

The change came about as there was a movement among the students to disband uniforms altogether, of course that didn't fly but the arguments were made to do away with khaki. If I'm not mistaken we were the first school that gave boys an option other than khaki and in that sense we were pioneers. That the change was initiated by student advocacy said a lot about the calibre of student that attended JC; while they may have been sons of middle class Jamaicans (in the 70s) they were also not just willing to sit idly by without fostering change.

In addition to the advent of the blue uniform, sixth formers were also given the privilege to wear a (dashiki?) style shirt which meant they didn't have to tuck their shirts in their pants. This was significant change for JC.

Having said that I didn't like the blue uniform and as such I wore my khaki until I left JC.

But now you see boys at other schools wearing uniforms of a variety of colours and more importantly made of materials that are not as heavy and hot as khaki, and I don't think I'm wrong in saying JC initiated that movement. BIG up true blue!

As a footnote... boys from KC, Campion, C-Bar et al use to congregate in HWT and Cross Rds. having removed their epaulets and pass themselves off as JC boys an give us bad name... what dem nevah rememba seh is we nevah wear epaulets and didn't have those tell-tale button on the shoulders suh dem nevah fool nubaddy ... LOL

I just made that up but it was a concern for schools' administration when they were told that boys from their school were involved in such and such but since everybody was in khaki it was difficult to prove who was doing what.

well mi nuh know ah who dream dat blue ting but mi nuh love it atall bass.. mi did love mi khaki an mi did hold out til di last

I guess leadership has its limits

Get away wid dat!

I still have a full head of hair! LoL

Don1, when I started at JC, 1968, the headmaster was Mr Middleton, an Englishman, did you start before he left?

His name came to mind because of the recent wedding... of course, he was just the headmaster but his wife was the first form maths teacher; she had me pull weeds in the HM's garden on several occasions if you ever wondered why it always looked pristine... btw there were Jamaican Middletons, at least I believe them to be so, at JC. Jimmy was in my class.

Mr Taylor took over after the Middletons (hm and wife that is) left... of course mi nah call him firs name ... it might set some people off... LOL
                      Middleton was a Welshman. He was also the first Headmaster @ Morant Bay High School, when that school opened in January 1961.

Indeed he was a Welshman... I stand corrected.

In my case it was "hair yesterday, gone today"... LOL

Wayne was my proverbial "best friend" at primary school... he went to Georges and then to Calabar for 6th form coincidentally like myself where we renewed our friendship. We lived (it seemed in those days anyway) at the opposite ends of Kingston.

Unfortunately he had passed away in a tragic drowning at UWI while in his first year there.

RIP brother Wayne.

Wow, sad story.

I have a similar one. Barbara Gloudon's nephew was my schoolmate at StGC. We were cordial but not really great friends until AFTER graduation. We became tennis buddies and used to play often on the weekends at JC.

He went off in different directions for school and I heard that after getting his MBA, he came back to Jamaica and played business House football for BOJ. He drowned while rescuing a young downtown boy in Kingston harbour during football practice nearby. I still miss my Bredrin appropriately nicknamed "Goody".

hear! hear!

Just to add:
                              Both these gentlemen are great members of the Massive and often make great contributions.

As Lazie would say - they both need to keep it real. Sure the site is not for the faint-hearted...but I have to agree with Westman - This was way
                              over the top and we can all do without a repeat.

Thank you, guys.

no man is a ISSA rule that u have to have a 40% average

but the PENN relays not under ISSAs control, so go figure