Gayle hits back at WI cricket board

Indo-Asian News Service
    Kingston, April 22, 2011

First Published: 01:15 IST(22/4/2011)
    Last Updated: 01:21 IST(22/4/2011)

Share more...

0 Comments
    Email print

West Indies batsman Chris Gayle, hits a six off the bowling of South Africa's bowler Makhaya Ntini,......
    more photos »

Explosive West Indies opener Chris Gayle has hit back at his board saying he was forced to skip the home series against Pakistan and play in the Indian Premier League (IPL). "I was actually forced to make this decision based on what was happening around me and based on what has happened to current p

layers (Ramnaresh) Sarwan and (Shivnaraine) Chanderpaul," Gayle said. Sarwan and Chanderpaul were dropped from the Twenty20 squad and first two ODIs against Pakistan. Gayle was also not selected as he was nursing an abdominal injury, but the opener said nobody spoke to him and he thought he was also left out.
    The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) had said Gayle would have been considered for selection after assessment of his fitness. Gayle, however, made himself unavailable for the Pakistan series and decided to play for Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL.
    "I wanted to play and I wanted to represent West Indies. I didn't know what the future held. Two games can play, guys do well, Chris Gayle still will be sitting out," the left-handed batsman said on KLAS Sports Radio in Jamaica on Wednesday.
    Gayle also claimed he was threatened by the board before the World Cup when asked whether the tournament contract was approved by the Players' Association. "I got a reply, copied to the three selectors and the coach and the lawyer and the CEO himself stating, Chris, we have someone on standby for you so if you don’t sign this contract right now, basically you will be replaced for the World Cup," Gayle said.
    "That hurt me so much to believe that they are talking to a person who just captained West Indies and they are actually dealing with me like that."

pollard i think....at this time, it looks like gayle is out.

What do they say about pride?... but some disrespect for real on the Board's part too if what he says is true.

What him duh.. 95 one game and ducks di next ?

nice try... batted in 5 matches' scores were:

2, 80, 37 n.o., 43, 8... not exactly stellar, but more was expected of him.

That is true but really though, why can't the WICB get its act together after all these years? Why does every single senior player have to be in conflict with the board? I know players can be difficult and all of that but something is seriously wrong.

I mean it can't be that hard to run a professional cricket team in 2011. Its as if nothing has changed for the last 20 years in this regard for West Indies cricket.

maybe by you..

Gayle is who he is... mek 100 yuh not surprised.. mek ducks yuh not surprised..