• Micheal holding fire inna Babylon

Michael Holding

West Indies legend on intimidating opponents, why there are few great fast bowlers these days, and Caribbean Christmases

Join the fun on our county cricket live blogFrom left: Andy Roberts, Michael Holding, Colin Croft and Joel Garner of West Indies before the first Test against England in Trinidad in 1981. Photograph: Adrian Murrell/Getty Images Europe

Hi Mike, how are you? Good thanks, how are you?
    We're great. Small Talk understands you're involved in a new film. What's it all about? It's called Fire in Babylon and it's about West Indies cricket in the 70s and 80s, the dominance of the West Indies team and the political ramifications of our dominance. It's basically showing the influence of cricket on the Caribbean and the impact it had on Caribbean people around the world.
    What's your fondest memory of having been part of that team?When you win Test matches it's a great feeling, but being part of the first ever West Indies team to beat Australia in Australia in 1979-80 was even more uplifting. So many teams had gone there and failed to beat them, and other West Indies teams had been to all parts of the world and won, but none had been to Australia and won before.
    How did you celebrate? We celebrated amongst ourselves. After the Adelaide Test we were staying in a three-star hotel – in those days we didn't get five-star hotels – and we went back to the hotel and had a ball. A few people had a bit too much to drink, which is usual, but we had a ball, we enjoyed it.
    It's funny you should mention having a drink – David Gower recently told Small Talk that having to bat against that 1980s West Indies attack was the best hangover cure he ever had ... [Deep belly laugh] Yeah, I suppose so. You have got to have your wits about you when you are batting against that sort of pace. You certainly can't afford to be out there blurry-eyed. So I suppose you could say that was true.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/apr/15/michael-holding-small-talk

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Good stuff!

Always like to hear Holding... I will add the blonde joke to my repertoire, if i can remember it.

my favourite cricket commentator bar none!

I am biased to the Jamaican commentators, Crosskill comes to mind too... I wish Tony Cozier would retire.

every now and then cozier head tek him...reds perreira wasn't bad and fazeer mohammed is ok ... but ah...for colour commentary ... bobby fray ..

I never had the opportunity of hearing Fray as I was in the great white north during the nineties when I understand he was in his prime. I certainly hope he does not end up as Hugh Crosskill did.

USA premiere at Tribeca Film Festival

http://www.tribecafilm.com/filmguide...film33081.html