duh...that is why he is able to give good adviCe!
Ato's advise
No man you got that one wrong...some one like Ato who tore of several shirts after he won races and who should understand the joy of winning an Olympic gold should have been the one to 'school' the non athletic talking head in the comfort of the studio rather than allow him to steer you down the path of 'is this what you want to teach young athletes'.
Ato actually started to try and explain to poor Bob Costas what it meant to Usian but then allowed himself to be Uturned.
Where was Bob Costas when the USA sprinters were tearing off shirts on podiums and behaving badly not in the spontaneous moment but even a day later.
I do know what you man and I find myself in your position many times even among my media colleagues but in this singular instance Ato messed up.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
If you remember though, his argument was never that he celebrated, it was that he celebrated BEFORE he finished the race and that was not something he wanted young athletes to emulate.
One can still disagree with that viewpoint but I don't think it was a ridiculous argument. Thats all I am saying."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Ah boy..race done from bout 70m and even if Bolt tripped he would win easily still.
But not all athletes are going to have the personality of a VCB who is very reserved but we do need the mix...they tried to say he was showing off on the others but hey the man won the OLYMPIC 100m in his first season of competing in the event, wha dem want him to do bow and say tenx Backra Massa for allowing me to run on your nice new track?Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
Sigh....don't have the energy for this argument again....and I have said before I don't have a strong opinion about it one way or the other. My issue is with the assumption made by Jamaicans far too often that when someone says something less than flattering about us then it must be with some mean spirited intentions.
Ato is one of the best I have heard doing what he does. Very knowledgable AND able to articulate it well which is not a combination found too often among athletes. I hear that Donovan Bailey is very good too but I have never heard him."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Gamma View Post"less than flattering" maybe it stems "if yuh cya'an seh sup'm good, nuh seh nutten all all" ... just saying. btw are you jamaican?
No, he's from Westmoreland“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
LOL, unoo gwan disrespect me birth parish.
Westmoreland born, Portland and (mostly) St Thomas raised, and spent my early adult life in Kingston. All-round Jamaican you call dat!"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostLOL, unoo gwan disrespect me birth parish.
Westmoreland born, Portland and (mostly) St Thomas raised, and spent my early adult life in Kingston. All-round Jamaican you call dat!
No disrespek I'man, just giving Gamma something to float wid“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
mi late pon dis but after reading ato's advice EVERYTHING he says make good sense...
i like ato... think he is among the best t&f commentators... makes good incisive points from the athletes perspective...
in fairness, you have to realize that he is serving a mostly american audience and i think he does a good job of providing balance and offering objectivity...
the bolt comment by ato, i believe was blown out of proportion... he was neither right nor wrong depending on how you look at it... for those wanting to see the fastest time, bolt celebrating at the 80 meter mark felt cheated since he could have gone faster, which he later proved...
for those who felt fine with the celebration before felt good because they got to witness something that the world had never seen before... it was fine because they, like bolt had seen the race completed and won at the 70m mark... i am in the second group...
still respect ato, real ambassador to t&f... and btw, t&f has been more interesting since bolt and his bravado...
even more interesting, is the fact that an overwhelming majority of athletes embrace his 'playfulness' and do not view his behavior as being disrespectful to them or the sport...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'